We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tamodi Lodge(The Crags)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
African Crags Eco-Lodge(The Crags)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Green Hills Forest Lodge(The Crags)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek(The Crags)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Fields Farm(The Crags)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$446
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
584
123
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
123
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal diningcommunal tableother guestsgarden routelong tableelephant sanctuarybedtime storypre dinner drinkshorse ridinga hot water bottlelog firecountry lodgehomemade biscuitsno air conditioningmain buildingour honeymoonstunning views
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 751 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This Place is something special, it comes with a price but its worth it.
From Start to Finish we were looked after .
The rooms were great, chilled music, bedtime storiesetc....
The food is so good, and the whole setup with eating on one big table so nice.
Because we stayed for a special birthday they made a lovely cake.
I would recomend it to everybody.
Thanks for such a excellent service, great staff!!!!!
Will be back

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We loved Hog Hollow! Everything about it is great, the homemade biscuits in your room, the handcrafted soap, the AMAZING breakfasts, dinner round the big table, the views from the private balconies, the bedtime stories on your pillow, the sauna and pool - I could go on and on. It does admittedly all come at a price, but if you're looking to splash out on a bit of luxury and peace and quiet, then it's more than worth it.
There's loads to do in the surrounding Crags area - the Bramon vineyard does great lunches, the walk to Monkey Land was lovely (although a bit challenging on the uphill sections) and the shops and cafe at the Mill Mohair Centre were fab.
Look out for the monkeys though!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Very much enjoyed the large table for a very good supper and wine. 2 good fun nights with other guests. Staff lovely. Delicious breakfast on balcony.The zip wire trip is fun if you have a head for heights my husband did i did not and chickened out at the first wire. Liked the hot water bottles in the bed on a chilly night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We loved Hog Hollow - the staff were incredible, well trained but still coming across as warm and genuine. We also really enjoyed the communal evening dining - we met some really interesting people from around the globe and had two great evenings with some fascinating conversations. Loved the accommodation - shame it was too windy to swing in the hammock on our veranda !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuvoloso18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Hogs Hollow is a fabulous lodge and we would highly recommend it. The location is good and there is plenty of things to do with in an easy car ride or a hike if you are that way inclined. The staff were fabulous. Nothing was to much trouble and everybody was charming and made our stay a pleasure. The food was of a very high standard and they served one of the best breakfast buffets we have experienced. Dinner was always fun with most people choosing the group table option that guranteed some entertaining banter. Our room was large with a sitting room area and a big bathroom. Our particular room was good but with just a bit more design inspiration could have been great but this really is a minor grumble. The monkeys were very bold and one managed to pinch a sandwich off of our table one lunch time in a perfect commando raid. It made us jump but also made us smile. If you fancy a hike then you really must try the walk to the Elephant sanctuary. It is pretty tough but you will feel great when you make it!! We would also recommend actually visiting the Elephant sanctuary it was amazing walking with these incredible animals and if you can cope with heights the zip wire tree top adventure is a must. All n all we had a wonderful time and would like to thank the staff for their efforts. Book it you wont regret it. P+D London.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilWCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews