We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
586
123
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
123
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal diningcommunal tableother guestsgarden routelong tableelephant sanctuarybedtime storypre dinner drinkshorse ridinga hot water bottlelog firecountry lodgehomemade biscuitsno air conditioningmain buildingour honeymoonstunning views
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 753 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I spent just one night at Hog hollwo, and t was ownderful. Lovely staff, wonderful accomodation, and the local choir that cme in to entertain was the icing on the cake. A great night, and thelunch time wine and barbecue by the river was pretty good too. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book the owners former house of you have a group!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phinthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent two days at the hotel. Would love to go back and spend more time enjoying the rooms, the pool, the food and the atmosphere. We were welcomed on arrival with a glass of fizz which was a nice touch. The food was excellent and the attention to detail was impressive too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Heather087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place was a superb way to finish our stay in South Africa. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel part of a very large family that cared for all its members. The lodges are so well hidden in the grounds that it is impossible to see anyone else's when you are in your own even when sitting on the veranda. Each is extremely spacious and very well appointed and the level of service from the housekeeping team has to be experienced to be believed!
Breakfast was either continental or cooked, however the choice on the continental was vast! Every morning brought new surprises from the chef.
Evening meals can be taken at a very large shared table with other guests, OR, at a table for 2 or 4 or 6 NOTHING is too much trouble for your hosts who go out of their way to ensure that everyone has a superb holiday experience. Their level of knowledge of the locality is brilliant and they will print of maps and information for you as well as assist with practical advice.
The swimming pool, on a deck below the main restaurant level, is actually long enough to have a good swim and facilities in the pool area are just as good as in the rest of the facility with full service available if required.
We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our second visit in two years and our 4 day stay was again memorable. The staff are excellent - friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfasts are wonderful even allowing for the visit of local monkeys! Evenings on the patio by the log fire are always a feature. Our rooms had magnificent views and only if we were being very "picky" would we say that bed linen needed renewing. Everything spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for a few nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Boma deck with the open pit fire was a lovely touch, so were the canapes before dinner. Accomodation was very comfortable and views were amazing. Food was to a very good standard and we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably good and al with great views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samoruk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews