We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for breakfast”
Review of King of Soy Milk

King of Soy Milk
Ranked #2 of 16 Quick Bites in Da'an
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 27, 2019

We stayed in a nearby hotel and this shop is within 10mins walk so we decide to come here for breakfast. It was quite a lot of people but we still able to get our seats. Bilingual menu is available. We had the 1 hot soy milk, 1 cold soy milk and 1 hot mixed (soy milk + rice peanut milk). Plus radish cake, small dumpling and breadstick + egg pancake. The breadstick + egg pancake are very yummy while the small dumping is luke warm. All the drinks are great. One downside is the seatings are just next to the road and it quite windy all the time.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lunasolhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2019

Best egg roll, Fried dough (You Tiao) and silken soya milk ever! There are lacto-ovo vegetarian options available in the store. Don't be intimidated by the long q as the q moves fast.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Staris_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Most important thing about food is being tasty ... and this place offers alot of tasty food and soy milk is a must , had it with egg pancake which was very delicious.. food is made by great people

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 281fadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

I lived in Taipei for a year and I've just come home and now all I can think about is why didn't I get Taiwanese breakfast more often? This place is delicious and cheap. You must go. Go early, because there will be a line. Soy milk is so good, doesn't taste like anything you've ever had if you're North American. My favourite is the egg crepe things. Throw some hot sauce on there and OMG best breakfast ever. The sandwich thing with egg inside is good too!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CompletelyChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Hello fellow foodies tourists, don't get confused over which Yonghe/ Yong He Dou Jiang (永和豆漿 / 永和豆浆) outlet to visit. This is the correct one. No, not the ones at Zhongxiao Fuxing, Zhongxiao Dunhua, nor Shaoxing Zhongzheng, nor the one at the most popular night street Ximending... this outlet is where you're going to get the truly authentic and legendary crispy youtiao (油條 / 油条) and the really delicious savory doujiang (豆浆) you never believed was possible and have been craving to try.

Ok it's corny but... the words, "Big King" (大王) at the end of its Mandarin name --- 永和豆漿大王 or "Yong He Dou Jiang Da Wang" does seem to be the one way you can differentiate it from the other merely 永和豆漿 (without the 大王) outlets. Also, it is a spacious corner unit that's along the main road of Fuxing South Road, Section 2, not in a small alley, so you should be able to spot it easily if you're arriving by taxi.

Order these delicious and popular favourites:
1. You tiao wrapped in fried egg, dough and pork floss (燒餅油條/烧饼油条夹蛋)
2. Salty soy milk with egg and you tiao (咸豆浆加蛋/鹹豆漿加蛋)
FYI, the salty soy milk should already come with the you tiao soaked in it. The soy milk magically (ok, more like chemically) curds up once it reacts with the egg and transforms into an awesomely smooth texture that you've got to try it to know what I'm talking about.

Last tip: You should definitely plan to visit in the morning of winter. We arrived at around 9am in January and it was perfect - cold weather, freshly fried crispy youtiaos, piping hot savory soy milk bean curd soups, ample seats for everyone. Sweet reward for arriving early.

Date of visit: January 2018
4  Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed King of Soy Milk also viewed

 
Zhongzheng District, Taipei
 

Been to King of Soy Milk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.