We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience with the whaleshark watching trips!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Malveira, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great experience with the whaleshark watching trips!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in Tangkaan for three nights, and we decided to go with Padre Burgos Castle Resort on daily boat trips, to watch whalesharks - and we did it twice.
David was excellent answering our questions before we arrived Tangkaan and was the only place that told us that was able to do a whaleshark watching trip with just two persons.
We did it twice, as we were not lucky to see the whalesharks on the first day, although a manta ray showed up instead of a whaleshark. Both the trips were very well organized, with dolphin watching (on both days), always different snorkeling spots, one of the days a visit to Limasawa Island. Really well planned whaleshark spotting, respecting the spotter association of Barangay Pintuyan and using their great and highly motivated spotters.
The food prepared during both days was really great (barbecue meat and fish, really good) and we were really pleased with the service.
The staff at the Resort was extremelly helpful and the service was excellent!
Definetely, we recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Padre Burgos Castle on our honeymoon. We were sadly on a tight time schedule and only managed to stay for 2 nights. We would have loved to come and relax for longer. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. Delia cooked the most incredible food which she discussed with us each day.
Our main reason for going to this area of the Philippines was to swim with whale sharks. We didn't see them the 1st time we went out although this seems to have been a freakish anomoly but were amazed the 2nd day when we went out for a half day and 5 were spotted. We swam with one of these for 20 mins. A 6.5metre long whale shark. AMAZING! David was our guide. He seemed genuinely dedicated to helping us see the whale sharks and having an amazing day out in the area with an amazing beach bar-b-q. I did get a bit of a numb bum on the boat ride so would advise people to pack something padded to sit on.
We were blown away by this experience. My husband has travelled extensively and is a travel consulant by profession. He rated this in his top 5 wildlife experiences.
I could not rate Padre Burgos castle more highly. The food was amazing, room clean, we were up in the tower which was fantastic. I would have loved to relax by the pool for a day at the end but sadly time ran out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flipflopbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent four nights in Padre Burgos in April - and it far exceeded our expectations. Our whale watching trip was simply outstanding (2 guests supported by:

2 whale shark watchers on separate 'spotter' boats,
The owner/manager,
1 maid on hand for food/ beverages,
1 conservation official,
2 boat crew and
1 US marine biologist (who was monitoring and identifying the sharks)
And - of course - 8/ 9 Whale Sharks.

Having travelled extensively all over Asia (over a 30 year period), and to all places in between - I can safely say that you would seriously struggle to replicate this in Thailand, Maldives etc - for anything less than $1000 (especially in the Maldives!) - we paid a fraction of this and saw more Whale Sharks than you could shake a stick at.

Even if you have the money to burn - you would be equally hard pressed to be in an area with such a deep sense of history (the site of Magellan's first mass in the Philippines, or the site of the largest naval engagement of World War Two). For those who want more than Boracay/ Cebu - and who want to get a real sense of the Philippines - this is the place to come.

The diving off PB is also outstanding - incredibly clear water and very healthy corals - really worth the effort. Furthermore, the relationship that Castle has with a local dive operator works incredibly well - and, wonderfully - there is no attempt to sting you for transport between the two locations (a nice and genuine touch that may seem like a small detail - but is actually an incredibly good small touch).

The food is outstanding - great ingredients and made totally to order. Some may fret about having to make a choice before dinner - but just roll with it - its going to be outstanding whatever you order.

Private beach is brilliant as is the cliff top pool.

Overall an outstanding place, if you can make the trip down to Leyte/ Padre Burgos - this is a real gem.

Room Tip: the room in the 'keep' if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank mgw556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A mixed experience for us at Padre Burgos. The food was delicious, and of very high quality. We especially enjoyed some of Delia's own specialities and Philippino traditional dishes. Service was also excellent. All of the staff were very attentive, friendly and polite at all times. Our room was cleaned well, and the whole resort was always spotless and well maintained.

The Whale shark tour was wonderful. A really special experience, and one of our main reasons for going to Southern Leyte. The tour was well-organised, the lunch was delicious, and the spotters were fantastic at their job. A minor disadvantage was the uncomfortable seating on the boat - the journey to and from the Whale shark spotting location is long.

However, our room (in the tower) was small - for the price paid, damp and stuffy, and it was difficult to get clothes and towels dry - made worse by the fact that it rained most of the days during our stay. We don't like air conditioning, so were disappointed that the windows could not be latched open, and would blow in the wind if opened, and there was no fan. Due to the poor weather, we were at times at a loose end as there is very little to do when it rains. I definitely would not recommend visiting during rainy season! We had hoped that this would be sporadic, tropical rainfall but some days it did not stop all day long. We did feel rather 'trapped' as the resort is so remote, and it was a shame to not have any other options for food than at the resort - meaning the cost of the stay rose considerably.

Food at the resort was on the expensive side when compared with other places we stayed at in Philippines. Granted, the meals were excellent, but sometimes we would have been happy to have simpler dishes for lunch, for example, at more reasonable prices. Similarly, the breakfast, both choices and portions - particularly of fruit seemed a little sparse for the price paid.

Another disappointment for us was that the resort charges for bottled water which is placed in the room. At almost any other hotel we have stayed at in Philippines and around the world bottled water that is placed in the room each day is complimentary. We felt that at a hotel of this quality, bottled water should be complimentary. The water served with meals was free, but we felt uncomfortable having to keep asking for water outside of meal times.

The resort beach is okay, but the shoreline is very rocky and there is only one small section where you can get into the sea without walking on very sharp rocks. Due to the weather, the sea was very rough during our stay. This meant that swimming was not really possible, and the water was not the beautiful calm, clear blue that we were hoping for.

On the whole, we enjoyed our time at Padre Burgos, and are very glad we got to swim with the whale sharks. We would come back to see the whale sharks, but would look very carefully into the predicted weather, and would stay for a shorter time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank rosiecollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have travelled to many countries over the years and stayed in quiet a few dumps. We moved to the Philippines a year ago, and we have learned that many of the hotels here lack the service and standard that we are familiar with. We booked our Easter vacation at Padres Burgos Castle Resort and admittedly..our expectations were quite low. The reality is that we were blown away! It is truly a tropical paradise, and Dave and Delia are amazing. They were so accomodating, and we felt as though we were house guests, not hotel guests. The rooms were well-furnished and comfortable. Delia wanted to make us giant prawns one night, and she was disappointed they did not have any at the market. This happens in the Philippines and truthfully did not bother us at all (we are used to this kind of thing from living here). So "Plan B" ended up being one of the most delicious meals we have ever eaten. The private beach and snorkeling are amazing. We had a little trouble with jelly fish in the late afternoon, which is not a reflection on the resort. If you are serious about snorkeling, bring a wetsuit or long sleeve rash guard and you will be fine. We took a day trip with Dave to see Whale Sharks, and we also went snorkeling at anearby marine sanctuary that was breathtaking. Dave knows several local dive shops, and we went diving one day, too. We have two teenagers, and the activities were great for our family. This resort is a bit out of the way. The drive is long (3 hours from Tacloban), but the resort offers an easy shuttle option. It is a great place to unplug. Plan on spending quiet evenings sitting out enjoying the view. Bring a deck of cards (no TV's in the room) and visit with your family. Padre Burgos Castle Resort really is a small, hidden gem. Time slows down in Padre Burgos Castle Resort, and we look forward to going back! Our biggest complaint was that we did not book more days!

Room Tip: The tower room is very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DipMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Padre Burgos Castle Resort in end of April 2013 for 6 days and it was really amazing!. The place is very quiet, the staff is very kind and friendly, the owners (Delia and David) are wonderful people and the make you feel as at home because they are always willing to help you and the food is cooked by Delia, with really "home made" taste.
Diving is also amazing with the best night dive of the world at its Pier.
We recommend this Hotel to everyone who is looking for great Diving and beautiful and quiet Resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank AldoGalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for one week at PBCR and enjoyed every minute. The diving with close-by Peter's dive resort was amazing (the drop-off and pick-up to and from the resort was organised for us) and thanks to the remoteness of Southern Leyte not very many other divers were around. Also at PBCR we felt like having the entire resort for us privately - not more than 2 other 'parties' were there with us at the same time. The private beach 'downstairs' is beautiful and peaceful and the terrace offers great views over the ocean. We went on a one-day trip for whale shark watching with David and had a fabulous experience: snorkeling with whale-sharks is amazing (..and exhausting!). The beach where we had lunch before seeing the whale sharks was from a fairy-tale: a remote paradise not yet discovered by others all for ourselves. We highly recommend the PBCR if you are looking for a peaceful, quite and remote place with a beautiful beach and the chance to go diving (and snorkeling) in unforgettable surroundings. At the beginning we were worried about 'not being able to leave' and have dinner at other places: but don't worry - Delia is an amazing chef and the food was delicious - every night she prepared something new and every time it was excellent. Thanks to all the staff at PBCR for making our stay so wonderful. Even though prices are a bit higher than other parts in the Philippines: it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
137 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
77 reviews
74.6 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
57 reviews
7.8 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
21 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing