We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location for tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Carraighs

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Carraighs view and swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The Carraighs view and swimming pool
The Carraighs and grounds with swimming pool
The Carraighs - the whole cottage is rented out to only one group at a time.
Bathroom with bath and shower and toilet.
Kitchen
Pin tailed whydah.  Beautiful birdlife.
Sunset from The Carraighs
View from upstairs bedroom
Robberg Beach
The Carraighs from the air
Outside patio
The Carraighs view
The Carraighs main bedroom
Family bedroom upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Parkland2...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Awesome location for tranquility”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfect setting & ideal anti-dote to the bustling Cape Town of our previous stop.
If anything the property outshines its' description & photos. Toni is well organised & we received detailed instructions on how to find the property & she has a complete set of the local tourist leaflets but much more than that books on identifying the many species of birds that 'join' you on the balcony.
Only regret, we booked too short a stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2017
Thanks so much John - we enjoyed meeting you two and always love it when people appreciate our beautiful spot and especially the bird life as much as we do.
Stay well and we hope to see you again.
tONI AND mIKE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMexico...
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in a charming country cottage!”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were two couples and booked The Carraighs for 4 nights. Toni is a warm and friendly host, and the cottage is very comfortable and extremely well-equipped. It is truly self-cater. Toni and her husband live right nearby and are available to help plan your adventures in The Crags. In addition, the cottage has an abundance of brochures to rely on as well as a discount as her guest.. The beds are super comfortable, and the heaters work really well! All in all, a totally delightful stay. I would recommend The Carraighs without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was terrific!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you Carol - it was a pleasure meeting you friendly four ! I'm glad you kept warm, it was a bit of a pity that the cold front followed you here! There is so much to see and do in The Crags, I'm glad I could help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixie_aki...
George, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself, wife and daughter stayed 2 nights and 3 days with Mike, Toni and their furry kids. The accomodation was nice and clean with a very homely atmosphere. When Toni found out from my horse mad daughter that she had never ridden before she was on the phone to neighbours arranging her 1st lesson. Mike and Toni were absolutely awesome hosts and we felt like members of their family from the moment we arrived there. Thanks guys we will definately visit you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2015
Thanks so much for the review! We enjoyed having you as well and loved your little girl ! Hope to see you again soon.
Regards Toni and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshgit
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“out of this world”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

fab place ,fab owners, close to town but far enough away to be secluded
views fantastic accommodation fantastic, we are going back next year, such a clean homely
place, we loved every day we was there,, thanks guys you are amazing hosts, we felt like we was family, see you next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the helpful ness of the owners
Liked least: we had to leave as our 2 weeks was up
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
Thank you so much it was a pleasure having you here and we would love you to come back next year, just don't forget that little darling girl of yours ...
We have upgraded our furniture and have a tv with satellite dish now so you can lounge back and watch golf as long as you have a decoder with you. Next time you must meet our golfing friends and play some local courses! You would also particularly enjoy the Horse Riding with Debbie at Hog Hollow !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohscrewit
Fairfax, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at The Carraighs for a week last year. What a delightful place. It's certainly relaxing and peaceful, but every day we did something different and exciting. We did a game drive, went to the elephant sanctuary, the wild cat sanctuary, wine tasting, walks on the beach, made some arty tablecloths and went to a great concert. Plettenburg Bay has something for everyone, and Toni and Mike are amazing hosts.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thanks so much - we loved having you and are looking forward to your second stay in December !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing