We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for a lasting souvenir”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porcupine Ceramics

Porcupine Ceramics
Ranked #8 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
789 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“Best place for a lasting souvenir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Along the tourists tracks there are literally hundreds of places where to buy a souvenir but this one is special. You can walk right into the factory and have a look how the things are really done and if you cannot find anything you like in between all those funny and nice animals and other gadgets that would be sad.

They pack things in a way that they even survice in checked luggage so no need to worry about this and the prices are more than reasonable. There are some more shops in the factory plus some next to it make sure to check out those as well because you get something made in South Africa and not made in China so you also support the local population. Parking space is ample, the shop is big and bright and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Surely worth a stop on your way to or from Birds of Eden or monkeyland.

PS, if you are male, be prepared for at least one hour of serious shopping of your plus 1 ;-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always buy an Animal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had 3 wonderful pieces of Porcupine ceramic that I carefully hand carried back to the USA. Unfortunately due to a massive display shelf accident, all my Porcupine animals were broken. I returned this year and promptly replaced what I had lost (the glazes will vary) and added 2 more animals. I find them enchanting. Very friendly and helpful people and they will wrap and ship anywhere.
There are private artists who work in the back and they are often more than willing to show children how the animals are made while you shop in peace. We returned after 10 days in Addo to pick up the pieces that the artist "Donald" had so considerately fired for my grandchildren. Really nice!

Give the rest of the shops in "The Mill" a good look as well. There is a complete collection of Intshiba tableware and it is just brilliant design's of township life. Be aware that in Cape Town there are Intshiba knock-offs that spell the name by dropping off a single letter. Intshiba is made in Bredasdorp and really is lovely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning selection of pottery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

It may have taken 4 visits to Plettenberg before I finally got round to visiting Porcupine ceramics, but I was very glad when I finally did. I arrived just in time to catch the last firing before Christmas and saw the pieces coming out of the kiln, white hot, before being plunged into sawdust which burst into flames, creating the classic Raku glaze. Fascinating and extremely hot! The showroom is packed with wonderful pieces - from fun rhino money boxes which would make great children's presents, to traditional African items to decorated ceramic sinks for your cloakroom. I bought far too much - the prices were great - but their packaging looked so secure I had no fears about bringing it home in hand luggage.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Unusual Ceramics - excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the second time we have visited Porcupine Ceramics and again were not disappointed by our purchases.

The raku-pit-fired ceramics are orginal and remarkably good value. They employ local staff, who help to produced extremely creative pieces of work.

Oh and don't worry about your purchases breaking, they have very innovative molded packaging that ensures your purchases make it home!!! I am now the proud owner of 6 pieces of work, 2 of which are large, and survived in my checked luggage back to London. They can also ship if you have limited luggage space.

Ask to view the factory if you can, it is really interesting to see the production of the wonderfully creative pieces of work. Porcupine is just a few minutes off the N2 at The Crags (take the signpost for Monkey World). Really if you want to take a bit of African artwork home, you can't do better than this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

A beautiful array of pottery and hand made artefacts. You can watch the pottery being made! A wonderful choice to suit all people

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcupine Ceramics also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Porcupine Ceramics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing