We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out at Aquazone”
Review of AquaZone

AquaZone
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.31*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: AquaZone, at the National Aquatic Centre, is one of the most innovative water parks in Europe. A whole host of exciting features ensures that there is lots of family fun, thrills - and something for everyone. If you crave extreme thrills, raging water adventures, flying through the air, or just an enjoyable day with your family, AquaZone at the National Aquatic Centre has Europe's biggest and best water rides and attractions waiting for you !!
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Day out at Aquazone”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went on Easter day to Blanchardstown for night stay and to bring kids somewhere. We get Hotel deal in Crowne Plaza and tickets for one attraction. We choose Aquazone due to bad weather. Kids had great time and we had relaxing few hours. Place is plain comparing to others for this price. If you go for swimming only it is ok but if you expect more fun for kids,then pools only,then you be disappointed as there is only one pool ( the one with weaves but kids find it very long to wait for them),one baby pool with pirate ship for really young kids,lazy river which is the best thing there but no rings you must swim in it,three slides very high and long and surf pool which is great fun. My son found slides too high and refuse to go in them. I went to Dark hole and regret it so be aware if your kid is not comfy doing them better give this one miss as even I get little claustrophobic in this one. Other two are fine. All in all not bad to go for few hours for swim and relax as most of time you can see kids as there is not much for them to go. Place is in good condition,big family dryers great,price so so and bodyguards are everywhere and watching all the time(I nearly wanted to say give me break I watch my kids well:)) as sometimes you fell they are staring at you) but that good as still there is some deep ends. All in all not bad day out,specially for kids and that what matters to me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank deluxe-eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    24
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very expensive two hours”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A pricey 70euro for a family of 2 adults and 4 kids. Kids enjoyed the slides and day out, but definitely had enough after a two hour stay. You need to watch your children, as we found the lifeguards not that attentive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's good but could be much better! or am I missing something......”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went again for a day out in and kids love the Aquazone, and it was good to see some of the equipment in operation again. It's disappointing that there isn't access to sauna, jacuzzi for adults, seems a mean considering the over 50 euro price we paid to get in. We visit at least 2-3 a year to the aquazone, and the price always is disappointing on entrance. Considering the annual membership, it probably would be cheaper for us to become members.

Our kids go to the centre each week for swimming lessons and constantly complain about the temperature of the pool. Interesting that the kids think the temperature in the aquazone is fine, but in the sports pool is always, always freezing.

This is 180 per year for three kids, so with the 160 visits we do, we are nearly there to annual membership. Unfortunately our kids reported the attitude of the swim instructors could be improved. Apparently they are aggressive to the kids, in some cases using bad language, it's not what we expected and have asked the kids to discuss with their teachers to sort it out.

We are members of a local gym and keep thinking of changing over to NAC, but constantly have reservations about it. It would be great to be convinced is it a good place and safe place for family membership? The website is a bit dated in style, and doesn't really communicate what a good resource the centre is. For something which has "National" in front of it's name, it seems it could do much better in marketing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mebo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fun”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the national Aquatic Centre. Yes its expensive & certainly if you have a few kids, but we spent nearly 4 hours there. The pirate ship is great for small kids, you do need to be very vigilant as it does get busy. My son (and I) adored the slides.
I would strongly recommend swim socks, when it gets busy the ground does get grotty, especially the stairs to the slides.
The changing areas are clean, however the showers are dreadful, zero pressure! But that’s really only a problem if washing long hair.
We didn’t eat in the café but the food looked good.
The staff are very nice, and the life guards are plentiful, some are more vigilant than others!
But use your head it’s a swimming pool so don’t take your eyes off your kids for a second.
We are going back next weekend and I can’t wait !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs a good clean!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

was there on Sunday, to expensive, water freezing . toilets and changing area very clean - but the pool could do with a good power washing - tiles and walls very dirty not a nice sight!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemcc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AquaZone also viewed

 
Ashbourne, County Meath
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to AquaZone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing