We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously Expensive”
Review of Elephant Sanctuary

Elephant Sanctuary
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Expensive”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we felt at 450 rand each for just an hour was just too expensive.

A real shame as we were looking forward to visiting, we were 4 adults and a toddler of 18 months. Perhaps they don't really want visitors, as the car park was almost empty, with only about 3 cars, other visitors who arrived at same time as us also felt it was too expensive, and left.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    183
    62
    19
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Dream”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife's dream was to stroke, ride and walk hand in hand with elephants. We came here via a referral and we weren't disappointed. There are several similar 'experience' venues in the general area. They may offer a similar package, however I believe the guides were very friendly, in a genuine manner. They also worked well together and took an interest in our small group, including 2 children and non-English speaking visitors.

The waiting area is comfortable, with a few simple lunch snacks (hot and cold).

We weren't disappointed in any way and my wife still bubbles over, telling her friends about 'living her dream'.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank R88kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting but watch out they give you the right DVD!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We liked the experiences of walking with the elephants and the other activities. Excellent guide and a good mix of info and hands-on with the animals. Only warning, we got home and played the DVD I was determined not to buy until I actually saw it as it is a great momento. Or could be if they gave us the right copy!. It wasn't us but the group before us!! Didnt have a chance to view it before we got home. So go and see it as you will enjoy the experience but if you want buy the DVD I suggest you check it before you leave. I have emailed them asking for them to check their system with a picture of us to help identify the right video and offered to pay the postage. Sadly no response thus far but I live in hope.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really fun & informative”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not only do you get to walk with the elephants & feed them but also you learn a lot about the amazing creatures. Its about an hour in total but you don't feel rushed & there are loads of photo opps as well as a chance to purchase a DVD for about £16 which is shot as you go round & a really quirky keep sake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Uo close and personal”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Enjoyed being able to get close to these wonderful animals and to feed them. The guides were well informed and fun and it was obvious that they loved the "ellies". Great way to spend a few hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Sanctuary also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Elephant Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing