We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
586
125
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
125
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal dining communal table other guests garden route long table elephant sanctuary bedtime story pre dinner drinks horse riding a hot water bottle log fire country lodge homemade biscuits no air conditioning main building our honeymoon stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 755 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at Hog Hollow as part of the Grand Tour of South Africa, via Ilios Travel. Quality service, very friendly and personal and felt so at home from the moment we arrived. Rooms were fantastic in terms of quality, size, design and comfort and the views were spectacular. We particularly loved the evenings which began with a drink under the large canopy at the rear where everyone sits around a romantic wood burner centrepiece. Food and wine was high quality also. The best hotel of the eight we stayed in - simply stunning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First impressions suggest immediately that you are arriving somewhere special, with every member of staff passing by greeting you. The welcome at reception was warm and straight away being offered tea or coffee on the veranda. The speed and slight of hand of the silky monkeys has be seen to be believed with a cookie disappearing before we had even blinked an eye! The room was delightful, having an exclusive treetop walkway to it. There was a lovely sitting room overlooking the tree-lined valley, and the bedroom very, very comfortable. An early evening glass of wine by the brai, was a fabulous way to preceed the delicious evening meals. Breakfasts outside were a great way to start our day trips out. I would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann4is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Hog Hollow and it was a perfect retreat. We loved everything from the beautiful deck with Vervet monkeys providing the entertainment, to the lovely rooms with fab wood burning stoves, to the yummy breakfasts and convivial dinners and finally the fantastic staff! Not to mention the fab pool all set with a magnificent backdrop of bush and mountains! Lovely!

Don't miss a visit to Storm river mouth and the suspension bridge with a stop to see the highest bungey jump site in the world!

We'd love to return one day!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family arrived on a chilly, dark night, winding our way into what felt like the heart of the countryside. We spotted the 'light at the end of the tunnel' and felt relief, knowing that a meal and a bed awaited us - and what a meal and bed they turned out to be! We were greeted by the staff as though we were long lost cousins and they had happily completed their search after many years. Within minutes we were all on first name terms. We were fed in a private dining room because our boys were still quite young and they were smart enough to realise that everybody would benefit from that one, particularly some of the elderly guests who only wanted a peaceful dinner for two! The food was excellent, but the accommodation was far superior. Our bags had been taken to our lodge which was more like a small luxury villa. Milk and cookies for the children accompanied the 'turn down' at the end of the evening. Each morning we awoke to a glorious South African sunrise by lazily swinging on hammocks placed on our verandah. My youngest had a birthday whilst there and they bought him a gift. We all felt like part of one big family and were loathe to move on. If you want to feel a million miles from civilisation whilst knowing that your every whim is being pandered to, this is THE place for you. And they really do know what makes the little ones happy.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one and the entire complex is close to a whole host of things to see and do on a daily basis.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgtanneQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Service superb nothing was too much trouble, the staff were amazing. Lots of wildlife and birds including monkeys that would come onto the balconies and into the rooms if the doors were open to steal or just ransack anything they thought may amuse them. Many attractions nearby including snakes, monkeys, wild cats and elephants. Food very good try the "Whole Hog" for breakfast you will not be disappointed. Superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews