We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary is part of the South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA). Monkeyland first opened its gates to the public in 1998 amidst much skepticism, a sanctuary of this kind had never been attempted before; multiple primate species all running free and together in one big forest. But despite the fears it was a huge success and the world's first multi-species, free roaming primate sanctuary has set a standard that other sanctuaries now aspire to. 12 hectares of indigenous forest is home to over 500 primates of 11 different species; Squirrel, Capuchin, Howler, Vervet and Spider monkeys, Hanuman and Spectacled Langur, Saki, Gibbon, Ring-tailed and Black-and-white Ruffed Lemurs all enjoy the freedom to climb trees, forage amongst the undergrowth and live a life that is far removed from where they came. Ex-pets, laboratory animals and surpluses from zoos that used to live in cages now have the opportunity to behave in a way that is natural to them. Our experienced rangers will guide you on a one-hour tour of the forest, pointing out the different species whilst offering a wealth of information on their ecology and conservation. An added attraction is the 128m long suspension bridge that stretches across the forest canopy offering magnificent views of the surrounding forests.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is so brilliant, to be able to watch the monkeys in their natural habitat is awesome. Guides are so informative and helpful

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    433
    96
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing but take insect repellent!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are no cages so the primates roam freely - this makes for great photo opportunities!

As well as small monkeys we saw a beautiful blonde gibbon, lemurs and a handsome tortoise. When you arrive they offer you a gloopy pot of insect repellent- we slathered it on but still left covered in mosquito bites so I would definitely advise spraying yourself with an effective spray before entering the attraction.

The combined ticket for Monkeyland and Birds of Eden (2min walk away across the car park) is good value. You have a guided tour of the monkeys but the birds are un-guided.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank uktraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monkeys everywhere!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is wonderful. The guided tour is excellent and educational. My 8 year old daughter and I both loved it equally.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sterlingbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
358 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Right next to birds of Eden, the one hour tour is lots of fun. You get to see a lot of different monkeys and learn about them. It's a huge place so it feels like you 're in the forest. The guides make sure that you are always at a safe distance, so no trouble from the animals. There are lots of Mosquitos, especially in early morning or late afternoon. I suggest you take some repellent with you at any time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
403 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Great thing to do but wear long trousers to beat the mossies!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Monkeyland and Garden of Eden are side by side so we got a combined (cheaper) ticket. You need to allow at least 3-4 hrs to do both justice.

You are given some anti mossie cream to rub on your exposed legs/arms etc at the start of the tour but it would be better to wear long trousers, as the men in shorts were getting bitten. For once, covered in cream and with long trousers and a 3/4 length sleeved blouse I didn't!

The guided tour is very informative. We were in a small group which was very pleasant. It was very relaxed, we were given as much time as we wanted to ask questions/take photos. We saw all the primates in the sanctuary. It was lovely to stand by the feeding stations and watch the assorted primates eating or, stand under the trees watching them clamber around and pick nits out of each others fur!! They were only a few feet from us most of the time. The capuchin monkeys, with their babies on their backs, were delightful to see and they came right up to your trouser leg!!

It's an easy flat walk most of the time, a couple of slopes that a lady with a pushchair had to be helped up,and the long rope suspension bridge did bounce up and down a bit but was great fun to do, as monkeys ran past you and across your path as you walked along!

You are under tree cover all the way so it's lovely and cool to walk around even on the hot day we had.

We really enjoyed ourselves and highly recommend visiting Monkeyland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary also viewed

The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing