We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Wow what a fantastic setting. This place is a must if you are travelling down the Garden Route. Lovely pool and rooms were great. Our daughter loved the bedtime stories and the cookies - nice touch. Evening dinner is a 4 course affair with a choice of main courses, though not world class, still very good and exceptional value for money. We had only booked a meal for the first night but ended up having 2 meals out of 3. Lots of choice for breakfast. The area itself is stunning, lots of beautiful beaches and dense forest. The only downside is it is a long way from Cape Town by car (approx. 7 hours) and a fairly boring drive at that (even though we did the R62 on the way there which is more scenic). I would definitely fly to George or Port Elizabeth next time and hire a car from there.

  • Liked — the pool area and its view!
  • Disliked — nothing to comment on
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nnf128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    99
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
425
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed 3 nights here, what a wonderful place, staff are superb. Rooms fantastic with lovely little touches such as a jar of freshley baked cookies every day, bed time stories left on your pillow each night. Fresh fluffy towels and crisp white sheets, always a good sign.

Wasn't sure about the eating together with the other guests in the evening, but it turned out to be a really good experience, and we met some great people and you can swap stories of where to visit etc.

Only thing I would change is for them to have a heated pool. Will definately retrun to this place, though expensive it is worth it!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — unheated pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We had a short stay at Hog Hollow while doing the wine/garden route, and it was wonderful. Stunning views from the cosy and comfortable accomodation, great staff, we really enjoyed the huge communal dining experience and would recommend this, its great to chat to like minded travellers and share stories etc. Our daughter was delighted with her turn down service, as she was greeted by a drink of bedtime milk and a home baked ginger bread man! The chef's biscuits were also delicious and plentyful, as was all the food. We would certainly return here and for longer, its a little gem of a place, and one of our favourites now.

  • Liked — Fantastic views, nice toiletries, turn down service
  • Disliked — Cannot find fault
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at Hog Hollow and loved it every second. The staff was really helpful, friendly and attentive. From the minute we arrived they knew who we were at all times - never asked our room number or names, and when I once made a special dietary request at one meal, they remembered for every meal. Yes, we had a minor power / water outage, but bearing in mind that all of South Africa is experiencing a power crisis, it was handled superbly and we had no complaints. The staff was quick to help and recommend things to do and see and the food was top notch, especially great value for money. We had not planned on staying for dinner every night because the thought of the communal dining concerned us but in the end we had so much fun and met some interesting people, and above all, had such great food, that we stayed for dinner every night.

  • Liked — the service and views
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

9 years ago we spent our honeymoon in Hog Hollow. The personal touch and cooking of the owner Andy were superb. In January we treated ourselves again to Hog Hollow. But despite the perfect setting, we missed the personal attention. Instead the staf was doing their tourist tric like well trained robots. We didn't see the owner at all. But worse was the fact that I got sick of the food. I was the only guest that had the lobster. It took three days of my vacation to recover.

The design and the pool are beautiful, but we really missed the warmth that we experienced in other south african guesthouses and hotels

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We had three nights here and wished it could have been more!

We arrived at Hogs Hollow having had a really busy first week in South Africa and were looking for a relaxing time, great service and food - Hog Hollow delivered on all fronts.

The location itself is great with the main breakfast area and the actual cottage itself overlooking a valley of trees and moutains on the horizon. Within minutes of unpacking we were relaxing in the hamock on the terrace - just perfect!

The staff were all great - friendly, proactive in helping us plan our time and activities and took a genuine interest in us and made us feel very welcome.

While we were there for a relaxing time the staff were able to point us in the direction of plenty of other things to do - nearly all of which are really close by and easy to access. As a brief summary there is a cat sanctuary, Storms River, Birds of Eden, National Park, Bungee jumping, Zip rides and more all within a 45 minute drive with most just 10 minutes away.

The accomadation was great, with a african feel and very cosy and private.

Breakfast had a wide selection of food, freash fruit and the cooked options (particularly the egg benedict) superb!

Evening meals are communial dining which was a good way to meet other people and share ideas for the next day etc. However, if you want to you can eat elsewhere or eat seperately - just ask and the staff will help with either.

There were lots of other little touches which made our stay here so wonderful and we are already planning another visit.

  • Liked — The rooms - private, spacious and very homely
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We really loved our stay at the Hog Hollow. Our rooms was beautifully decorated and a really lovely place to spend a few days (even when it rains a bit!). The setting is absolutely beautiful and it all feels really welcoming and peaceful. It is not a five star property as such, so if you are looking for marble and lots of polished brass you should probably look elsewhere. For everyone else - it will be a super stay.

The only downside, depending on how you look at it, is the communal dining. Although one shouldn't be ageist, it is fair to point out that my husband and I were a good 20 years younger than most other people around the table. Most nights that didn't really matter, but having to reminisce about the Second World War one evening did test my patience a bit......... So if you are on honeymoon, this may not be the best hotel for you (in theory you can ask for a "private table", but it is not exactly private and set in the library rather than the resturant!)

One the upside - the food was fantastic, both at breakfast and dinner!

In terms of activities - I can really recommend Monkeyland and the the nearby wine estate!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the weird people i was forced to make polite chat with at dinner on our first evening
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing