We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloudlike Beds & Old School Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cloudlike Beds & Old School Service”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Hotel Bouginvillea for one night. This was our first time there. They only had one room available ( a king suite) and they gave it to us at the discounted rate of $95 + tax.
The suite was BIG and the king sized bed was really like sleeping on a cloud! The sheets were a high thread count & made the bed feel even more luxurious.
There is no air conditioning at the Hotel wich kind of freaked us out at first, but there were screens on the louvered windows to the balcony and the temperature of Heredia actually feels like air conditioning outside! With the ceiling fan on to stir a slight breeze we slept SO comfortably! My best sleeping experience so far in my 2 month trip across Costa Rica.
The grounds are BEAUTIFUL and there is actually a tour of their gardens set up for guests - they have over 30 types of bromeliads and many other beautiful plants.
We got in late so the restaurant had already closed but we were able to eat at the bar from a small selection menu. The service was really great old-school type service and this was from the bartender! I know I missed a special treat by not being in time to eat in the dining room.
The only down side to our stay was that they were completely booked after our first night and we couldn't stay another night.
When we checked out they gave us a DVD of their garden tour as a gift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    219
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
215
321
40
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent our first 2 nights here and were completely satisfied with the room and the hotel. No need to say more about the gardens except to echo the sentiments of previous writers - they are spectacular! We had a lovely garden room - no, there was no a/c, but with the fan on and the window open (there were no mosquitoes despite the lack of screening), we were comfortable and this was late June. Rebecca Sanchez from SunTours has a desk downstairs. She is fantastic! She helped us decide what to do on our one unscheduled day before we started a one week trip around C.R. as well as pick a restaurant suitable for our 11 year old grandson (go to the mall... he was ecstatic).

As for complaints that the hotel is in an unexciting or "shabby" part of town, I disagree. It's a typical town and if we had had more time, we would have gotten out and walked around. If you're there on a Saturday, go to the market which is not far from the hotel. Watch the soccer game. Mingle. It's not only about the flora and fauna.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was my second time to the Hotel Bougainvillea and the experience just gets better. This is one of the most beautiful Hotels I have ever been in. We were a 55+ Kayak Club coming to Costa Rica to see all the Flora and Fauna they didn't tell us that most of it was right on the grounds. The flowers, trees, and birds are everywhere from the magnificent MotMot to the delicate hummingbirds. The Bromiliads are beyond beautiful and are everywhere, if I have one complaint it is the lack of time to see everything there even after going a second time I still took over 500 hundred pictures. The staff everywhere is wonderful and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Can't speak too highly of the serving staff who were at our beck and call and always with a smile, the food well I am sure you can guess it was awesome. This is truly a slice of heaven

Donna Friesen
Calgary, Alberta

Room Tip: Oh they are all good they all smell like flowers and the birds wake you cheerfullly every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayakDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The setting is very good when one like to visit the Poas voilcano early in the morning. All the rooms are quite and very spacious; and the service is very friendly.
Also the restaurant of the hotel offers very tastfull meals but be warned that the dishes are copious! Excellent value/money. The hotel has a beatiful garden and attract quiet some birds.

Room Tip: Ask a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingwe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our family of four with a 9 year old girl and 12 year old boy spent one night here before heading to the rainforest. On the outskirts of San Jose, it is an oasis of lanscaped gardens. A brief foray around the grounds before breakfast introduced us to long tailed motmot birds, cinnamon cuckoos and the glamorous blue morpho butterlfly. Friendly staff and a safe family feel to the hotel. After a 17 hour travelling day, I admit I would have enjoyed access to a nice cold Tico beer, but not available.

Room Tip: Look out onto the gardens in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nextportofcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, florida, usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our birding group was delighted with the beautiful grounds--the landscaping and birds as well. It is a little touch of paradise. It is not in the heart of the city but a reasonable taxi ride would be $10; a ride to the airport, $25. A tour agency is on premises. One of the guests was staying there while he had dental work done--at 1/4 what it would cost in the US. He and his wife were also were delighted with the hotel, the grounds, the staff and the food.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ednamae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to sleep off a 23 hour journey from London; Mum, dad and 8 year old boy. It is a very peaceful hotel - perfect for relaxing - with a slight alpine feel to it. We stayed in a room with balcony, overlooking the gardens. Room was large and comfortable, while the bathroom was a little basic. Breakfast and dinner was very good, and the service excellent. Best of all was the gardens: these are beautifully laid out, and an absolute joy to roam and explore; an incredible introduction to the fauna and flora of Costa Rica.

The hotel is about 25 minutes from the airport and is located in quite a grubby area with little to do in the immediate vicinity. However, if you are looking for quiet hotel for a short stay, this little oasis is ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,262 reviews
5.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,407 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
238 reviews
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea
Address: Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas 100 m, Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing