We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$68
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$235
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
576
119
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
119
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal diningcommunal tableother guestsgarden routelong tablebedtime storyelephant sanctuaryhorse ridingpre dinner drinksa hot water bottlelog firemain deckcountry lodgehomemade biscuitsno air conditioningour honeymoonamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 739 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What an amazing place! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the friendly and efficient staff we knew we were in for a treat. Our room was perfect, designed to capture the beautiful views and feel like you are at one with the surroundings. Private, comfortable and everything one could wish for. So impressed with our host remembering everyones names at the dinner table. Food delicious and just the right amount. Loved the little quirky touches, a short story on our pillow, hot water bottle for the chilly evening, handmade cookies etc. Thank you Hog Hollow, we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, perfectly private and beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location for views and handy for the garden route. Friendly and helpful staff. Great deck with open fire, pool and sauna below. Rooms a neat idea slightly badly built but not so much to mar it. They have wood burning stoves and balconies with hammocks and are like little houses. Food good to very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Fabulous accommodation and a wonderful place to stay. The ambience in the dining room matched the amazing food and the set up outside for brekkie under the trees was excellent! We were privileged to be given one of the suites down the hill a small way, I think it was # 14. Anyway it was one of the honeymoon suites, and it was MUCH bigger and superior to the other rooms we saw. Take this option - it's well worth it!! We would definitely return to this place if we go back to South Africa!

Room Tip: Ask for a honeymoon suite!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a two night stay here recently that we booked at the last minute, but were delighted to have stumbled across this gem of a hotel.

From the very start (check in was done in the open air with a glass to sparkling wine) to the end of the stay we could not have been happier with the friendliness, hospitality and thoughtfulness of the staff. The rooms / cabins were beautifully appointed, but it was the open air deck with the stunning tree top setting that really made the stay for us.

It's a little distance from Plettenburg Bay, but once you arrive there is no real need to leave in the evening unless you really fancy some nightlife. In terms of dining you can opt for a private table or join the communal group - which is what we did. A really enjoyable way to connect with other travelers and pick up ideas on where to go and what to do. The food was nothing special, but perfectly adequate.

We didn't have time to just sit for a day, but it seems like the kind of place where some downtime on the trip would be a good call. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Make sure to get a cabin that is well situated in / overlooking the forest
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Hog Hollow for 2 nights on our way to Port Elizabeth - we would happily have stayed a 3rd night! It's a beautiful hotel, the location is great, the room was a lot bigger that I thought, with a sofa area and a big bathroom. There were fresh cookies and pop corn waiting for us in the room with the tea/coffee facilities.
We had dinner there on both nights as the hotel is quite far away from any town/village and the night was falling early. Both dinners were very good, though I thought the first dinner was more refined and nicely presented than the second one. We had dinner at the communal table on both nights and it was lovely. We had a picnic on the 2nd day, as we went for a hike in the nearby forest/beach (beautiful hike !): the picnic was really nice, with fresh salads, savoury tarts, cheese and crackers, plenty of fruits in a beautiful (albeit not very practical!) picnic basket. Breakfast were really nice too.
The staff was great, very friendly and helpful, especially when we inquired about a possible hike in the area, or for an extra blanket as the nights were a bit cold.
​Dinners were on the expensive side for South Africa, and breakfast (which was not included into our rate) was the usual cost for a hot/cold buffet and hot breakfast menu option. However, the staff was not very upfront about prices (we did not know how much breakfast was until we got our bill as it was unclear to us if it was / was not included in our rate) and what was / was not included (e.g. the pre-dinner drinks, which are extra).
​​I would definitely go back to Hog Hollow if I have the occasion!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valérie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews