We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Trip advisor

I celebrated Christmas and New Year at this beautiful resort towards the southern tip of Leyte island. After a long transfer from Manila to Tacloban I was keen to arrive at the resort. An excellent driver was provided for the three-hour ride. Upon arrival we were shown straight to our spacious room and given the grand tour.

The hotel grounds are meticulously groomed and well presented throughout. The beach is made up of coral, pebbles and sand. This can sometimes prove tough underfoot in places. Jelyshoes or sturdy flip-flops are advised.

I wouldn't recommend venturing out of the hotel grounds without assistance or a guide. During a 2-minute walk down the road I felt a little on edge and worried for my safety. Quite a few people saying 'money' etc. on my direction.

Staff are friendly and available to help if needed. From David and Delia to the guys on the beach - Everyone at the resort works hard to maintain a high level of service.

Food is outstanding; I had a mixture of local and western during my stay. Every meal contained either locally sourced or homemade ingredients all of which was fresh and rich with flavor. Delia works extremely hard on evening dinners and is willing to modify your meal if you have dietary requirements or dislike certain food. Very friendly and personal service. I can't imagine acquiring the ingredients is easy in such a remote location. Hog roast on our final evening (new year eve) was my personal favorite. Staff are around to offer drinks with your meal, the house red wine was delicious.

Tours are well organized and well worth the extra charge. I opted for sailing, Canigao island and the whale shark tour. All tours were fantastic and were a great opportunity to see life outside the resort. My personal favorite had to be the very successful whale shark tour that lasted for a full day. David worked very hard to coordinate everything throughout the day. Swimming a couple of meters away from the largest fish in the sea blew my mind and is a moment I'll never forget.

I would definitely recommend staying here. Thanks again to David and Delia for a memorable end to 2012

Room Tip: Room 5 has great views and is also the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBCR_Owner, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that had such a wonderful holiday with us over Christmas and New Year.

Your experience walking outside the resort was extremely unusual. Locally, and throughout the Philippines, the people are warm, friendly and helpful and we are very surprised that you felt in any way uncomfortable. We love our guests to enjoy the peace and quiet and all the facilities of the resort, but we also encourage them to venture outside to see something of the local life and culture. We are certain that this is perfectly safe and that any silly behaviour you witnessed was down to one or two individuals - who had probably enjoyed too much Christmas 'spirit'.

David & Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here last April 2012 for 3 days and I must say me and my husband are still remembering this place and sharing it to other people. The hotel is really nice and clean, the service is excellent, and the food is glorious! Quiet honestly, we did not expect this to be that good compared to other resorts we stayed - even with the higher price rate.

Thank you so much to the hosts David and Delia! All the love - from Nashville, TN

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place definitely was the experience we were hoping for. The location is great, and so is the elevated views over the bay, the fresh sea breeze and the secluded private beach. The rooms was perfect too, and we had the sleeps of our life here. The food was also a pleasant surprise, our host made great tasty food and the servings are big, in fact too big for one. And we where surprised they let four persons share two half boards, thanks for that. The constantly blinking Christmas decoration, and the harsh light saving bulbs in the restaurant must just be the pinoy touch. I am sure your European guests will appreciate a few evening candles, especially this time a year. The whole Castle concept, felt a little tacky, and we didn't see why gold painted gates, embrasures, and hand painted wood textures should come in the way for an otherwise stylish resort.

The staff was very professional, attentive, smiling and super sweet. We though think that letting the guest refill their water glasses will give more uninterrupted conversation, and less stress for the staff.

We would have given the place top ratings but given the above plus the fact that there is a need for comfortable lounging furniture indoor, and mattresses for the sun beds outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StupidMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We didn't actually stay at this resort, but we wanted to write about the whale shark tour we took through them.
We stayed at a different resort since we were diving in padre Burgos, and still David (castle resort's owner) gave us great tips by email regarding accommodation that would match our needs, and ways to arrive in padre Burgos from Tacloban.
We arrived at his resort in the morning, in order to leave for the whale shark sightseeing. The resort is absolutely beautiful! Organized just beautifully right on the beach, and has a great calming atmosphere. David and Delia were very warm and welcoming.
The actuall day was more than we could ever expect;
We went snorkeling in limasawa island, then went for a BBQ lunch on the beach. Jesica who came along took great care of us through the whole day and cooked our food. Then we swam with whale sharks, David made sure we go with a guide and three spotters, and we felt as if the whole crew in the boat was working just to find whale sharks for us:)
We found four!!
On the way back, we went through a huge pack of dolphins. We kept on watching them for a long time, amazing.
So thank you David, Delia, jesica, Romeo and Rommel. It was an unforgettable day, full of smiles, good food and beautiful animals.
Hope to see you again,
Michal & Yochay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a six day travel with a hired car driven by excellent Josalito (09395155670), correctly proposed by the Bayleaf Intramuros Hotel in Manila, we arrived at the southern end of Leyte in Tangkaan, a village near Padre Burgos, where the Castle is. We were received by the owners Delia and David and the four Girls in Scottish attire. The latter would take well care of us during our stay. The room was spacious with the best bed we had in years. The decoration and cleanliness are of a high standard, seldom found. The meals prepared under supervision of Delia were very good as for taste, variety and quantity. My wife and I would share the dishes. After a number of steps a beautiful coral beach below the Castle is reached.To reach the water is doable, not too easy but when there, the shallow reef in front is a snorkelers paradise. The diving I did was well organised. The WiFi is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Took us a while to get there via the worlds slowest ferry but once there felt very special. First night arrival to have a drink by ourselves overlooking the water was special. Couldnt hear traffic, just the the occassional fishing boat chugging by.
We did the whale shark tour. Was a bit early in the season and we didnt find any, but found lots of dolphins and played with them. Beautiful lunch, some snorkelling, a good day out.
Next day hired a motorbike and swam in some nearby waterfalls, went to a karoke bar for lunch, just a down to earth experience.
Can't say enough about the effort Delia and David put in to take care of us. We found the food great, especialyl remembering it is not downtown Cebu. Getting supplies must be very difficult, yet it was served up as though it was nothing.
Really admire what Delia and David have achieved with their resort. Its quiet, a bit out of the way, but an amazing standard of hospitality and perfect for us. Would love to go back sometime mid whale shark season.

Room Tip: Just ask :)
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,979 reviews
392 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived at this resort having informed the proprietor David (who runs the resort with his wife Delia) of our pending stay.

We were checked in efficiently and offered a choice of room as we were the only guests. we chose Room 1, which was huge.

The resort overall including Room 1 has a very high standard of construction, fixtures and fittings. The room was of a most generous size with beautiful tiling throughout the bedroom and to a lesser extent the bathroom.

Lighting was good with a pair of downlights in the bedroom adding to ambience.

The airconditioner was not quite the quietest I have experienced but it could not be described as 'noisy.' It did not interfere with my sleep and efficiently cooled the room (not that it was overly humid) although I doubt that it would have cooled the bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable: a choice of pillows was available. Bedside tables and lamps were provided.

there was a great dressing table along with a huge wardrobe in which the helpful 18 year old female staff Jenny May or Janet placed our belongings. There was also a chair by the door along with a small multi layered table near the bathroom on which a kettle, tea, coffee and the two free bottles of water stood.

There was a nice window in the main room which had excellent quality tasseled curtains that effectively blocked out light, something of which I am always appreciative.

The bathroom had a Nippon instant water heater that worked well although I prefer mains hot water. Unlike my country with its natural gas, Philippines uses electricity for water heating so it becomes expensive.

The shower was reasonable: the room lacked a bath.

Lighting over the bathroom vanity unit was provided by a fluro lamp but it failed to highlight my face while shaving due to the lack of a small window in the bathroom. This was one of hardly any design flaws as a layman that I noticed.

Separate bathroom and beach towels were provided and of excellent quality. A small sachet of shampoo and a separate one of conditioner were provided on our first night but not thereafter. The bathroom had a soap dispenser over the vanity unit.

The guests' area was magnificent with a beautiful lounge (plasma TV - there not being any in the rooms) and comfortable lounge suites. There were three or four tables accommodating four persons inside while smaller round tables were around one side of the well designed though fairly small (but very clean and easily accessed) pleasant pool where the water temperature was ideal.

The bar area was stylish with woodgrain prominent. Better lighting was over the bar than elsewhere as the high ceiling reduced lighting in the general guests' area.

The guests area also had a concrete wall separating it from Rooms 1 to 3, with wood overlaying the concrete. It looked timeless and stylish.

The pool was complemented by a mango and a jackfruit tree. Birds frequented some of the trees.

For the off season price of P3600 a double the continental brekky could be improved given that at similar prices in Metro manila, hotels sometimes serve extensive buffets. Toast and jam , Corn Flakes plus either mango and not very nice orange slices (or fruit juice) plus tea or coffee was the brekky: insufficient for many guests although I am not a big brekky eater.

We enjoyed one meal at night (P1200 a head). Contrary to the previous reviewer, I found Delia's cooking to be excellent though I cannot claim gourmand status. We had two impressive, large tasty lumpia (spring rolls), a main of five huge king prawns plus a good selection of vegetables including interesting presentation of the capsicum with a very filling 'mango float' (a cakey confection) as dessert plus two small chocolates and tea or coffee.

We went on an excursion to Limasawa Island which included a lunch cooked on it by chef for the day Meredith. Hungarian sausage, lovely grilled chicken and grilled fish plus fresh pineapple and watermnelon and as many bottled soft drinks or water as we wanted were included. The excursion included a visit to the site of the first Filipino Catholic Mass (400 steps to the Cross) which was great along with snorkelling both off Limasawa island (access from the shore) and near the resort (both were enjoyable). The excursion was fairly expensive for Philippines at P2750 per person for each of our party of three, but it involved the two boatmen coming from Limasawa island. It was fairly choppy on the way back.

We extended out stay to become three nights.

Upstairs, Room 5 is interesting as it has a view, mostly over the roof.

I did not snorkel at the resort's small cove which lacked sand at this time of the year: apparently the sand, like MacArthur, 'will return.'

This is a quality small resort of which David and Delia can be proud. At its low season price of P3600 a night (bed and continental brekky) it is excellent value: even in high season at P4600 a night it compares well given that one may receive 'exclusivity' which is not really available in overrated Thailand (think Phuket), Bail or Fiji. You won't bump into hundreds of your countrymen in Padre Burgos if you are a foreigner, but you may (and if Australian will) in the other competitor locations mentioned.

Staff were pleasant but could do with a little more training. Neither girl knew what English Breakfast tea was: one brought out the available Lipton including horrid, bitter Earl Grey.

One final point: there is no nearby karaoke or roosters crowing to disturb guests here, while David plays Beethoven in the bar at brekky and 60s to 70s pop quietly at night.

.

Room Tip: Room 1 may be the largest: Room 5 up the spiral staircase is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBCR_Owner, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your visit and your extremely comprehensive review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your Limasawa Island Tour. These are private tours for very small groups (minimum 2 people) and include dolphin watching, snorkeling at 2 excellent sites, marine sanctuary fees, snorkeling equipment, First Mass entrance fees, barbecue lunch in a cottage on a superb beach, hot and cold drinks with biscuits on the boat. Guests are accompanied by 2 boat crew, a chef and a guide and the programme is tailored to each group’s specific wishes.

There are many other options to enjoy superb snorkeling at a range of top class sites which can be reached on foot, by road or by kayak. Snorkelers can also accompany groups of scuba divers to locations best accessed by motor boat.

Your shampoo should have been replenished each day and we are very sorry for that oversight.

Thank you, once again, for your detailed and informative feedback.

David & Delia Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
15.1 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing