We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Hog This One - Spread the Word!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family arrived on a chilly, dark night, winding our way into what felt like the heart of the countryside. We spotted the 'light at the end of the tunnel' and felt relief, knowing that a meal and a bed awaited us - and what a meal and bed they turned out to be! We were greeted by the staff as though we were long lost cousins and they had happily completed their search after many years. Within minutes we were all on first name terms. We were fed in a private dining room because our boys were still quite young and they were smart enough to realise that everybody would benefit from that one, particularly some of the elderly guests who only wanted a peaceful dinner for two! The food was excellent, but the accommodation was far superior. Our bags had been taken to our lodge which was more like a small luxury villa. Milk and cookies for the children accompanied the 'turn down' at the end of the evening. Each morning we awoke to a glorious South African sunrise by lazily swinging on hammocks placed on our verandah. My youngest had a birthday whilst there and they bought him a gift. We all felt like part of one big family and were loathe to move on. If you want to feel a million miles from civilisation whilst knowing that your every whim is being pandered to, this is THE place for you. And they really do know what makes the little ones happy.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one and the entire complex is close to a whole host of things to see and do on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgtanneQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 672 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Service superb nothing was too much trouble, the staff were amazing. Lots of wildlife and birds including monkeys that would come onto the balconies and into the rooms if the doors were open to steal or just ransack anything they thought may amuse them. Many attractions nearby including snakes, monkeys, wild cats and elephants. Food very good try the "Whole Hog" for breakfast you will not be disappointed. Superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am so sorry we could only stay one night - this place deserves at least 2 nights! Accommodation was spacious and luxurious - loved the wood stove. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful - they go out of their way to engage with the guests. Breakfast is actually a "brunch". We will definitely come and stay again - I strongly recommend this establishment to anyone wanting a relaxing, pampered week-end in the countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms #11 and #12 are at the end and single units, so very private and feels as if you are the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

All the positives reviews were spot on! The staff are really fantastic, and it is all the nice little touches which set this place apart. The owners set out to restore the land and with faith in the local people who now run the place, they have restored more than a farm, they have created a gem! If we were in Plett again ( what the locals call it), we wouldn't bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived late evening and we're welcomed like it was our own home. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and I would recommend this place to anyone whether for a relaxing break or a luxurious base to explore the local area from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a spectacular location, about 10 minutes from Plettenberg. We had a spectacular thunder storm with lightening flooding the sky but the location high up in the trees made this experience even more dramatic! Food and ambience was excellent and so was the hospitality. Rooms were elegantly rustic with all facilities. So pleased we stayed here rather than in a faceless place in Plettenberg which we felt was grossly over rated.A wonderful place to chill out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan And Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a wonderful place this is. We arrived quite late in the day, and unfortunately we were oonly here for one night, we were all given a glass of champagne on arrival. Our rooms had their own private deck, with folding patio doors looking out over the "jungle" and the swimming pool. Biscuits were left in our room to feed the Monkeys but we didnt see any, probably because it was winter. Whilst were were having dinner, 4 course including coffee and petit fours set meal, the maids came in and turned down the beds, on the pillow was a liitle book bedtime story book, a chocolate and what a surprise "hot water bottles" at the bottom of the bed. Breakfast was lovely a wide choice we sat inside as we thought it warmer, but really should have sat outside looking out over the extensive grounds. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would certainly go back if we were in this area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downhillwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
23.7 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
923 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: $210 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing