We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WelcomHeritage Taragarh Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centre Point(Dharamsala)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
38
49
36
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
49
36
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingswimming poolwingsheritage hotelbeautiful groundscouple of nightsold stylequiet placeold blocktemple townpiece of landlawn tennisan excellent placememorable stayold world charmkangra valleysnow clad mountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

One of the most peaceful retreats in the country high on history. Rooms are divided in two wings - heritage (deluxe) and new (super deluxe). Heritage rooms are undergoing certain refurbishments. The bar was closed for a short period due to unavoidable reasons but it is fully operational now with its blue chandelier in blue saphire room and the red chandelier in other. The food quality, variety and service is something that will install a feeling of being attached to them! Swimming Pool is impressive. Bonfire in winters with a live musician. Wifi in common area.
Its definitely not the walk-in type hotel where you can expect to be treated with professional check-in services. Rather, its more like a huge private estate where if your booking is pre-reserved then all arrangements will be made to give you a warm welcome. Since its huge, it could be lonely for some. Enjoy sitting in the beautiful front lawn under sunshine and reading an interesting book. But guess thats what the charm is and most travellers are looking for.

Room Tip: Heritage room if you like the high ceilings, hundreds of photographs, old closets and the charm! New wing where the rooms are bigger and nothing extra ordinary about it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpalsindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Welcome was good and hotel ambience was like we are visiting history. Very friendly staff and food was nice. We were given details of the palace and Manager was nice he has taken us around to show the palace. Though our stay was for only 1 night but we enjoyed the royal experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManojChhablani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fortunately our room was in the new part of the place. The old part seemed cold and damp just walking through it. Our main issues were that the bar which was proudly pointed out to us on arrival was never open, there was an insistence that we have the buffet and not choose from the menu. The buffet was barely warm and not very tasty.
The hotel gave us maps supposedly of local paths, but they did not reflect reality.
The insistence on paying by cash not card on checkout totally unacceptable for a supposedly high quality hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylorsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our agent booked us here for 3 nights, which was too long. The hotel management is very lax, and the hotel is gloomy. The "treks" they advertise require walking along a very busy, narrow road. The enormous, empty rooms and dining room added to the wrong choices made by the owners of this hotel. How much nicer it would have been to have had friendly management and a menu that displays food that is actually available!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidAtlanticArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The grandeur of a bygone age. Magnificent setting. Staff stayed up later for our late arrival to ensure that we were served dinner in the dining hall. The rooms could use a facelift especially the mattresses but it was comfortable nonetheless. Wish there was more time to enjoy the palace grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirunaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews