We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down the tubes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plogoff
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel sporadically for 3 decades. Back in the day it was a decent place with a great restaurant. That has changed substantially! The rooms are overpriced, the service is arrogant, inefficient and dismissive, the restaurant is mediocre at best. You're better off staying at a hotel on the waterfront of Concarneau and do day trips to the absolutely beautiful Baie des Trepasses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We did not stay here but we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The location of this hotel is stunning. It is located directly on a beautiful bay. I checked out one of the rooms and it didn't look too hot so we stayed at the hotel next door which is newer. The restaurant here was fine. The service was prompt and the food was tasty. A bit pricy but no real complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sharonc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of this beautiful bay. The view over the bay and out to Pointe du Raz is great. This bay is very popular among the local surfers. The hike up to Pointe du Raz on the edge of the cliffs is quite impressive. We stayed one night at this hotel. The hotel is old, the rooms are clean but small with tiny bathrooms. The restaurant is expensive compared to other places. The food is good. There is no real possibility to have a coffee or a drink before dinner. The only place is the bar, very uninviting next to the staircase, as the restaurant is closed between lunch and dinner. There is another hotel at the bay which, as it seems, belongs to the same owner. The restaurant and bar there was closed in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tariwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de la Bae des Trepasses for one night. The location is amazing and especially great for hiking or if you want to go surfing. Also, the restaurant was pretty good (but also a bit pricy). The rooms were too small and the hotel overall was quite old.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rough84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Due to an error at Logis for our stay we were booked into the Hotel de la Baie des Trepassesat the very last minute for part of our holiday. Reading some of the reviews I was concerned but had no need to be. We arrived at the hotel and our room was ready for us. Unfortunately due to unusual weather conditions (extremely high winds) there was some incessant whistling through the windows. When we explained the situation we were shown two alternative rooms and chose another overlooking the ocean as the views are spectacular and fortunately this one being on the lower floor did not suffer the same problem. The room was extremely clean, comfortable, and the surroundings pleasant. All requests were met with excellent service and assistance. We stayed half board at the hotel, so took breakfast each day and dinner on both evenings. The dinner was indeed truly excellent. The choice of the hotel on both occasions were beautifully presented, high quality and delicious. The quality of the food outstanding. I was surprised that a previous review thought the wine on the high side as I felt it very reasonable. Breakfast was a buffet with lovely croissants, bread, ham and cheese, as well as fruit salad, coffee and a range of teas. All very acceptable. On our last evening, the patisserie had to be seen to be believed and delicious too. The dining room was full on the first night and almost full on the second - you could see why! The views from the dining and breakfast rooms were a wonderful accompanyment to a most enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The location is indeed spectacular but on a beach that was closed on our visit thanks to scares of toxic gas from rotting seaweed!! Our room was adequate (clean and traditionally decorated c 1970s) but I missed tea and coffee making facilities that are more generally included in the UK. Not many of the staff spoke English but most tried hard to understand what we asked and were tolerant of our attempts at French. The restaurant was busy on both evenings that we were there and many diners seemed locals enjoying the seafood. My cod with a Meuniere sauce was perfectly cooked as were the mussels. Portions were generous too. However, the cost of the wine seemed high. The breakfast was indeed disappointing in both range and quality (cold croissants, rather tired fruit salad, lukewarm hot water for tea) but the view of the rolling surf from our table in the conservatory just about made up for it. We were refused lunch too when we got back from a walk just before 2pm but mercifully the adjacent Relais were able to offer a rather dry but very welcome sandwich with a beer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bel emplacement, seul hôtel sur la baie des trépassés, accès direct à la plage.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plogoff
8.0 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
238 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#5 of 5 in Audierne
128 reviews
6.8 mi away
L' Auberge du Cabestan
L' Auberge du Cabestan
#4 of 5 in Audierne
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kermoor Hotel Audierne
Kermoor Hotel Audierne
#16 of 23 in Quimper
94 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Au Roi Gradlon
Hotel Au Roi Gradlon
#3 of 5 in Audierne
163 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Phare de Trescadec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses

Address: Route de la Baie, 29770 Plogoff, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Plogoff
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plogoff
Price Range: $119 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Bay, between Pointe du Raz and Pointe du Van, on a sandy beach with lifeguards in July and August, calm, rest and relaxation await you in our newly renovated rooms, two bedrooms luxury, comfort, with direct sea viewIts restaurant offers regional cuisine and traditional specialties, seafood, fish, lobster, scallops... Hiking the GR34, surf school at 50m & equipment rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Baie des Trepasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing