We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
585
126
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
126
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal dining communal table other guests garden route long table elephant sanctuary bedtime story pre dinner drinks horse riding a hot water bottle log fire country lodge homemade biscuits no air conditioning main building our honeymoon stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 755 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Definitly the highlight of our trip to South Africa in late Dec 11 - Early Jan 12. Upon arrival, you are not confronted and hastled to check-in but greeted in a very warm and welcoming way, giving you the feeling they are actually happy to welcome you there, which proved fairly rare anywhere else in SA. We were seated outside on the beautiful patio with unbelievable views across the mountains and offered a drink to relax from our journey. What a refreshing arrival to start your vacation. After our drink we were checked in and shown to our rooms with our bags arriving soon after.

We had a 'room' which can more or less be described as a private house with authentic traditional South African decor throughout. There is a coffee/tea making station as well as delicious homemade popcorn and biscuits to be enjoyed. The rooms are very spacious and clean, although there is no a/c which in the summer months can get uncomfortable. Outside our 'house' we had a large wood panel patio with furniture and a hammock, enjoying further magnificent views of the countryside.

The main house of HH is also very authentic and beautiful. At night the patio transforms into an oasis with an open fire burning while guests can enjoy the sunset and a few pre dinner drinks. Dinner is served in the main house at a large common table. An idea we found to be terrific as we met a bunch of new interesting travellers and shared experiences. Although it is rather unusual it is definitly worth it, you can always dine privatly if you wish. The food was also great with a selection of options given to you during the day to be prepared freshly for you that evening. The wine list is also comprehensive with superb local wines.

The pool area is as beautiful as everything else. Although it is a rather small pool, it lies right beneath the patio and offers the same breath taking views. There is also a chance to go on a short (ca. 1 hr) treck through the forest to a monkey sanctuary. The complimentary pick up service from HH means you dont have to walk all the way back.

The service throughout HH is immpecable. From arrival to departure we were taken care of in every way, without ever feeling bothered. The waiters and servers always had a smile on their face and the reception was always occupied and ready to help. We had a day planned to explore plettenberg and we received great information on local sights, restaurants, beaches etc. and were given, sun umbrellas, beach towels and they even make you a picnic basket. Another highlight is when we left for our departure and they had washed our car. Now that is service.

Looking back at our SA trip, HH was definitly the highlight and very special. Although not the most luxurious place to stay by far the most authentic and comfortable. A place where you never want to leave and feel among friends in a spectacualr setting. A MUST if i ever have the opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seb06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A unique oasis of gorgeous mountain views, imaginative gourmet dining - highlighting fresh local foods- and staff that work seamlessly as a team to provide an experience of pure pleasure. Nothing was too much trouble to arrange!
My sunlit balcony was private and more than large enough for morning yoga.The sound and scent of the crackling fire during pre-dinner tapas on the patio and again later in my suite was heavenly. Between soaking up all the treats the inn had to offer and enjoying the cool local attractions (check out "The Craggs") - my visit was much too short!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fierceandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Fantastic stay at the Hogs Hollow. The staff are wonderful....very caring with real interest in their guests. The view is amazing and immediately makes you feel like home.....not that home has this view !!! Everything about the HH has been well thought through with the ultimate goal of making the guest experience care free and relaxed. The food is exquisite and the rooms are quite superb. Thank you for such a wonderful stay......the comfort factor of the HH puts a real smile on your face....whilst making you feel you are really special.....thank you....will see you again....

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife (Beccy) and I recently returned from a fabulous holiday in South Africa, where we visited Pretoria, Jo'berg, Cape Town, Hermanus, Franshhoek and I wanted to show the Plettenberg area, but wanted somewhere different to stay.

Hog Hollow was recommended to me by a friend, it is based in The Crags, and area of outstanding beauty based in the Tsitsikamma forest. You really need to read the Hog Hollow website to understand the background of the place and it is truly a unique venue, overlooking forest, whith a main lodge and several different lodges scattered around the site.

We had lodge number 14 and it contained everything we wanted, a decent sized bathroom, a conmfy bed, beautiful view from a gorgeous balcony. Tea and coffee, home-made biscuits and popcorn, not overlooked by anyone. The place wont suit everyone, there's no TV, no room service, but it was ideal for us.

Check in was smooth and we were helped to our room with our bags, then we joined everyone for dinner. Dinner is a social affair with everyone placed around one table, the food was fantastic, the company brilliant, service was superb and the wine divine.

Dinner was mainly a set meal, however the chef was more than happy to alter the menu to accommodate personal taste. The food was that good that we ate there each of the three nights.

The area around Plettenberg has its own micro-climate and the weather in late March was wet and warm and this did not spoil the appeal of the place. From Hog Hollow you can easily visit Plettenburg Bay and the Tsitsikamma forest area. Natures Valley, the most beautiful beach in South Africa is 10 minutes drive away, and there are conservation awareness prohects involving Elephants, Cats, Monkeys and Birds within easy reach, as is the Bramon wine estate.

A great stay, the staff (one and all) were amazing and we felt very at home here!! Hurrah for Hog Hollow!!!

Room Tip: every room has a view!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neill1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed for two nights here on our honeymoon. Whilst the room was nice, we felt it wasnt quite up to the same standard as other places we stayed for the same price. Free bottle of red wine and snacks (popcorn, home-made cookies) were a nice touch.

Group dining was fantastic, food, service and company excellent! Dined there for two nights!

Staff were amazing, went above and beyond to help guests with planning their day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews