We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view”
Review of Jump Off Rock

Jump Off Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

we took sandwiches and had a nice family picnic. free. fun photo opportunity, beautiful drive, take a bag if kids get car sick, winding slow travel roads.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best views of the area”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A quick, winding drive up the mountain is so worth it to take in the amazing views of the area. There are no crowds, a few small trails and a 360 degree view, which is breathtaking. Not to mention, the local folklore of the place, which just adds to the experience - legend has it that a young Cherokee Indian maiden jumped to her death from Jump Off Rock, after receiving word that her love had died in battle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great views- free. Very refreshing. You see some very beautiful homes on the way up there. Wouldn't go in bad weather, road very winding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittylatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Anytime but Fall is Breathtaking!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The park is so well kept, so peaceful and quiet. The view is of the mountains is fabulous! We visit this place often, and take ALL of our friends from out of town here! The fall is our favorite time of year with the colors putting on a show for all to see for miles! And...... Many many years ago, this is where I got my first kiss from my husband! This is a special place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
533 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great scenic overlook in Laurel Park”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Drive straight up along 5th Ave (Laurel Park Hwy) to the end and you will be treated with an amazing overlook and some nice little hiking trails. Perfect for a family outing or a romantic picnic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jump Off Rock also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina Mountains, NC
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jump Off Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing