We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dream Home... but Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Dream Home... but Better”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When you take the turn off at Monkeyland and onto a two track road, it seems unlikely that you are heading to a luxury guest house. But the dodgy drive is well worth it. What awaits you is a series of wood, glass and stone buildings that are interconnected by boardwalks. The main house is my boyfriend and my idea of perfection. The rooms are even better than in the pictures. We enjoyed relaxing on the terrace in the comfy lounge chairs, while reading our books and sipping drinks. I slept like a baby in the big, comfy bed and enjoyed lighting the candelabra in the room.
Having dinner at the guest house is an absolute must! (Even if the road doesn’t deter you from going out.) Sebastian prepared “out of this world amazing” meals for us both nights of our stay. For R 250 per person we were served a starter, main dish, and dessert. The dining room was incredibly romantic. All of the tables were set with white table cloths, giant candelabras, and positioned to face a roaring fire.
Thank you Shannon, Sebastian, Maui and the rest of the team for making us feel like part of the family. We will definitely be back to see you... and bring friends along!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brussel_Sprout81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    74
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
221
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the entire property to ourselves and loved being tucked away in the forest. There are many glass 'walls' or windows and although you're deep in the woods it may not be for you if that thought is unsettling. We found it incredibly romantic ... not for those looking to have plenty of staff attention but extremely private ... thumbs up ... this one is for the adventurous traveller

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an amazing time we had celebrating our honeymoon. The service was excellent, the "family" are very hospitable and friendly. One is truly made to feel very welcome and at home from the time you arrive. Affordable priced and definately a trip we will take again. The view of the forest and mountains certainly helps you to feel like you have been cut off from the hustle of everyday life. fantastic foodn should also be mentioned. Def gets our thumbs up and is highly recommendable :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry-Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hidden in amongst the treeline of the Tsitsikamma Forest is the most beautiful Boutique Guest House along the Garden Route...Trogon House & Forest Spa.

There is honestly something so magical about waking up in the morning, peaking just above the trees whilst the mist lifts and listening to the forest birds and monkey's starting their day.

The property itself is built from stone, glass and wood and has the most incredible but unobtrusive feeling. The suites are all individual and uniquely furnished with pure privacy from the surround foliage of the forest. We were only fortunate enough to spend one night there but it made a lasting impression.

The staff are friendly and efficient while the management couple are accommodating and charming…nothing is every too much for any of them to attend to. The perfect paradise; home away from home, in a breath-taking and magical forest environment!!!

Thank you to Shannon, Sebastien and your team for making us part of your family…we cannot wait to return to the tranquillity that is Trogon House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and the SPA is sublime!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

In an area that, for a South African,does not offer real value for money (read way over-priced), this was a loverly surprise. Hard to find the entrance wedged in between two tourist attractions, we came apon this oasis in the forest.

I have this 'thing' about styling.... there is much talk about styling for the "African" market, or rather the tourist in "Africa". The result is usually a hodge-ponge of so called artifacts that have usually been made in the local market. Rarly do you find the genuine artical, properly styled and and put there for the enjoyment of the guests

The rooms are just joyous. Set in the forest on stilts you are right there in the forest sharing it with the monkeys and the most beatiful array of birds... right there

This was an unexpected delight. The forest a feast for the soul.... tha African art a feast for the eyes.... the styling just right. Except perhaps for those perspex tables....... Well you cannot get it all right I suppose.

If you are in the area dont miss it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Trogon House for 4 fantastic nights during August of this year.

We where welcomed by Shannon and her super team, who made us feel very welcome and catered for our every need. The accomodation was superb and the food scrumptious!

Would definitely recommend Trogon house to all friends and family, and will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddictofAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wilma, Harry and Bruce made our stay more special every day. Wilma (manager) took exceptional care of us. Her cooking was amazing, everyday our breakfast and dinners left us feeling as if we just ate from a 5 star restaurant. Our accommodation was so beautiful and peaceful. Trogon house is a gold mine! What a wonderful team!! Thank you for making our 2 weeks so special.

Room Tip: classic suite beautiful views and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigorescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narinabird, Manager at Trogon House and Forest Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive response. It was our pleasure to be of service to both of you. As a management team we strive to provide our guests with a unique and pleasurable stay and when this is realised, we have a great sense of satisfaction.
Trogon House looks forward to your next visit in paradise.
Warm regards,
Wilma, Harry, Bruce and Geisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
13.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon House and Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon House and Forest Spa

Property: Trogon House and Forest Spa
Address: Monkeyland Road/Animal Alley | PO Box 110, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trogon House and Forest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trogon House & Forest Spa offers exquisite luxury, suspended in the tree tops of a forest reserve that stretches untamed along the Tsitsikamma mountains and beyond. Elevated into the tree tops, the lodges embrace the forest with see-through glass walls and sky-lit roofs, creating a true "nature forest" experience. What really sets Trogon House apart, is the absolute privacy and exclusivity in the midst of nature's pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trogon House and Forest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon House And Forest Hotel The Crags
Trogon House And Forest Spa South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing