We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, excellent staff and very nice rooms”
Review of Tarn Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tarn Country House
Ranked #1 of 9 The Crags B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a lovely property in a beautiful part of South Africa. The rooms are large and very comfortable, the location is beautiful, the staff is gracious and helpful and the breakfast is quite nice. The internet is only available in the lobby, which is a pity, but parking was free, and the pool was perfect for the children. My only regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Tarn Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 115 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Such a lovely place! So glad we stayed there, and totally agree with the previous reviews- the staff, the service,the atmosphere and the view were just great! Yes, the rooms don't have the TV but you don't need it there, you won't have time to watch it- your days will be busy with all the activities around
Don't forget to book a dinner there, if I must be honest we didn't expect much, at the end of the day it's not a restaurant but we were so pleasantly surprised! The food was so tasty! And the presentation was like from very expensive restaurants
Breakfast was really nice and tasty as well
Thank you all from Tarn house, from the cleaning lady, from the lady who cooked our delicious breakfast to the managers there, you are doing great job, Merry Xmas and Happy New Year to all of you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

FANTASTIC!

What a great place to stay, very valuable, very welcoming, beautiful rooms and people. And so much to do, that we have to come back to do it all. We were treated like friends and left as such. An absolute must go and see!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at Tarn Country House, and where blown away by the amazing setting, people and service! Could not have asked for more! The lodge is situated in the beautiful forest with fantastic views of the mountains and lots of great things to do and see in the surrounding area. We where treated to fabulous meals and the rooms where well equipped and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddictofAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent two nights at Tarn Country House recently on Trip Up to Addo from Cape Town and Back again, we have a little 7 month old and we were very grateful for all the extra touches that Cornelle and all the staff did for us to make sure that we were comfortable and looked after.
Plus the local tips were priceless especially regarding what was the best to do with a bubba in tow!
It's in a great position with great rooms and great food.
Should mention that our room didn't have a TV - it wasn't a problem for us - but it may be for others.

Very recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent a wondrful three days. Our room was lovely with doors leading out to the swimming pool.

We were made to feel very welcome by Cornel, the manager, who treated us to her brilliant 'chocolate brownies and ice cream at bed-time.

The breakfast was excellent. Landi, our waitress, was such a delight!

We were regaled with stories from Gee, the 80yr old owner, who could date his ancestry back to Louis 13th, his memorable time in Mauritius and then there were always little quips about his mother in law ;)

We felt like family and look forward to future visits.

Andre and Michelle

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This B and B is so very beautiful, relaxing, friendly....... the owners are very nice, the accomodation is very luxurious and the garden /swimming pool are fantastic! We ate out at an Italian restaurant in the bay of Plettenburg which was not far to drive to (ask Erica or Guy, I forgot the name of the restaurant but the food was really good, not to mention the amazing view and smell of the beach/sea) The breakfast at Tarn was VERY good, they even lighted a fire place, so cosy. I'll never forget. Peter, Sofie, Eleni and Felice, Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
7.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
4.7 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Country House

Address: P.O Box 276, The Crags | Plettenberg Bay, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in The Crags
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast among all the activities there are to do in The Crags. We have 10 suites, catering for 22 guests maximum in 3 different styles of rooms. Our restaurant caters for dinners, and we also do beautiful tapas platters that you can enjoy in your room or around the pool. We welcome couples, families with children of all ages, and wedding groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tarn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Country House South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing