We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old country house with wonderful views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarn Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarn Country House
Ranked #1 of 9 The Crags B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
salisbury
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old country house with wonderful views.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and Erica and Guy could n't have been more kind and helpful. The place needs a bit of updating but having said that it was clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfasts. Erica was very kind as we arrived I was n't feeling too good and my partner did n't want to eat out alone. She very kindly gave him something to eat at no extra charge and expressed her concerns about my health too. Lovely lady. The views are stunning from the house and we saw a a few baboons there as they came for a drink at the small water resevoir in the evening. You can also relax by the pool and admire the views. Lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalisburyAvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
henley in arden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

host and hostess make you very welcome and lovely room with large bath.
excellent south african breakfast and always willing to arrange outings and advise on restaurants for evening meals.
we really enjoyed our stay and remember the stunning views over the montains from here.

Room Tip: most rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeldufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a magical place to stay. Driving up the long winding path from the front gate to the house, you see packs of baboons and tortoises! The rooms themselves are very comfortable (not super modern but exactly what you need), and you are surrounded by forest, rather than the constant hum of the main town of Plettenberg. There is a lovely pool, and the breakfasts are wonderful, but most importantly, the hosts Erica and Guy are amazing. We sat with them each morning for breakfast and it was the best way to start the day. We will definitely be keeping in touch with them, and be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Staying with Erica and guy is unforgettable. Breakfast outside makes you lazy. You don't want to stand up any more. The views are so overwhelming when you see the tsitsikamma mountains and outeniqua at the same time. Erica helps you to find your way in the neighborhood. There are lots of things to do and visit also for the kids.
A lovely place to go back again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanvDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Tarn tremendously. It is very quiet there, the setting with sweeping mountain views is beautiful. Plettenberg is only a 10-15 minute drive away.
The hosts Erica and Guy are very nice, so is the staff. The rooms are very nice, grouped around the pool, some could need a little renovation. We felt thoroughly taken care of and would easily return to this special place in a very nice area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B twice during our holiday. The hosts Erica & Guy are the best! This is the best place to stay when travelling along the Garden Route. It is situated near Plettenberg Bay and we enjoyed staying here instead of in the Plett. It is very calm and relaxing and if someone needs action there's plenty of activities around this area. Thank you Erica for all the good tips and for both of your hospitality. We will definitely come back when next time in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jouni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Travelling in South Africa for the first time, my wife and I felt extremely fortunate to have stumbled upon this delightful establishment. Within moments of leaving the main road on the Garden Route, you are experiencing tranquility in a stunning setting. The whole layout engenders relaxation whether you are partaking of a refreshing dip in the pool or simply sitting enjoying the scenery. The accommodation is superb and the breakfasts are mouth-watering. You are also extrememly well situated for a range of sight-seeing activities, top of which we would place the Storms River Mouth in TsitsiKamma National Park. The proximity to Plettenberg Bay also ensures an excellent range of places to dine.
Thiis review would be incomplete however without making reference to our excellent hosts, Erica and Guy. We very much appreciated their warm welcome and genial hospitality throughout our stay and have provided us with very fond memories. Highly recommended, it was our best stop-off on a 3 week tour of South Africa.

Room Tip: All good rooms, all in same excellent setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
4.7 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
76 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
1.6 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Country House

Property: Tarn Country House
Address: P.O Box 276, The Crags | Plettenberg Bay, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast among all the activities there are to do in The Crags. We have 8 suites, catering for 16 guests maximum in 3 different style of room. Our restaurant caters for dinners, and we also do beautiful and yummy tapas platters that you can enjoy in your room or around the pool. We welcome couples, families with children of all ages, and wedding groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Country House South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing