We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed April 16, 2008

The lodge and its setting are amazing. Our lodge was spacious and clean with views as far as the eye can see.

Our only criticism is that the service was over attentive to the point of being claustrophobic. We felt pressured in to eating in the lodge each night and in to ordering lots of alcohol. The first night I was feeling slightly ill so only wanted soft drinks and my wife just wanted a glass of wine. The waiter repeated asked if that was ALL we would like in a suggestive and pressurising manner only leaving us alone after a very firm response. This approach seemed ingrained in all the staff – so much so that we would avoid the main restaurant / bar area to save being hassled. We felt the staff were on a mission to extract as much of our money out of us in the two days we were there.

This was a shame as it tarred an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — claustrophobic service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EdAndBinnyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    99
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
422
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This was an amazing place.My large room was overlooking the forest canopy and really beautifully decorated.The huge bathroom has floor to ceiling patio windows over looking the forest and you don't need blinds ( there aren't any ).A full troupe of monkeys woke us up in the morning jumping on the roof and then playing on our balcony.The meal at night is one to remember and we had such great company.Hogs Hollow has a unique atmostphere that you simply cannot describe and we have treasured memories of this place.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I stayed at the Hog Hollow for 2 nights a few years ago. I found the staff really friendly and the accommodation was fabulous. It was a lovely surprise to come back at night to find a story book, chocolate and the bed turned down, with the CD player on down low. The view of the forest was a breath of fresh air also. I wasn't too sure about the communal dining thing as I don't always feel the need to 'make new friends'. In the end, it was fine and not a bit uncomfortable as the waiter started the night really well by memorising everyone's name at the table and then introducing everyone to each other in general. What great retention of memory! Food was really good also. The 2nd night we ate out at a restaurant in Plettenberg. Not that great. We should have stayed in again for the dinner but you live and learn. If I was going back to Plet, I would definitely stay here again, especially if you like a bit of luxury away from any town/city noise.

  • Liked — The overall atmosphere amongst the forest
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LADYEIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Wow what a fantastic setting. This place is a must if you are travelling down the Garden Route. Lovely pool and rooms were great. Our daughter loved the bedtime stories and the cookies - nice touch. Evening dinner is a 4 course affair with a choice of main courses, though not world class, still very good and exceptional value for money. We had only booked a meal for the first night but ended up having 2 meals out of 3. Lots of choice for breakfast. The area itself is stunning, lots of beautiful beaches and dense forest. The only downside is it is a long way from Cape Town by car (approx. 7 hours) and a fairly boring drive at that (even though we did the R62 on the way there which is more scenic). I would definitely fly to George or Port Elizabeth next time and hire a car from there.

  • Liked — the pool area and its view!
  • Disliked — nothing to comment on
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nnf128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed 3 nights here, what a wonderful place, staff are superb. Rooms fantastic with lovely little touches such as a jar of freshley baked cookies every day, bed time stories left on your pillow each night. Fresh fluffy towels and crisp white sheets, always a good sign.

Wasn't sure about the eating together with the other guests in the evening, but it turned out to be a really good experience, and we met some great people and you can swap stories of where to visit etc.

Only thing I would change is for them to have a heated pool. Will definately retrun to this place, though expensive it is worth it!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — unheated pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We had a short stay at Hog Hollow while doing the wine/garden route, and it was wonderful. Stunning views from the cosy and comfortable accomodation, great staff, we really enjoyed the huge communal dining experience and would recommend this, its great to chat to like minded travellers and share stories etc. Our daughter was delighted with her turn down service, as she was greeted by a drink of bedtime milk and a home baked ginger bread man! The chef's biscuits were also delicious and plentyful, as was all the food. We would certainly return here and for longer, its a little gem of a place, and one of our favourites now.

  • Liked — Fantastic views, nice toiletries, turn down service
  • Disliked — Cannot find fault
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at Hog Hollow and loved it every second. The staff was really helpful, friendly and attentive. From the minute we arrived they knew who we were at all times - never asked our room number or names, and when I once made a special dietary request at one meal, they remembered for every meal. Yes, we had a minor power / water outage, but bearing in mind that all of South Africa is experiencing a power crisis, it was handled superbly and we had no complaints. The staff was quick to help and recommend things to do and see and the food was top notch, especially great value for money. We had not planned on staying for dinner every night because the thought of the communal dining concerned us but in the end we had so much fun and met some interesting people, and above all, had such great food, that we stayed for dinner every night.

  • Liked — the service and views
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing