We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cheetahs and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.79*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre offers your guests the opportunity for a close, safe, inter-active encounter with all of the lesser cats of South Africa, as well as Cheetah and Leopard. We guarantee sightings of African Wild Cat, Blackfooted Cat, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah and Leopard. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cheetahs and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Although the weather was a bit damp, it did not take away from the wonderful experience of walking these gorgeous creatures. A nice touch is the wine and light snacks served at the end of the walk. A very nice experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    213
    48
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, but good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We paid 690 rand for the wildcat tour to view the different cats at the sanctuary. You do not get to interact with any of the cats and the tour is quite quick and overpriced in my view but we also did the cheetah walk which was amazing. I would recommend doing the cheetah walk and not the wildcat tour. I did not see any mistreatment of animals however it was kind of upsetting seeing how agitated the leopard became when he was trying to eat but people were all standing around watching.

Helpful?
Thank Jmarisa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your visit to Tenikwa. Just to clarify, the R690 program that you chose was a Cheetah Walk Combo, the cost of which was broken down into R590 for the Cheetah Walk and R100 discounted rate for the Wild Cat Experience, in total a 3 hour program which included refreshments and a light snack. Whilst we do allow interaction with the cheetahs on the walk, we have a no touch policy on the Wild Cat Experience because of it being a group tour and the average time that you spend with each species during the tour would make it unfair to the animals to be subjected to continuous public contact in that kind of volume right throughout the day. This in contrast to the 90 minutes or so that you spend with the cheetahs during the walk. I would urge all prospective guests looking at doing the Cheetah Walk, to rather pay the small amount extra and do the Cheetah Walk Combo as this gives you the opportunity to learn about the other South African cat species that we have and are so seldom seen, and learn more about the rehabilitation work that we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, exciting and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went for the Cheetah walk and photo tour. Did not disappoint. Walking with these beautiful creatures is truly amazing. On the photo tour we entered the enclosures except for the leopard. Up close and personal. These folks are doing fantastic work with these animals. Guides and staff super friendly. This one should not be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemead, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I chose to spend my 50th birthday this Saturday past at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre with my partner. We had an absolutely wonderful and enriching experience, and were treated (and fed!) like royalty by the brilliant people we came into contact with. The animals were such excellent ambassadors for their species, and although I came primarily to see the cats, I even learned to look at baboons with new vision, fear them less and understand and respect them more - difficult for a Capetonian to do! Visiting the hospital and its patients and caretakers showed me what is happening behind the glamour and beauty of the cheetahs - creatures are being helped and rehabilitated. Thanks to the people at Tenikwa, I also have a renewed faith and hope in humanity, knowing that there are some who want to, and do, make a difference to the world. Thanks again to absolutely everybody there everybody for a really great day!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We walked the cheetahs here in the evening and I can highly recommend it. Unfortunately the tour pre-ceeding that had rude customers. I have no idea how our guide kept his patience! Everything they were asked and instructed not to do they did and they were very lucky they werent injured!

The tour itself and the guide were brilliant. Very informative and funny to go with it! After we returned we went out with others to walk the Cheetahs. There are no words describing the feeling of this -doing is believing! We also did the shark and crocodile diving in Sth Africa and this is the one memory that will live with me from South Africa.

Great guides, such fun and humour but you always knew they were watching everything at the same time. We got tons and tons of pics here.

This I cannot recommend enough - FYI Booking is essential!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sksligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing