We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Restaurant
      Taipei Boutique Home(Xinyi District)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Fitness center
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Unic(Da'an)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
        Reviews (1,700)
        Filter reviews
        1,700 results
        Traveler rating
        1,175
        402
        86
        22
        15
        Traveler type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        1,175
        402
        86
        22
        15
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsrooftop poolhorizon clubmarco poloshang palacehorizon floorwalk in closethealth clubshopping mallfood courtgrand hyattconcierge staffexecutive roombusiness tripbreakfast buffetnight marketexcellent hotelhigh floor
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        745 - 750 of 1,700 reviews
        Reviewed May 6, 2014

        We had an exceptional 4 -day stay over the Easter Weekend on one of the Horizon Floors. Our room was very spacious on the 37th floor with a view of 101.
        The couches in the room were comfortable as was the desk for work. We like the separate area for the luggages. The bathroom area was well anointed with a TV by the washbasin.

        Service was excellent on the Horizon Lounge at breakfast and at tea time ( happy hour). There was a sense of exclusiveness with privacy. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous without having to order additional from the wide choices of main courses. Plenty of food selection during happy hour, and that alone could well be a meal. We had room services twice and had late dinner at Lei Bao Lounge which was very pleasant. The Japanese restaurant was a disappointment; the chirashi was not up to standard.

        What makes Shangri- La hotel an ideal hotel to stay, whenever in the world is their overall service attitude and their deep understanding of how to cater to clients from especially Asia. The culture of understanding the importance of serving hot tea is one example. Nothing is taken for granted. For instance, my wife left a small purchase ( bees wax) in the refrigerator in the room. We did not realise it until at the airport. On arriving home, I e- mailed the hotel and we received the next day a most courteous reply from Katrina Wang, Housekeeping Secretary, who was profusely apologetic as the item was discarded after we left. She however, was most obliged to replace it for us and even took the trouble of sending it to our home in Hong Kong. This is service par excellence.

        We will no doubt return here and my recommendation is to stay on the Horizon Floor. The extra cost is money well spent.

        Room Tip: Horizon Floor
        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Edmund L
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        SLFEPH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

        Dear Edmund L,

        Thank you for such a delightful review! We are thrilled to know that you had a great experience with us during your four day staying and enjoyed so many aspects in our hotel, including our well-appointed rooms, the benefits from the Horizon Club Floor, the delicious food provided in the Horizon Club Lounge, and also had the chances to try our different outlets. Your comments toward the food at ibuki by Takagi Kazuo Japanese Restaurant had already been shared with the concern departments and immediate actions for improvement have been taken place. Last but not the least, we are also honored to know that our team members has dedicated the heart of Shangri-La hospitality to help our guests. We have passed your words to Katrina and she is glad to know she can be of help . Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

        Best Regards,
        Marcel NA Holman
        General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed May 5, 2014

        Great experience throughout my stay at this hotel. Amazing service and facilities. Highly recommend this hotel. The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist. Great choice of restaurants on premise and access to many wonderful places in walking distance.

        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
        Thank Moujan T
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed May 4, 2014

        One of the better hotel that I had stayed in Taipei. The staffs all are well trained and have good knowledge on what the guests expects and are all ready to help and serve.(especially the concierge )
        *Another good thing is you can flush your toilet paper into the bowl and not keeping them aside in a little basket :)


        • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
        Thank cstan2014
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed May 3, 2014

        We had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La in Taipei. Our room was newly refurbished and spacious. The Horizon Lounge is an excellent facility and the lounge staff are attentive and thoughtful. Our overall experience was very good and we would definitely stay there again.

        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
        Thank Dreaming57
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        SLFEPH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

        Dear Dreaming57,

        Thank you for your Excellent review! We love to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms so much, our facilities in the Horizon Club Lounge and our attentive service provided by our team members. We appreciate for your wonderful review and definitely look forward to seeing you again for another great Shangri-La experience.

        Best Regards,
        Marcel Na Holman
        General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed May 1, 2014

        A memorable experience in a very good hotel , excellent facilities , good dining options but most of all first class staff ! Staff are attentive ,informative and so helpful ! When I asked for a box to pack some items as check in luggage , the butler brought the box, packed the items and taped it very well - without my having to ask ! Fantastic ! . My wife asked the concierge Chris for directions to get some snacks and he suggested an alternative - which was far better - and accompanied her to the taxi and gave the driver clear instructions. Service centre staff were polite and able to handle our requests to our satisfaction. Checking in and out was a breeze and most efficient. Staff here work very hard , efficiently , diligently and with a smile - one of the best we have encountered - that alone is enough to make us want to return . The horizon club service is excellent though the food selection at the club room is average. Location is very good and a shopping mall is next to it. Definitely worth another stay !

        Room Tip: The horizon club service is worth the little bit more you pay and views from higher floors are very nice .
        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Sivanesan S
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        SLFEPH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

        Dear Sivanesan S,

        Your review just made our day! We are thrilled to know that our service made a great impression to you. We have shared your review to our team members, especially Chris from Concierge who are honored to be of help during your stay, and for sure this is a great motivation for us to keep up with the best service. Thank you again for your comment, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another First Class Shangri-La experience!

        Best Regards,
        Marcel NA Holman
        General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        View more reviews