We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the "bollywood khumb mela" experience”
Review of Darang Tea Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darang Tea Estate
Ranked #1 of 18 Kangra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

a sense of deja vu, as soon as we stepped into the darang tea estate we knew we were home, our journey that started out with an almost missed train, the missed train, all the ingredients of a "sholay" packed into an overnight journey from delhi, we stepped into the warmth and friendly atmosphere created by neeru and naveen bhandari. not just neeru and naveen but navin's mother and sister binita made an indelible impression on us,the cynical and worldly mumbaikars.
the circle was completed with the labradors - the irrepressible laila and brandy the pug who exploded into action for late evening snack of biscuits doled out by naveen.
the shopping at macleod gunj - the visit to kangra fort - the breathtaking landscape freshly washed by the monsoon rains.
the evening chat livened up with songs and ghazals the atmosphere enhanced the performance of our own singing duo seema & prabhakar,
the food was awesome, the homemade jams and the desert with farm fresh self picked fruits from the trees in the orchard being the "icing on the cake"
to top it all meeting naveen's extended family made for an unforgettable holiday, so much so that while leaving it felt more like we were not saying goodbye as guests but leaving as members of a family after a short visit - it was a bollywood experience we felt we were family meeting having been separated twenty years ago at th khumb mela,
it even prompted me to do a few pencil sketches after nearly thirty decades,
like the terminator - dear bhandaris - "we shall be back"

Room Tip: take the room in the main cottage corner, the room is smaller but opens into a delightful sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arao2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darangteaestate, Owner at Darang Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Our Dear KUMBH MELA lost family,
thank you ever so much for your very different and interesting review...............and your drawings and articulate views in our guest book!
It will be our pleasure to have you here again,....... we talk about your visit here to each guest !
Benita arrived here today morning and was very touched with your warm words.
Do convey our warm regards to the rest of OUR FAMILY.
WARMLY
Naveen Neeru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

One minute into my first phone call with Mr. Naveen and I had pretty much made up my mind that I would be staying at this place! The Bhandaris are wonderful people, and that makes all the difference to this place... Mr. Naveen was more than willing to help me make my travel plans, considering that this was my first trip to Himachal, and being locals, the Bhandaris know of some absolutely lovely places that you are likely to miss if you stay elsewhere! Unfortunately, I missed meeting Mr. Naveen during my stay, as he was away...
But that was more than made up my Mrs. Neeru - she made sure me and my wife didn't miss our moms :) An amazing cook, she treated us to all kinds of cuisines, right from English to continental to our very own desi food, all the while keeping us great company at the table!
The room was neat and clean - we stayed in the double room, but there are cottages available should you like to visit with family. And last but not the least - the 3 super friendly and playful canines Layla, Brandy and Simba :)
What more can I say - it was the perfect start to our honeymoon, and thanks a bunch to the Bhandaris!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay Krishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darangteaestate, Owner at Darang Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Sandhya and Vijay,
It was delightful having you over........took me back in time when my son and daughter in law came as newly weds!
Wishing you both a blissful life ahead.
Neera Bhandari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A home away from home....its a splendid retreat for all nature lovers. The natural landscape, beauty and warmth of the place topped with excellent hospitality and delectable food, completely rejuvenates one's spirits, compelling one to keep coming back again and again! Easily accessible from any part of the country, it makes a perfect weekend getaway!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darangteaestate, Owner at Darang Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Bindu Rajiv and Priyanka,
It was a joy having you with us.
This being your third trip,makes you family.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I concur with all the points already raised by other reviewers on this forum. This is a home stay experience at its best. Beautiful cottages, exquisite food, lively company. Could not ask for more. Only negative was the weather - we landed there in peak temperatures. Since its a valley, it can be really hot in summers. Check the weather prior to planning ur trip..!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irwinanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

thank you Irwin for taking out the time and writing the review..........wish we could have changed the weather for you!!! himachal this year is 5degrees above normal!
warm regards and all the best to you three.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you have a taste for finer things in life and you love to spend time in peace and tranquility, do spend a night at Darang Tea Estate (DTE) and enjoy amazing home cooked food and a long walk in the estate.

The best part of 'DTE' is that it is not a hotel and they maintain its exclusivity by not commercialising the property and consequently it ensures that your holiday is not being spoiled by noisy next door neighbours or a group of hooligans!!

Food is simply great and I must say Mrs Bhandari is a great cook (one should try scrambled eggs for breakfast and Honey Chilly Cauliflower). Almost all the vegetables are homegrown and 100% natural and prepared with utmost hygiene.

The best part was to chill at night at a tree house (machan) with some music and beers and they help you completely to make it a memorable time!

To avoid hassles and tiring journey, best route to reach Darang tea estate: Delhi-Ambala-Sirhind-Ludhiana-Jalandhar (try food at haveli)- Pathankot-Palampur(Darang)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ArjunGupta0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darangteaestate, Owner at Darang Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay with us and the lovely photographs.
It would be our pleasure to have you here again!
Best regards
Naveen neera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It was our first home-stay experience and one that has converted us completely in favour of it. Neeru & Naveen Bhandari make this a memorable experience as much as the sprawling 150 year old 70 acre sprawling tea garden with little brooks & patches of forests. Their estate is all alive with wide variety of birds, wild hare, a barking deer we spotted right as we turned into their property away from the highway. The cottages are cute and preserved with artefacts, books ranging on all subjects from spirituality to cooking, all trustingly left for their guests to enjoy. When asked, Neeru said they left everything in the cottages as they would when their children, grand-children come for holidays and since their guests were also coming as part of Home-stay why should they change anything.
Food is shared with the couple at their dinning table. The food is enriching and delicious and all organic stuff from their estate. Neeru & Naveen provide perfect company and private space with an elan that is endearing. For those looking for being in a by-gone era with all the finesse and personal care amidst beautiful environment and good view of the Dhauladhar snow peaks, this is surely a good break for your mind, body & soul.

Room Tip: Cottages are good for family. They offer rooms too for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAMINI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Arriving hot and dusty from the overnight train, we were so grateful for the warm and friendly welcome we received at Darang. That first breakfast made us quickly realise that we were somewhere special. Travel brochures often talk about "fresh local produce", but very rarely can they deliver what Neera and Naveeen provide here. Their own milk, butter, cream, jams, juices, fresh fruits, the best scrambled eggs - it just kept coming. Lunches in the open air and suppers round the fire were equally delicious. The care and attention that the Bhandari family give to each and every one of their guests is exceptional and they share their wonderful home with people in a very generous and genuine way. This is a very beautiful place to stay - on a clear day the Himalayas really are at the bottom of the garden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvbhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darangteaestate, Owner at Darang Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thank you ever so much for your review .
It was a pleasure having you with us,sharing our home with you,and most of all the lovely chats in front of the log fire.
Thank you for sharing your family recipes with me.
best wishes
Naveen. Neera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
8.2 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 85 in Dharamsala
149 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rakkh Resort
Rakkh Resort
#4 of 85 in Dharamsala
85 reviews
10.2 mi away
Angel's Inn Resort
Angel's Inn Resort
#3 of 7 in Kangra
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Norwood Green
Norwood Green
#2 of 26 in Palampur
131 reviews
10.9 mi away
WelcomHeritage Taragarh Palace Hotel
23.8 mi away
Dee Jay By One Earth
Dee Jay By One Earth
#2 of 18 in Kangra
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darang Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darang Tea Estate

Address: V.P.O. Darang, Kangra 170 060, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Kangra
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darang Tea Estate is a family owned Estate which is over 150 years old and one of the first plantations to be planted by an Indian. A self-contained estate in the beautiful pristine hills of Himachal Pradesh. It consists of cottages framed by 70 acres of estate-owned land. The Estate is just 45 minutes drive from Mcleodgang and 20 minutes fromPalampur. The cottages have a direct view of the snow covered himalayas. Our homestay is featured in on Conde Nast Traveller :-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darang Tea Estate Kangra, Himachal Pradesh, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing