We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
67
41
15
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
41
15
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse set menupuddingsmall riversmall fridgecodsuperb locationmain coursean enjoyable stayon arrivalcooked to perfectioncomfortable roomnight's sleepcar parkcooked breakfaststarterssuitepub
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

The anchor is well known of serving meals at a very high standard. I have been several times and every fork full made my tastebuds jump with excitement. The flavours OMG, heavenly.

The anchor is situated right by the river with a beautiful view across the Isle-of-ELY countryside.

The service in general is efficient, but reception has been known to be a tad murres have on occasions, by one particular person. It is a great restaurant, b&b , pub or just a great place to be.

Slightly off the beaten track in a place called Sutton Gault, but well worth a vist

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank chumm94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Rack rates appear high but there are deals to be done! -ours for D,BnB via Travelzoo.
We were lucky to be allocated one of the 2 suites (4 rms total). Decor and fittings getting a bit 'long in the tooth' but functional and comfortable (1960s? bidets, etc). We didn't meet our owner chef but he knows how to cook and bot dinner and breakfast were excellent.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Not far from Ely, in the fens, we had lunch in their garden after visiting Ely. We think the best were their desserts; try their panacotta or their crumble. Reasonably priced but a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

The Anchor, Sutton Gault, is by far the best restaurant in the area and indeed, Cambridgeshire. The food is sublime and beautifully presented, - nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Although quite pricey, if you want a special meal to remember, then book here!

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight and were amazed at the thoughtful extras - beyond the imaginative menu, warm welcome and peaceful location. A fridge in the room to keep the fresh milk and bottles of water cool; an electric fan to keep you cool; 3D enabled TV with glasses at the ready, comfortable chairs; and wonderful to find not just a teapot but also a cafetière! There were plenty of power points too for phone chargers and free wifi. Breakfast was excellent. An absolute treat!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank SusanRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews