We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Nearby Hotels
$155
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KDM Hotel(Da'an)
$72
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$134
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$159
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch(Da'an)(Great Value!)
$65
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Want(Da'an)
$103
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveler rating
1,206
406
87
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
406
87
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolhorizon clubmarco poloshang palacehorizon floorwalk in closethealth clubshopping mallfood courtgrand hyattconcierge staffexecutive roombusiness tripbreakfast buffetnight marketexcellent hotelhigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Top notch service and excellent rooms at this hotel! We stayed four nights and enjoyed our time thoroughly. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and the lobby and rooms were immaculate. Complimentary coffee and tea service is provided in the early morning before the coffee shops open. The hotel is located conveniently close to small restaurants, fast food, a market and several street food vendors, so there is no need to spend a lot of money on the expensive hotel restaurants. This hotel also has an excellent exercise facility and spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the 101 Building!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for couple of nights (2 adults and 2 children). Good, modern hotel (although one starts seeing its age on the edges). At the time of booking we got upgraded to a bigger room which was convenient with two children around. The room was very spacious - living area and sleeping area, walk in wardrobe area and a large bathroom with a view over the city. Highly recommended. The reception staff suggested us Horizon (club) upgrade which added breakfast and gave us access to the club level which in hindsight was a good call. Club room has a relaxed atmosphere, selection of food and drinks provided throughout the day. There is a cocktail hour in the afternoon.

Our children were spoiled by attention - from front desk to Horizon club staff. Personalised cakes, friendly chats, and a lot of attention. Wonderful.

Rooftop swimming pool and a whirlpool is a nice touch. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the city and view from the rooftop is excellent. Swimming pool was great and children enjoyed it a great deal. There is a SPA, but we didn't get an opportunity to use it.

Comparing it to other Shangri-la hotels (HK, Malaysia) this one seems to be a little bit older and a little bit more expensive. Though nothing dramatic, and I would stay again if back to Taipei.

Room Tip: Executive room is excellent - very spacious. Access to Horizon Club is handy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located at the commercial centre of Tai Pei. During the holiday time, not many people on the street. There are quite a number of local and good restaurants nearby.

The staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel room is spacious, clean and nice. My children love the swimming pool on the roof top very much while my mother loves the massage and spa service as well.

If you look for a leisure or business trip, it's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure what room I was staying. It should be Delux I guess. The staff there are helpful and we could check in to our room at 1pm. (it states to be 3pm)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staffs are helpful and friendly during my visit to Taiwan with my families room are spacious,clean, elegant,huge bathroom shower and tub ,full minibar in the room,LCD in the bathroom to watch your favourite TV programe,fruits were in the room lots of varieties for breakfast and nice view on the top floor overlooking the entired Taiwan City inclusive Taipei IOI building as well. Is a nice luxury hotel with a traditional look.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokomitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked a suite on the 28th floor with access to the lounge. The reception, lounge and all hotel staff in general were amazing. Very friendly, very helpful, very polite and very charming!

The hotel staff had an answer and a solution for every question we had. As soon as we arrived, we were invited to take have a sit next to the reception while they prepared our check-in. We were offered tea and one of the very charming reception hostesses came to chat with us. Shortly after, we were wlaked to our suite.

The suite was quite spacious, very clean and very elegant. A huge lounge with view on the city, a very comfortable sleeping chamber, two bathrooms and a small office. All amenities were amazing and were replaced/refreshed everyday. Fresh flowers and fruits in the suite were present during our whole stay.

We had access to a lounge on the 32nd floor with view to Taipei 101. The lounge attendants were very charming and helpful! Cold and hot drinks with different cakes, sweets, sandwiches were offered constantly. World press was also availbale free of charge.

Breakfast was amazing! Every morning different fresh fruit juices, asian and european hot and cold specialities. 15 different types of breads and buns... Everything one could wish for was available.

If you are a luxury traveller, thas is the right place to go...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews