We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R in Sth Leyte”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padre Burgos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michael's Resort and Dive
Ranked #3 of 3 Padre Burgos B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days during our 2 months travelling around the Philippines.Why because Ivonne & Mario made us so welcome in their small homestay set up. Helping in anyway they could to make our visit to South Leyte as memorable as possible.Be it organizing for one of the local diveshops to pick us up any morning we decided to take the plunge, arranging much more affordable Whale Shark boat options to taking everybody staying there on a special day trip to a small island just North for a BBQ and some fine snorkelling.
True hospitality which is getting harder to find as the roads get more & more trodden.
Oh and there is a beach too :)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MartinFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

A couple of friends and I stayed for a night at this quaint bed & breakfast as we were passing through the bucolic towns of southern Leyte.
They currently don't have any dive-related services even though their name suggests that they do. But Yvonne, our very charismatic host, can refer you to nearby dive centers in Padre Burgos and/or outrigger rentals to snorkel with the whale sharks in San Ricardo. She also can point you to the direction of the neighboring must-see waterfalls and springs.
What I like about the place is that it's more of a home than a resort. The quiet vibe encourages the guests to get to know one another and swap stories. The second best thing about it is the beautiful uncrowded white sand beach right outside, just after the outdoor dining area. The blue waters is calm and not too deep which is perfect if you just want to relax and take in the glorious sunset.
The staff was very helpful as we settled in to our room, which was big enough for the three of us. They helped us too with cleaning and rinsing our gear after our dives at the Sta. Sofia Marine Protected Area and Padre Burgos pier.
They do offer reasonably-priced meals and then water/coffee/tea is on the house. (I melted every time I took a bite of the sweet buttery pancakes I had for breakfast.) You can however buy fresh fish, meat and other produce at the nearby towns and have the staff cook it for you for a minimal fee.
I definitely enjoyed our stay even though it was just for a night. If I were to end up again in southern Leyte, I will not hesitate to bunk there and feel at home again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoe_molina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm not exaggerating when I say that Yvonne and her crew are the best guest house operators I have met. They truly made us feel at home. They treated us like real guests rather than just customers and did everything to make us happy and comfortable. During our stay I came down with something and spent days sick in bed. They cooked me healing soups, checked up on me constantly, even gave me a massage with menthol oils and called in a local healer woman to top it all off. They were amazing. Yvonne organized a private boat for us and some other guests to go searching for whale sharks (we saw 6 that day!). They took us out for karaoke and brought us on a picnic outing to a white-sand island (I forget the name). Michelle gave us rides on the motor bike and showed us how to gather and eat sea urchins. They will make you feel like part of the family!

*Aside from the exceptional personal service, the location is great. Gorgeous sunsets over the ocean every night, and world class snorkeling right out front. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank east_west_dua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Sometimes you find a place that you find very difficult to put into words, Michael's Resort and Dive is one of those. Nevertheless I will try to explain why we would recommend this place to anyone and everyone we meet.

The resort is beautiful, native style huts right on the beach with a stunning view that are incredibly comfortable, spacious and clean. The food is excellent, freshly cooked to order and exceptional value. The location is 20 minutes walk from Padre Burgos town where there are several dive outfits that run trips to the various premium dive sites around Sogod Bay. Most will pick you up and drop you off at the resort.

We stayed at Michael's for 6 nights and enjoyed many of the local attractions. We went on a whale shark trip organised by Michael's, arriving early before any of the dive shops, we snorkeled with 5 of the giants during the morning, ate lunch on a floating bamboo raft and then snorkeled at Limasawa island aswell. It was a truly magical day, both islands on the private boat cost less than the dive shops offered for a morning trip to the whale sharks. We also visited a stunning waterfall only 15 minutes walk from the resort, where we could swim in the natural pools.

There are plenty of other attractions in the area and plenty of phenomenal diving and snorkelling, hikes and video-k bars, however this was not the real magic of our stay. We only planned to stay for three nights but ended up staying for 6 simply because of this wonderful resort. It is not really a resort, it is a home from home. The owners, Yvonne and Mario were amazing, welcoming, funny, friendly and simply beautiful people. We were made to feel as though we were part of their family. We felt that we could ask for anything and they would do their best to accommodate us, from walking to the waterfall to a ride into town on the back of Marios bike. The staff that work at the resort are so lovely and friendly and are part of the one big family feel. Even though there were other guests there with us we still felt as though we were the only guests and part of the loving and caring atmosphere created by Yvonne and Mario and the three other staff that are there full time. I would go on and on explaining why our stay here was so magical but it would take so long to explain every detail.

I cant thank you enough Yvonne and Mario for welcoming us with such open arms and this is without doubt the best place we have stayed during our 3 months in the Philippines so far, if not the best place anywhere in the world! In short, it doesn't matter that the resort is incredible value for money, comfortable, in a great location and with delicious food because the five lovely Philippine people that live and work here are truly wonderful souls that will make you feel honoured to have met them. We will be sending everyone we meet there and will definitely be returning ourselves as soon as we get the chance!!

Room Tip: Room 4, beautiful view and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hollies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we decided to drive by Michael's resort and found the most welcoming place to stay in the Philippines. We had a unforgettable time with Yvonne, her Husband Mario, Agnes, Bong and Maritis. They were outstanding helpful with everything and from the first moment we feel like coming home. For the time of our stay they tread us like family members and made everything we asked for possible. If it was a fishing trip, swimming with whale shark, island hopping whatever we asked for, they did not hesitate a second to arrange all. The rooms are very clean and affordable, the bed comfortable. Located on one of the only sand beaches of the area a beautiful place to stay. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alex_Anschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_Ho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the heart touching review, it is always a pleasure to serve and provide only the best for our guests. Because we don't treat our guests as customer, we treat them as FAMILY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I loved this perfect family place in Leyte. Everything was just perfect for us. It is a family run BandB located on one of the only sand beach of the area, the view is great from their garden on the restaurant table on the top of the beach. The bungalow was really clean, the bed confortable. In fact, I think I had the best sleep of all my trip. You just hear the small waves on the quiet beach. The place is located on a small street away from the main road. It is also well located to see the Leyte life of the locals. They come fishing and walk on the low tide to look for some shrimp and shell... delicious by the way.
Yvonne and her cooking team prepare great food for you. I recommand you the shells.
What I really appriciate in Michael's place, is the fact they don't try to only take your money, but they make you feel at home. You have free water, coffe and tea. You can bring your food from the market and cook it. They will be happy to help you shop and have the good price. Mario, the father of Michael, will drive you around for free, only because it please them to please you.
How many place can you find like that in the world?
About diving, their was no more dive center at the resort anymore, but there are few around. I recommand you to sleep somewhere else than the dive resort, because they only go to the best dive spot, which are far, if they have enough people, so you could sometime geat stuck in one dive center. If you sleep somewhere as I did, you can shop around. There are not so many divers around, but there are 6 dive center.
We wanted to go to Nampantao and to the wall shark, we were able to do it by going in a different dive center each time. We did the wall shark with peter dive because it is the cheapest with one or two dive included, the most expensive is leyte southern, but they go in the afternoon and have more chance to spot one. We did Nampantao with them, the dive was great, but be carefull to make sure your price is clear before to go. They tend to add some expense, like fuel extra... Yes, you have to pay 600 PHP for the fuel...
Most dive center go only if they have 3 or 4 divers. When we were their, they was around 8 divers in all Padre burgos area, all dive centers included and we stayed one week.
So yes, if you go to sogod bay for diving or not, stop at Michael's resort. Every jeepney knows them because it is a local managed place. To come their, you have to go to Maasin first then take a jeepney. We came from Cebu by boat to Ormoc, then public minivan to Maasin, then Jeepney. It is a long road, but the dive is great and that is the price to find paradise at Michael's place.
On the way back, we took a jeepney to maasin the a public minivan to the airport in tacloban for around 500 PHP.
Yvonne or Mario will tell you all the good deal to pay the local price.
I would had stay more in this place if it was not the end of our trip to Philippines, but I felt so much at home, than I will surely return. They made my stay in Leyte my best trip this time in philippine.

Room Tip: The room with double bed with the small terrace in front of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank sslctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonneho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you so much, we really appreciate your review. We are happy to have met you and looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Michael's stands out as by far the most welcoming place we have stayed at throughout our several trips to South-East Asia and the Philippines. Yvonne, Mario, Agnes, Baby and Jess are a fantastic team that runs like a well-operated business but feels like a big family that's happy to take you in. They are a delightful bunch with a wicked sense of humor and good hearts. We bonded, learned a lot about each other's lives, and will definitely stay in touch. That is in itself a good enough reason to come to Southern Leyte and stay with them. Besides, they'll give you a great deal; both their rooms and their home-made meals are excellent value. They will go out of their way to help you with anything else you may need. And, as you see from the photos posted by other reviewers, the area and the house are gorgeous.

As of this writing, they no longer operate their own diveshop but are hoping to re-open it. They arranged for us to dive with Southern Leyte a five-minute walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank michalprgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonneho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you so much for your kind words, we didn't realize that you were happy and satisfied in our place. We just want our guest to feel at home and be happy.

We are thankful to have met you and we are looking forward to seeing you again and share wonderful moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padre Burgos hotels
0 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
71 reviews
0 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
151 reviews
0 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Resort and Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Resort and Dive

Address: San Roque, Macrohon | Southern Leyte, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines (Formerly Maloy’s Guest House)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Padre Burgos
Price Range: $18 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Michael's Resort And Dive Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing