We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveler rating
644
710
170
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
710
170
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge spg member rooftop pool pizza pub health club shandao temple station business trip premier room concierge desk breakfast buffet is train station an upgrade fitness center upgraded to a suite rooms are comfortable blue line separate shower
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed for 6 nights in early Oct 09. Upgraded to a premier room on executive club floor, which included breakfast, internet, laundry worth TWD500 per day and use of the club. The charge was almost 40% above the rate of the same room on a non-executive club floor.

The best feature of the hotel is the location - old part of town and access to a subway station on the doorstep. The room and amenities are good but not quite 5-star. The executive club on 17th floor is very good with nice facilities and friendly staff. The breakfast selection is OK but there is limited range of nibbles during the day. Food and drinks in the evenings are very good to the point of a filling meal.

Room service was good as we ordered on a few occasions and the Japanese restaurant was excellent.

Front desk & concierge can be variable with some staff not helpful with suggestions for restaurants, transportation to sights and attractions. We would stop asking them for help but use the staff in the executive club instead - lucky we had the option.

On check out, it was unfortunate that they tried to charge us for breakfast and laundry which was included. They gave a few different reasons as to why it was valid but each time we pointed out the mistakes. Apparently, we were supposed to only have breakfast in the club and not on the ground floor, but we were told at check-in when they were convincing us to upgrade that we could have breakfast at either location. Why would some one pay a significant premium to have a smaller and limited breakfast than all the other guests in the regular rooms? Our original package included breakfast in the main area. Then she tried to charge us laundry that was included in our rate but after some complaining, that was canceled but we sit had to pay the 10 or 15% service charge for the laundry. Further discussions were needed to convince her that we do not need to pay a service charge for something was already included.

Rather unfortunate end to our stay which leaves a bad impression. This is the first time we've been disappointed with a Starwood / Sheraton property across many countries and different categories. Unless you can get a great deal, I would stay elsewhere for the money (USD400+ per night).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Like most Sheratons, this hotel is well decorated and equipped. It is a great place to stay when on business. There are plenty of restaurant choices and a nice little bar/lounge for drinks with colleagues. It is conveniently located and makes traveling around Taipei easy.

Don't fall for the hard sell the check-in staff tries on you to upgrade to a room that includes free Internet and breakfast. I was told it was cheaper to upgrade to the all inclusive room, but found out that in reality it was more expensive.

Staff is very helpful and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADDHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We had an okay experience with this hotel, which is not cheap. On the positive side, it is very well located (proximate to tourist sites, government offices, the subway, the train station, et cetera), has a lot of amenities (e.g., nice in-room sundries, multiple hotel restaurants), is well staffed, and has a nice--albeit small--roof-top pool and a Squash court, too. Additionally, the hotel limousine service to/from the airport was ably delivered at a reasonable price. The rooms are a good size, though they (aside from the bathrooms), like the hotel, do not have a very modern look and feel. Visitors to this hotel are encouraged to ask for rooms on a higher floor to get away from street noise as well as for increased privacy since most of the surrounding buildings are short.

In terms of problem, the most serious issue was that when we made our reservation we were told that we would have connecting rooms, but when we arrived we were told there were no such rooms. We also found that service requests frequently took too long to fulfill or were fulfilled incorrectly. Lastly, we had a horrible service experience in the hotel's Pizza restaurant. It must be said, though, that when we brought up these issues with an assistant manager, she immediately took action to compensate us for our unpleasant experiences. We appreciated this and is one reason for the "very good" overall rating.

While at the hotel, we took the SET tour 1/2 day Taipei City Tour (more than adequate for Taipei). While the "standard" visit to the gift/tricket shop at the end was annoying, the rest of the tour was a pleasure and interesting, too. We really liked our guide, Mr. Ni, who has a funny sense of humor. We also would recommend a visit to Taipei 101, which can be easily reached from the hotel via the easy-to-use subway system.

Visitors to the hotel who do not want to eat in the hotel restaurants are encouraged to eat at the 2nd floor of the nearby train station (which has about 20-30 restaurants) or to peruse the restaurants to the nearby east or south of the hotel (which are largely on the same block excluding small alleys). There are many choices and Mandarin, while, of course, helpful, is not a necessity given the availability of menus with pictures or English translations.

While we are not familiar with Taipei's other lodging options, we would largely recommend this hotel to the business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worlds_of_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

this hotel is a great example of this chain's best. the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was always busy but roomy. the restaurants were amazing and always busy. the rooms were spacious and well set up. the health club/bath house was truely memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This is a very elegant hotel. Great lobby area and restaurant. The room is quite elegant, but the best part is the bathroom. marble floors and easy access showers, very well designed. Lot's of extras like your paper in a bag, slippers etc Great mezzanine area. Lots of chinesse artifacts around the hotel. The hotel offers a very good buffet breakfast each morning, amazing variety of different ethnic foods from japanesse to European. The hotel staff were helpful and there is a medical centre on the top floor which I unfortunately needed to visit. Their English wasn't the best but they tried to converse with me in the easiest way possible. There's also a great handbag store downstairs. The hotel is location in the city and a short walk to a number of locations. A bit of a walk from 101, but an easy subway ride. The station is across the road and only a 30 second walk. The hotel is

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ero40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews