We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rough around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is difficult to make out. It is more for tourists than locals. Its pretty much someones really nice house transformed in to a lodge. We stayed in the master suite and our door was adjacent to a toilet. The design isn't too great so you may as well be sleeping in the dining hall because you can hear everything. It seems understaffed as the whole place is crawling with creepy crwleys (including a spider the emerged from our bed upon our arival). It has a lot of potential and we felt as if it could be a lot more than what it was. An example is the fact that the whole building is mostly constructed out of glass to make you feel like you are in the forest, but the windows are dirty. Little niggles like this pushed us to ending our stay early. Otherwise, the food was great and the staff are very tentative and friendly toward the guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lionela527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanarina, Owner at Trogon House and Forest Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dearest lionela527,

Thank you for your recent Trogon House & Forest Spa review.

I’m sadden to read of your concerns and issues. When I asked if everything was OK before you left you assured me that all was great and that you were sorry your stay was being cut short.

Due to our forest location we do tend to get a few moths, beetles and the occasional other creepy-crawly that make their way into the buildings.
Please be assured that my efficient staff work tirelessly to ensure our beautiful lodge is always superbly clean and we apologies profusely that you encountered some of these forest inhabitants during your 24 hour stay with us. If we had been made aware of the issue I promise we would have reacted immediately to resolve this and make you feel more comfortable. Same goes for the spider on your bed, my apologies, with thatched roofs this too can happen and again I refer to our location but we are always willing to aid by removing such unwanted visitors.

As for the windows, again my apologies that you thought they were unnecessarily dirty. Due to their position, overhanging the forest edge, they are not the easiest to get to which is why they are not cleaned on a daily basis but I will ensure that we do so more often as to not offend anyone.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food from my Chef Liezel and found both Herrie & Bruce attentive and friendly – they are a great team and I’m blessed to have them. With this said, I would love to invite you back to truly experience Trogon House & Forest Spa so that we can make up for any short comings and reveal to you that we aren’t really that rough around the edges.

I hope the rest of your travels have been safe and successful and that you enjoyed your stay in Plett with your friends.

Kindest Regards
Nicci Brand - Proprietor - Trogon House and Forest Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    73
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
219
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

With friendly staff, peaceful environment and just plain beautiful. Trogon House is a must for any traveller or honeymooners who seeks privacy.

Surrounding nature reserves offers affordable and fun activities for the whole family.

The forest spa is relaxing and excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alien8tive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were made to feel special here, and if you are after some private time we really recommend staying at Trogon. You will be feed like a king here and the staff are lovely. The swimming pool is nice and the spa is a must.
It's in the best location to enjoy places like Monkeyland and the Cheetah walks at Tenikwa.
Try to get here before dark to enjoy it the most, the driveway is not the best to drive along if you don't know it in the dark, you are in the forest.
The rooms are luxury, and we especially loved the amount of glass used in case a bush baby wanted to come and spy on us.
Loved it here and will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had high expectations of this guest house and it delivered. Our rooms were quiet and away from the main areas and easy to access for my elderly mum. The main areas were amazing - pool and restaurant. Nicci was the perfect host and all the staff for that matter were professional and friendly. Breakfast was generous with a lovely fruit salad, yoghurt and honey to start and then cooked breakfast to follow. We wound down completely here. Close to lots of attractions too. Only bit of feedback would be to put a price list at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Trogon House and Forest SPA is a Unique Hotel completely built on the trees with a nice view in the Forest. There is a lovely Pool and the interior is an amazing. The owner and the staff are extremely Kind and helpful. Despite being a Little away from the City and all Kinds of Shop they succeed in making guests very happy. Apart from the view from the room into the Forest you can here all kind of birds, frogs and animals. It is really a unique boutique hotel in a very special setting. The only difficult thing is the road to this beautiful place. It is advisable to Drive very slowely and in the 1 gear unless you have an offroad car with 4 weel drive. Especially if it is raining a lot it can be an adventure to drive to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anschwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I have been in a variety of resorts in SAf, EU, US. Trogon House is very special. It really is unique.

It is Carved out of or into the Tsitsikama forest. Mainly Full length glass walls and roofs, means you sleep in a forest, you shower against the forest, and if you wish, you have wooden screens for privacy. The furnishing of each room, the generous lounges, is ancient African or Asian, old elaborately carved wooden beds, tables. Chairs, pots, vases, carpets, wall hangings. Then there are Grand stone fireplaces, huge comfortable couches.

Eating outside at the pool looking into the forest is blissful. We enjoyed the sauna/whirlpool spa.....great as the sun sets. Nicci who has taken over from her sister Shannon is delightful and most helpful, as are her staff. This is five star luxury but in an isolated silent forest. That's what is so unique.

Two tips: driving up the challenging sand road, don't slow down alongside the monkey reserve fence. Lock your doors! There are long armed monkeys able to open car doors, run alongside you and steal. They are former Singapore monkey thieves.

Go to 'Enrico's' for a sunset supper. The fish is personally caught fresh every day. Red Roman was my partner's best fish meal in over a decade!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent 3 days of our honeymoon at Trogon House. What an amazing experience! The house is built in the forest and very stylishly decorated. We stayed in the Master suite in the main villa. (There is one guest room in this villa. The other villa, which is a replica, has 3 guest rooms. The two villas are separated by a 50m long boardwalk). The room was luxurious, a great size, and for once, exactly like the pictures on the website, and the bed was comfortable There are blinds on the pool-side of the room, which you can close for privacy, if other people are out on the deck, while all of the other windows look out directly to the forest (no blinds). We had breakfast and dinner out on the deck, with a fantastic view over the forest. The staff looked after us very well and were very friendly, and helped with our luggage which we really appreciated. We had massages and the spa experience in the forest spa (which had a hot-tub and sauna) with champagne and a lunch platter, which we would highly recommend. If you are looking for privacy and a stay in a high quality getaway, then this place is for you.

If I had to point out some negatives: The 1km gravel road from Monkeyland to the entrance is highly rutted and in some serious need of work.
No safe in the room.
While we had no incidents on our trip, we did wonder about security. While it is great to have the privacy, when the staff leave for the evening, you are alone in the lodge as there are no other guest rooms in the main lodge, and as the house is in the forest, naturally it is not gated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
13.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon House and Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon House and Forest Spa

Property: Trogon House and Forest Spa
Address: Monkeyland Road/Animal Alley | PO Box 110, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trogon House and Forest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trogon House & Forest Spa offers exquisite luxury, suspended in the tree tops of a forest reserve that stretches untamed along the Tsitsikamma mountains and beyond. Elevated into the tree tops, the lodges embrace the forest with see-through glass walls and sky-lit roofs, creating a true "nature forest" experience. What really sets Trogon House apart, is the absolute privacy and exclusivity in the midst of nature's pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trogon House and Forest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon House And Forest Hotel The Crags
Trogon House And Forest Spa South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing