We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hog hollow was the one place that I really wanted to return to this year. We were not disappointed the service was great as before. I like the fact that everyone can eat together in the evenings it makes for a great evening. It was very hot this year and I did miss the aircon even though they did provide us with extra fans. It was a nice touch to have a bottle of wine and hand made soap as a gift. I would like to return again one day.

Room Tip: They all seem good. We had a really large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 714 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hog Hollow is more of an experience that a stay at a hotel. The rooms feel as though they are part of the environment and the team just can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay - that extends to collecting you from local places that you may have walked to! The evening meals around a huge dining table allows you chance to talk about your day and plans for the day with other guests and learn more about their experiences. It really is a convivial environment and the food is superb. It makes a superb base for local wildlife attractions - walking with cheetahs, monkey and elephant sanctuaries and Birds of Eden; then there is the chance to drive to Natures Trail beach for a view of the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChurtSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Hogs is in a real scenic setting with great views of forest, really nice seating area for breakfast and lunch.
Food was excellent
Location really good for seeing attractions
Lots of nice little touches like popcorn, bedtime story, carwash
All staff really friendly
Reason not 5stars I think rooms just nice and pool could do with a clean, I think quite expensive in comparison to other places for what you are getting, but makes a nice change from typical hotel or b&b

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hog Hollow for 2 nights in January during an escorted tour of the Garden Route. We were very pleased with our room. It had a sitting room and balcony, fridge etc. double bed upstairs with a well laid out bathroom. The views from the bedroom and balcony were lovely. The food and staff excellent. Our stay here was very enjoyable. We were with a small tour group of 12 and they looked after our group very well. Fond memories.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MikeO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent location for the main attractions in the area.
Food choice at breakfast particularly good. Evening meals not so varied without paying supplement.
Accommodation expected was to be typical rustic with private deck surrounding the main lodge. However we were escorted to a modern villa about 5 minutes walk away. Lodge did provide transport though if required.
We were expected to share with 2 other couples. This was not what we had expected and presented confusion when paying departure bills and privacy was compromised.
The pool at villa had lovely infinity aspect but was not well maintained so were reluctant to take the plunge.
Overall would have rated better if had been provided with room in main lodge area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow what a place i'm so glad I stayed here. The lodge is set 3km back from the N2 main road to Plattenberg (15 min drive away) , and you would never find this place otherwise. The whole lodge overlooks a spectacular forest valley that just simply takes your breath away. All of the staff here made our 3 night stay extremely special and were always very warm and accommodating. They even gave me a special birthday cake for breakfast on my 2nd morning. If you get a chance, do try to book the horseriding two minutes down the road, where they take you on a trail around the surrounding valley, as that was quite a memorable experience. The rooms themselves are quite picture postcard and had a 'game lodge' feel about them. And I like the fact they had no TV's as so you could 'reconnect' with nature. Finally I have to mention the dinners they put on which are an experience in themselves. All the guests sit at a long table and well basically get to know each other, which is a nice touch to hear about others travels and suggestions of places to go. Food was top notch too.

If you're reading this and deciding whether to stay in Plattenberg or here, then its a no brainer for me. This place all the way.

Finally if you are deciding on a wine to drink when staying here please try the 'fat b*****d' Pinotage. It was the smoothest wine ive ever tasted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just back from an amazing South African trip but unfortunately Hog hollow did not meet our expectations. Staff are really friendly and the view is amazing but the rooms and food are certainly not 4 star (3 at best). Our room (6) was nothing like the ones shown on web site. It was two storey and so so tired!! No air conditioning only a ceiling fan. We ate there the first night and have to say it was the only bad meal we had on our travels. Certainly NOT great cuisine. Pool area is also so tired although in a great position. Glad we were only here for 2 nights!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 441kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
576 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
23 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: $260 - $1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing