We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Nearby Hotels
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$697
$626
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$86
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$109
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$315
$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$56
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
$327
$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
226
80
18
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
80
18
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suitebumpy roadknysna louriejacuzzi and saunaroad leadingglass windowsstaff went out of their wayhire carmonkey landunderfloor heatingour honeymoonno credit cardsmagical placeamazing settingpool deckopen planlittle piece of heaven
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 337 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of our guests from Germany.
Patrick & Melani stayed 3 nights at this B&B.
It was their first time in SA.
They were only able to stay for 10 days in SA. Saw Hluhluwe,
Cape Town amongst others.
Their "absolute HIGHLIGHT" was Trogon House.
They loved every minute there, as well as "Katja's" great food.
Thank you to all, for making their first time experience in SA,
a memorable one....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When you take the turn off at Monkeyland and onto a two track road, it seems unlikely that you are heading to a luxury guest house. But the dodgy drive is well worth it. What awaits you is a series of wood, glass and stone buildings that are interconnected by boardwalks. The main house is my boyfriend and my idea of perfection. The rooms are even better than in the pictures. We enjoyed relaxing on the terrace in the comfy lounge chairs, while reading our books and sipping drinks. I slept like a baby in the big, comfy bed and enjoyed lighting the candelabra in the room.
Having dinner at the guest house is an absolute must! (Even if the road doesn’t deter you from going out.) Sebastian prepared “out of this world amazing” meals for us both nights of our stay. For R 250 per person we were served a starter, main dish, and dessert. The dining room was incredibly romantic. All of the tables were set with white table cloths, giant candelabras, and positioned to face a roaring fire.
Thank you Shannon, Sebastian, Maui and the rest of the team for making us feel like part of the family. We will definitely be back to see you... and bring friends along!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brussel_Sprout81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the entire property to ourselves and loved being tucked away in the forest. There are many glass 'walls' or windows and although you're deep in the woods it may not be for you if that thought is unsettling. We found it incredibly romantic ... not for those looking to have plenty of staff attention but extremely private ... thumbs up ... this one is for the adventurous traveller

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an amazing time we had celebrating our honeymoon. The service was excellent, the "family" are very hospitable and friendly. One is truly made to feel very welcome and at home from the time you arrive. Affordable priced and definately a trip we will take again. The view of the forest and mountains certainly helps you to feel like you have been cut off from the hustle of everyday life. fantastic foodn should also be mentioned. Def gets our thumbs up and is highly recommendable :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry-Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hidden in amongst the treeline of the Tsitsikamma Forest is the most beautiful Boutique Guest House along the Garden Route...Trogon House & Forest Spa.

There is honestly something so magical about waking up in the morning, peaking just above the trees whilst the mist lifts and listening to the forest birds and monkey's starting their day.

The property itself is built from stone, glass and wood and has the most incredible but unobtrusive feeling. The suites are all individual and uniquely furnished with pure privacy from the surround foliage of the forest. We were only fortunate enough to spend one night there but it made a lasting impression.

The staff are friendly and efficient while the management couple are accommodating and charming…nothing is every too much for any of them to attend to. The perfect paradise; home away from home, in a breath-taking and magical forest environment!!!

Thank you to Shannon, Sebastien and your team for making us part of your family…we cannot wait to return to the tranquillity that is Trogon House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and the SPA is sublime!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews