We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cats Steal the Show!”

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.91*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre offers your guests the opportunity for a close, safe, inter-active encounter with all of the lesser cats of South Africa, as well as Cheetah and Leopard. We guarantee sightings of African Wild Cat, Blackfooted Cat, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah and Leopard. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Cats Steal the Show!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Tenikwa about three or four years ago and unfortunately we had a very uptight lady guide who obviously loved the cats but didn’t like the people too much. My husband who also loves the cats was so taken with the cats that he stepped on a twig which made just a slight noise and he was told to look where he was going as snapping twigs and walking too close to the grass etc might scare the cats. Needless to say we were then more concerned to look down and make sure that we didn’t cause any trouble so for us the experience was not such a good one on that occasion. A week ago we decided to give the place another chance and this time we had a male guide. He was informative with a good sense of humour and told us much more than the previous guide. We had such a good time – we were told not to approach the cats unless they approach us, and lo and behold, the serval came right up to my husband and rubbed himself around his legs. My husband reciprocated and scratched behind his ears which resulted in loud purring – it was just so special. We were lucky to see the leopard sunning himself and then perking up his ears as he heard food coming to the next enclosure – of course he then went off and waited for his food. By this time our tour was finished and as we came out of the restaurant we saw him eating – we walked just a tad closer and was then asked quite rudely by another female guide where our guide was. I told her our tour was finished and we were just having another look – the leopard’s cage is about 50 m from the restaurant and she said we were not allowed to look without a guide! For those who have read my reviews elsewhere on tripadvisor – I do not appreciate rudeness and it was just a pity that an otherwise perfect visit had to end like this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tibby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for a candid and fair review of your experiences at Tenikwa. Irrespective of our rules and focus on safety of our guests, there is no excuse for rudeness, and the circumstances of your experience have been discussed with all our guides. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,052
    221
    50
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute Wild Cat Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a special place - we were fortunate enough to arrive in the later afternoon so all the cats were awake and active and even more fortunate to have a private tour - sometimes in life your timing is superb!

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, our guide was knowledgable and so passionate about all the animals there even the funny looking Marabou Storks, she was charming and her energy was infectious.

The highlight for us was the time in the cheetah enclosure. There is no touching on this tour but just being in the presence of such energetic wild cats was so memorable for us. We did leave thinking about experiencing the Cheetah walk?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Forget the animals - the people working here are so friendly and they care so much about their work and animals! The program was great! There were all kinds of cats except lion, and we were allowed into most cages. There were also other interesting animals. We also did the cheetah walk and got great pictures, a great experience. There is love all around this park, really recommend going!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing chance to walk with cheetahs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

As a family of four we booked in for the wild cat tour of the cages followed by the Cheetah WalK at it was an experience of a lifetime. Our guide Joe gave us loads of information about the cheetahs and we walked for about an hour with them. It was one of the highlights of our South African trip. Afterwards we had drinks and nibbles hosted by Chantal who was lovely and chatted with us until we were ready to leave. If you do one thing in S.A make sure its visiting Tenikwa and help raise awareness for these amazing animals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramblewood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing to see the cats up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great place to see the cats that are hard to see in the wild. The Caracal, Cheetah and Leopard were my favorite, and you can get great close up pictures of them.

Just did the normal tour which was very informative, and at the end we got to go inside one of the cheetah enclosures for a great photo-op with a cheetah chilling out on his elevated platform lookout.

Also don't forget the african wild cat - loved its beautiful colors, especially the ears.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ShazUCLA, I am so glad that you mentioned the African Wild Cat in your review. The big cats are spectacular yes, but it is the little ones, the lesser cats, that are equally as important in a healthy ecosystem and these are the cats who live on our suburban edges and farms so there is still time to secure their future in the wild in South Africa. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing