We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Birds of Eden”
Review of Birds of Eden

Birds of Eden
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Birds of Eden is part of the South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA). Birds of Eden is the largest single-dome free flight aviary in the world, spanning 2.3 hectares of natural forests, streams and dams. With over a kilometre of walkways, visitors can experience the thrill of spotting almost 3500 previously captive birds of over 200 different species flying free and living natural lives. The scenery alone warrants a visit with hundreds of different plant and tree species plus there are giant fruit bats, golden-handed tamarins and the smallest of the antelopes, Blue duikers. Visits to Birds of Eden are self-guided and you are free to wander for as long as you wish at your own pace. Guided tours for group bookings can also be arranged on request at no additional cost.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Birds of Eden”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Break your journey when travelling through Storms River and the Tsitsikamma region.

Combine it with a visit to the neighbouring primate sanctuary - you'll be so glad you did.

A visit to both sanctuaries should take around 2 or 3 hours including a guided tour and is a MUST!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    412
    87
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Willem en Madeleen”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The amount of birds we saw was amazing,and there health was very good.Must thank the staff for being so good for the birds

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLEM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monkeys and Birds Loving it!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I generally don't like going to zoos and such because I believe in freedom for animals but after being to Monkeyland and Birds of Eden I was pleasantly surprised to see the care and amazing structures built all for these amazing animals and birdlife. Even though these structures are huge we were able to take amazing photos of the birds and monkeys. A trip well worth taking and definitely value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Even my husband like it”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

And he's not a bird watcher per se. We enjoyed the walk through this enclosed aviary, but it was so spacious it really felt like it wasn't enclosed. We saw an amazing array of birds all around, some so curious they would come right up to us, follow us, and one even got on my shoulder for a hand out the door of the cafe that he had somehow managed to sneak into.

This is a very pleasant experience with a wide array of birds and habitats to view. There are also a few tiny blue dukier and some wee monkeys as well that we were able to photograph. A very nice afternoon outing, and the cafe even has nice, not too expensive sandwiches.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It can get any better”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

worlds biggest free flying bird enclosure and you feel like being in the bush or jungle. It does not look huge from the outside but it is very deep. The amount of different species is fantastic and the are able to fly around and have massive space so well done on the sanctuary aspect. Entry prices very reasonable and the food in the cafe is excellent so please make a stop there. One of our best experiences on our Garden route tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Svennie1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Eden also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Birds of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing