We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastern Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    San Want(Da'an)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (42)
    Filter reviews
    42 results
    Traveler rating
    5
    11
    17
    7
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    5
    11
    17
    7
    2
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    19 - 24 of 42 reviews
    Reviewed November 2, 2009

    This isn't a 5 ***** Hotel - so don't expect things like : Swimming pool , gym , etc ..

    I find the hotel stay for 7 days kinda expensive .. like : SGD $1000+ which I can obviously use it for a better hotel.

    The location is good but not recommended for ladies as there are KTVs .. but the men there don't really disturb you though ..

    Staff were friendly. We asked them for recommendation for places of attraction.

    Well - with that money .. you can obviously use it for a better hotel BUT location-wise - it's brilliant ! 3 minutes to the train .

    • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank cocaman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 26, 2009

    I reserved a Business room at this hotel for a work trip to Taiwan. When I arrived, I was shown to my room and the first thing that I saw was an erotic picture of a scantily-clad couple making out over the bed. Upon closer examination of the room, I found a condom in the nightstand drawer, cigarette burns all over the furniture and carpeting, and permanently stained drink rings on the nightstand tabletops.

    I was offered a different room, which I declined because I was not planning on staying there that night. Realizing that I probably would not be able to find a different hotel that night (it was midnight and I had been traveling for 24 hours), I decided to accept the offer. However, the woman at the front desk who made the offer told me that the other room had just been rented for a half-night.

    I ended up staying in my original room that night and finding another hotel the next day. I did partake in their free breakfast buffet, which was mostly traditional Taiwanese breakfast food.

    I spent a lot of time looking at the website for this hotel (http://www.eaststarhotel.com.tw/) before I made my reservation and thought I had a good idea of what to expect, but the website looks much nicer than the hotel itself.

    • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank LEVARTDLROW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 26, 2008

    Stayed in this hotel for 5 days 4 nights, had promised myself, and calicocat, that i'll share my experience with everyone in Tripadvisor; and here it is.

    Positive about the hotel:
    - Reasonable rate for the rooms based on its location as it is located in the town - Singapore's Orchard Road so to speak. (room rate can be found at their website: http://www.eaststarhotel.com.tw/en/about.html)
    - Within approx 5-15mins walk, one will see 2 Sogo departmental stores
    - Right opp the hotel, is another shopping mall as shown in pic
    - There's convenient stores such as 7-11 and family mart in every near corner; and a Watsons departmental store right under the same building.
    - Approx 5 mins or less to walk to the train station.
    - Just right at the back of the hotel building, there is the Bubble Tea street, with Starbucks coffee a few stores down the road. (approx 2mins walk away)
    - Ding Tai Feng Restaurant just across the street.
    - It's basically a location that is pack with youngsters.
    - Service was good, staffs were very friendly and helpful.
    - Breakfast was not too bad. In fact consider quite good for a budget hotel like such.

    Negative about the hotel:
    - As Calicocat had mentioned to me before that the hotel does not have a lobby, when i arrived, it seemed very much like a dodgy place to "live" in.
    As it is located only the 11th level, (yes this hotel only has 1 level)there are other tenents running their business within the same building - seem like some Karaoke / Movie rental business (Now i understand what Calicocat was trying to explained to me, tks Calicocat.) Every early evening till late at night, there will be at least 3 men sitting or standing by the entrance of the hotel "lobby" (which is the building entrance). They are believed to be the staffs of the other tenents. It can be rather annoying and uncomfortable to have to walk pass them everyday without fail; unless you decided to stay in the room the whole trip; as esp my if you're a female. You've just got to be more alert and careful whenever if goin back to the hotel late.
    BUT then again, to be fair, though the men stood there the whole time, they had never disturb any one of the hotel's guests; not us and a few other guests at least, for what i know.
    - Rooms were rather dusty and small
    - Drinks stains could be found on the dressing table

    Overall, i would say that the stay was ok, may consider going back again.

    • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    3  Thank Elvesb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 19, 2018
    Google Translation

    Room Tip: 窓の無い部屋のほうが静かで、直射日光を受けることが無い
    • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
    Google Translation

    Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews