We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - just like the others”

Din Tai Fung (Xinyi)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Context: Din Tai Fung fan over here, having dined at DTF in Shanghai, KL, Taipei and several branches in Singapore. They are all uniformly excellent. This branch is the original and we were therefore excited to try it, particularly since everyone says there are more menu options here than elsewhere. The truth is, while that may be true for a handful of non-xiao long bao items, the XLB choices are pretty much the same as available elsewhere. Truly excellent and the best of our Taiwan trip... but not necessarily worth the long queue vs any of the other numerous branches in Taipei.

Fyi: we went at what is considered to be the worst possible time, Sat night around 7pm. The wait time was 80 min. We filled in our order form and returned it to the lady with the clipboard and were offered a shared table IMMEDIATELY. Thanking our lucky stars, we went up to the 2nd floor to a very large table that would comfortably seat 10-12. We were joined by one group of 3 at one end of the table and one pair at the other. With only 7 at the table, we still felt like we had enough space to ourselves - so would recommend asking if this is an option once you've filled in your form. Could save you an hour and a half!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank businss_travell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 4,501 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

There will be a queue to eat here. Get a number first then you will receive a mini menu (a lot to choose from!) so you can choose what to order while waiting for your number to be flashed outside the restaurant. There is a bookstore next door to kill time while waiting for your turn to enter the restaurant. Once you are called, you will be asked your order immediately. I like that they tell you honestly when you are ordering too much food. The tables are upstairs. The place does not look intimidating at all, despite its fame. Food arrived in around 10minutes. We (2 pax) ordered a bestseller appetizer/side, a bowl of pork and shrimp noodles, 5-pc xiao long bao and 2 cans of Coke, and paid roughly 600-700ntd (just to give an idea of the price). Serving size was ok and food was very filling, we barely finished our orders. Very yummy xiao long bao (with instructions on how to eat properly). Another plus is their toilet which is so clean.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Love everything there!!! The pork dumplings, pork fried rice, desserts to end my meal there definitely yam dumplings and jiu niang. These are my must have whenever I am at this branch. The soy sauce and vinegar and the pork is so good, quality so much better than the DTF we have in SG...

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WANFEN CANDICE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

The soup dumplings at Din Tai Fung are INCREDIBLE!!! This is the original location (i think), with a cozy and low key setting. The chain has others that feel fancier and more modern, but there is something about the old school vibe of this place that is really charming too. a million thumbs up My favorite restaurant in the world.

Definitely worth going off peak hours so you dont have to wait to be seated. But even the wait is well worth your while.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mpdc326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in our opinion in our Taipei trip. Their xiao long bao was the best. The branch we tried was the one in taipei 101 and it is a very decent place but you need to wait in line for at least 30 minutes but it is worth the wait.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank salvadorjra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Xinyi) also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Xinyi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing