We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bougainvillea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Inca Real(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dunn Inn(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveler rating
785
238
28
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
238
28
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricasan josegarden viewtennis courtsfirst nightgift shopbeautiful groundswonderful hoteldining roombreakfast buffetcentral valleynice poolceiling fanrooms are spaciousextensive gardensbotanical gardensearly in the morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We chose this hotel for our first night in Costa Rica as a stopover because of the early morning birdwatching opportunities the 8-acre garden would afford. We weren't disappointed; the gardens are beautiful - large, well stocked and teeming with birdlife throughout the day.

But, more to the point - the hotel itself was perfect; the room was large, comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the garden. We enjoyed it so much that we changed plans to allow an additional couple of nights in this hotel. Decent food, friendly and helpful staff and reasonable prices.

If you are a birdwatcher it is the perfect place for your first night in CR - if you love tropical gardens, ditto. If you hate both you will still enjoy the hotel.

I will be returning as soon as possible.

I was going to give four stars but couldn't think of a single reason why I should drop a star

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel during January (2013)on the first and last nights of an 18 day holiday to Costa Rica.The Bougainvillea is about a half hour drive(depending on the time of day)from the International Airport.
You will find the hotel catering for tourists/business and corporate visitors alike and although busy it retains a quiet sedatary style.The rooms are large,airey and well equipped.The bar is spacious and yet intimate.
The restaurant is large but designed to give the quiet corners that travellers the world over seem to crave.The staff are both friendly and effecient.The menu is comprehensive and includes a very good selection for "veggies." The food is delicious. I would advising eating early particularly if a conference is being held in the hotel as this will inevitably cause a logjam of orders in the kitchen which are always good to avoid particualrly after a long day's travel.
Visitors MUST find time to explore the hotel's gardens which are a feature in themselves.The various areas are divided into different themes/subjects.The colour and variety of the blooms underline the obvious care and enthusiasm that the gardeners shower on their charge.In turn a large variety of birds and butterflies are drawn to the garden making the whole experience truly wonderful.
Those not interested in flora and fauna can indulge themselves in the spa or the pool or the tennis courts all of which are discreetly housed in the same gardens.

Room Tip: All are well appointed and have baloncies,those at the rear overlook part of the gardens(they are that comprehensive)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the sixth time I've stayed at this hotel. It is relatively convenient to the San Jose airport and has a glorious garden, excellent food, and top-notch service. It can sometimes get noisy at night so I always stay in a garden-facing room. I will return with each trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here only one night, coming from the airport and leaving early for Tortuguero.
It is recommended to stay here because this hotel is located outside the city with an easy connection to Guapiles.
We were pleasantly surprised by the helpful staff, the nice rooms and above all by the very beautiful large gardens.
It was a good start for our 3-week stay in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regemorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, and each time, Hotel Bougainvillea has been the perfect place to start and end our trip. Walking the gardens is like being in a different world than the nearby concrete, steel and humanity that dominates the big city area of San Jose. The staff is professional and attentive, the rooms are spotless and comfortable, and the gardens could entertain even a casual plant lover for days. We enjoyed a simple but very good breakfast each time, and the dinner entrees were well above average. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs lodging close to the airport when visiting Costa Rica. The airport was only 20 minutes away at 5 AM, but allow more when travelling during rush hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room - the view from your veranda is great
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews