We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padre Burgos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michael's Resort and Dive
Ranked #3 of 3 Padre Burgos B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Sometimes you find a place that you find very difficult to put into words, Michael's Resort and Dive is one of those. Nevertheless I will try to explain why we would recommend this place to anyone and everyone we meet.

The resort is beautiful, native style huts right on the beach with a stunning view that are incredibly comfortable, spacious and clean. The food is excellent, freshly cooked to order and exceptional value. The location is 20 minutes walk from Padre Burgos town where there are several dive outfits that run trips to the various premium dive sites around Sogod Bay. Most will pick you up and drop you off at the resort.

We stayed at Michael's for 6 nights and enjoyed many of the local attractions. We went on a whale shark trip organised by Michael's, arriving early before any of the dive shops, we snorkeled with 5 of the giants during the morning, ate lunch on a floating bamboo raft and then snorkeled at Limasawa island aswell. It was a truly magical day, both islands on the private boat cost less than the dive shops offered for a morning trip to the whale sharks. We also visited a stunning waterfall only 15 minutes walk from the resort, where we could swim in the natural pools.

There are plenty of other attractions in the area and plenty of phenomenal diving and snorkelling, hikes and video-k bars, however this was not the real magic of our stay. We only planned to stay for three nights but ended up staying for 6 simply because of this wonderful resort. It is not really a resort, it is a home from home. The owners, Yvonne and Mario were amazing, welcoming, funny, friendly and simply beautiful people. We were made to feel as though we were part of their family. We felt that we could ask for anything and they would do their best to accommodate us, from walking to the waterfall to a ride into town on the back of Marios bike. The staff that work at the resort are so lovely and friendly and are part of the one big family feel. Even though there were other guests there with us we still felt as though we were the only guests and part of the loving and caring atmosphere created by Yvonne and Mario and the three other staff that are there full time. I would go on and on explaining why our stay here was so magical but it would take so long to explain every detail.

I cant thank you enough Yvonne and Mario for welcoming us with such open arms and this is without doubt the best place we have stayed during our 3 months in the Philippines so far, if not the best place anywhere in the world! In short, it doesn't matter that the resort is incredible value for money, comfortable, in a great location and with delicious food because the five lovely Philippine people that live and work here are truly wonderful souls that will make you feel honoured to have met them. We will be sending everyone we meet there and will definitely be returning ourselves as soon as we get the chance!!

Room Tip: Room 4, beautiful view and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hollies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we decided to drive by Michael's resort and found the most welcoming place to stay in the Philippines. We had a unforgettable time with Yvonne, her Husband Mario, Agnes, Bong and Maritis. They were outstanding helpful with everything and from the first moment we feel like coming home. For the time of our stay they tread us like family members and made everything we asked for possible. If it was a fishing trip, swimming with whale shark, island hopping whatever we asked for, they did not hesitate a second to arrange all. The rooms are very clean and affordable, the bed comfortable. Located on one of the only sand beaches of the area a beautiful place to stay. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alex_Anschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_Ho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the heart touching review, it is always a pleasure to serve and provide only the best for our guests. Because we don't treat our guests as customer, we treat them as FAMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I loved this perfect family place in Leyte. Everything was just perfect for us. It is a family run BandB located on one of the only sand beach of the area, the view is great from their garden on the restaurant table on the top of the beach. The bungalow was really clean, the bed confortable. In fact, I think I had the best sleep of all my trip. You just hear the small waves on the quiet beach. The place is located on a small street away from the main road. It is also well located to see the Leyte life of the locals. They come fishing and walk on the low tide to look for some shrimp and shell... delicious by the way.
Yvonne and her cooking team prepare great food for you. I recommand you the shells.
What I really appriciate in Michael's place, is the fact they don't try to only take your money, but they make you feel at home. You have free water, coffe and tea. You can bring your food from the market and cook it. They will be happy to help you shop and have the good price. Mario, the father of Michael, will drive you around for free, only because it please them to please you.
How many place can you find like that in the world?
About diving, their was no more dive center at the resort anymore, but there are few around. I recommand you to sleep somewhere else than the dive resort, because they only go to the best dive spot, which are far, if they have enough people, so you could sometime geat stuck in one dive center. If you sleep somewhere as I did, you can shop around. There are not so many divers around, but there are 6 dive center.
We wanted to go to Nampantao and to the wall shark, we were able to do it by going in a different dive center each time. We did the wall shark with peter dive because it is the cheapest with one or two dive included, the most expensive is leyte southern, but they go in the afternoon and have more chance to spot one. We did Nampantao with them, the dive was great, but be carefull to make sure your price is clear before to go. They tend to add some expense, like fuel extra... Yes, you have to pay 600 PHP for the fuel...
Most dive center go only if they have 3 or 4 divers. When we were their, they was around 8 divers in all Padre burgos area, all dive centers included and we stayed one week.
So yes, if you go to sogod bay for diving or not, stop at Michael's resort. Every jeepney knows them because it is a local managed place. To come their, you have to go to Maasin first then take a jeepney. We came from Cebu by boat to Ormoc, then public minivan to Maasin, then Jeepney. It is a long road, but the dive is great and that is the price to find paradise at Michael's place.
On the way back, we took a jeepney to maasin the a public minivan to the airport in tacloban for around 500 PHP.
Yvonne or Mario will tell you all the good deal to pay the local price.
I would had stay more in this place if it was not the end of our trip to Philippines, but I felt so much at home, than I will surely return. They made my stay in Leyte my best trip this time in philippine.

Room Tip: The room with double bed with the small terrace in front of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sslctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonneho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
thank you so much, we really appreciate your review. We are happy to have met you and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Michael's stands out as by far the most welcoming place we have stayed at throughout our several trips to South-East Asia and the Philippines. Yvonne, Mario, Agnes, Baby and Jess are a fantastic team that runs like a well-operated business but feels like a big family that's happy to take you in. They are a delightful bunch with a wicked sense of humor and good hearts. We bonded, learned a lot about each other's lives, and will definitely stay in touch. That is in itself a good enough reason to come to Southern Leyte and stay with them. Besides, they'll give you a great deal; both their rooms and their home-made meals are excellent value. They will go out of their way to help you with anything else you may need. And, as you see from the photos posted by other reviewers, the area and the house are gorgeous.

As of this writing, they no longer operate their own diveshop but are hoping to re-open it. They arranged for us to dive with Southern Leyte a five-minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank michalprgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonneho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
thank you so much for your kind words, we didn't realize that you were happy and satisfied in our place. We just want our guest to feel at home and be happy.

We are thankful to have met you and we are looking forward to seeing you again and share wonderful moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

MIchael's Resort is quite simply one of the most friendly places I have ever stayed in. After arriving after 7pm I was given a really warm welcome by the owners Yvonne and Mario, shown to my private beachfront bungalow adjoining the main house and asked what I would like to eat.

This isn't like a lot of resorts where staff and guests don't mix. Throughout my stay, everybody treated me like one of the family and ensured that I was royally entertained all the time.

Yvonne is very happy to organise any excursions you might want to do, from snorkelling with whale sharks to scuba diving and trips into the lush interior of the island. Mario is always generously offering to give you a motorbike ride into town.

In addition to the friendliness of the welcome, the other thing that sets the guesthouse apart is the location. Being on the quiet beach just to the west of Padre Burgos, it is away from all the noisy karaoke places in town and is one of the few places with an uninterrupted view of the sunset over the sea.

If you are looking for an authentic Filipino experience with an fabulous local family who will treat you like royalty then this is definitely the place for you. Please remember though that it is somebody's home not a sanitised resort in an overly touristed area.

The charm of Michael's Resort is in the hospitality of the people and I challenge you to find a better welcome anywhere.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
15 Thank scubanormksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonneho, Owner at Michael's Resort and Dive, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are thankful that you liked our place and appreciated our services and hospitality. We just want our guest to feel at home and relax.

We treat our guest as family, not because we have to. It is really our natural behavior, and we work from the heart.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The guesthouse is beautiful and by the ocean! We got the best view of the sunset and sunrise! The rooms are clean and the owner will go out of her way to make sure that everyone has everything they need. Yvonne, the owner, welcomed us into her place and took care of us like we were family. We were sad to leave!

The guesthouse has a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, they have happy hour for drinks at night (view on the coean) and they organize group snorkeling trips to see Whalesharks for you that depart right from the beach behind your room. Amazing! Our own boat and crew even stopped us on a small island where they cooked BBQ for our group of ten for lunch!
Try it out!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank daynaMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

A group of us showed up in Burgos one afternoon without any reservations and went for a walk trying to find reasonably priced accommodation. Most places mentioned in the travel guides we had with us were booked, and others were incredibly expensive. After about 5 hours, a mysterious person dressed in orange directed us to Whaleshark Divers.

Whaleshark Divers (formerly known as Maloy's Guest House) is run by Yvonne and her husband. They used to be big shots in the city but packed up shop and moved out to Burgos to have an easier lifestyle. As some of our group had arrived before us and already sorted out the accommodation, our arrival saw Yvonne running up to us and hugging us like long lost friends. It was around 11pm when we arrived, and she rallied her staff to cook us up a delicious dinner on the spot.

The hospitality and service at this place is unlike anywhere else. Yvonne, or Mama, as she became known to us, looked after us like we were her own kids. She doubled the length of happy hour for us and gave us an amazing deal on food and accommodation. When we woke up the next morning, the breakfasts we'd each ordered the night before were being delivered to the table at the same positions we had sat the night before. She organised a whaleshark diving excursion for us at a price much better than any other company was offering.

Whaleshark Divers is located right on the beach, and is affiliated with a professional dive operator for serious divers. A new extension provides allows up to about 20 guests at one point. When some of the group wanted massages she called up a friend who popped over with her oils etc and gave really good massages. Clean rooms with fans, and some ensuites have hot water too.

This should be your first stop for any Burgos trip. Because it is not in any guides, it might be difficult to find, but if you ask around it's well known.

Directions :
From Cebu City
Ferry from Pier 1: Cokaliong Shipping or
Pier 3: Roble Shipping (Hicongos), Kingwell (Bato) or Medalliom Shipping (Bato)
From Manila:
Plane to Tacloban, then van to Maasin City (3.5 h), ride a multicab to Padre Burgos
From Bohol
Ferry from Ubay to Bato or Ubay to Maasin city

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jamesnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's Resort and Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Resort and Dive

Property: Michael's Resort and Dive
Address: San Roque, Macrohon | Southern Leyte, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines (Formerly Maloy’s Guest House)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Michael's Resort And Dive Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing