We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days of bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at PBC in January 2012. It lived up to all the expectations of excellent food, good service and comfort in a superb setting. We did the kayaking, snorkelling and also swimming with the whale sharks which were plentiful. It was an amazing experience.
There were little niggles at first impression. Like the drinking water, which comes free in many places, was not only charged but replaced if only partially consumed. There are little costs like hiring equipement for a few Pesos an hour or a day. Since this doesn't represent huge sums, and are not even so much in demand, one would certainly feel more welcome if these little costs would be included in the price of the room. Regarding the room nr. 3, it would be a good idea to fix half length curtains as we had 4-5 time a day people walking right behind our windows.
That said, it was a fantastic place and we would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is a tower on the 1st floor which is more private than the downstairs rooms which have paths c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Not too much to say about this place which has not been said better already. David and Dalia have certainly carved their own small utopia out of this remote corner of the PI- The PBC resort is simply beautiful and lacks nothing in quality and service.

The Best

Meals- Breakfast served whenever you wake up. Dinner & lunch are cooked to order and were always excellent and meticulously served.
Private Beach- Beautiful limestone formations and a full time attendant. Kayaking and snorkel gear available.
House Reef - Lots to see! Sea turtles, lionfish, clown fish and a lot of weird stuff I have never seen before. Snorkel the reef here first before booking an outside excursion.
Cleanliness- Flawless. Staff works round the clock keeping everything spotless.
Full Service Resort- There are only 5 rooms and David and Dalia will bend over backwards to accommodate your requests.

Annoyances

Price- Low by Western standards but stratospheric by PI standards. All extras outside the room price are similarly high.

There is a 4% surcharge for credit card use. Most hotels in the PI have abandoned this practice and even then most charged only 3%. This extra charge is especially problematic to overcome due to the large amount of cash which would be required to pay for a stay at PBC and the fact that the town of Padre Burgos has no cash machine. Be aware of this extra charge before booking.

Isolated location is not very close to town or other conveniences.

Suggestions

PBC is small and intimate- Absolutely ideal for couples- not so for other travelers. If you are on Leyte and have a Filipina honey-ko you are trying to impress, this is your place.

Book ahead! Only 5 rooms are available at this time but it looked like they may be expanding.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
We do indeed make a 4% surcharge for payment by credit card as stated in our booking Terms & Conditions. As not everyone reads the T&C's it is helpful also to highlight that point here.
VAT is included in all our prices and we do not add a service charge, so there are no 'hidden' extras.
We would be delighted if there were an ATM in Padre Burgos town and we continue to lobby the banks to provide one. But at the moment, the nearest ATM's are in Maasin City which is about 30 minutes drive from here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My spouse and me stayed at Padre Burgos Castle resort for nearly one week in September 2011. We wanted to spend a couple of days in a pleasant and relaxed surrounding but just as well to have the possibility for some activities. In short, PPC fullfilled all our expectations. The resort is beautifully set, quiet and secluded (rather like a private estate than a resort). The food (which is prepared according to your personal wishes) can match with any top rated restaurant in the Philippines. The owners Delia and David as well as the whole staff is very much dedicated to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Hence PPC is a perfect hideaway but not only! We enjoyed some of the best dives we had during the last two and a half years in the Philippines (PPC has a cooperation with an excellent, well run diveshop nearby), explored Southern Leyte's lush hills and laid back villages by motorbike and as the icing on the cake were lucky to have the unique experience of sailing with the resorts HobieCat among several schools of pilot whales(!). Alltogether a very perfect week and a place worth visting not only once!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our stay here helped ensured we had a great dive safari to S.Leyte. The husband and wife owners were very helpful and friendly both to us and our crew (we arrived by boat and moored inside their private bay). We are planning a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July 2011 on a whim – she grew up in Padre Burgos and Tangkaan beach and we were visiting for a family reunion, town fiesta, class reunions, and to renew our wedding vows for her family (we were married in Pleasanton Ca a year ago). We wanted to balance a week of solid partying with a few days of peaceful relaxation. We picked here so we could reduce the amount of travelling and were glad we did. The location is beautiful – right on Tangkaan beach. It was the off season so we were the sole guests for three days.

The staff is wonderful and very attentive – especially Chris (who helped us most of the time). The owner (Delia) cooked all the meals herself which were very good and well presented. The private beach area is in a little alcove so is hidden from the public areas. We slept on the beach and went snorkeling twice which was great – saw some sea turtles, lion fish, triggers, angel fish, etc. the beach is active with hermit crabs which are a kick to play with (locals thought I was a bit strange playing with them).

My only minor complaint was the tower room where we stayed was turned around such that the view is of the jungle in the back and not the beach – the bathroom had the nice view – but what a view it was! For reference I have stayed at some of the most well respected hotels around the world (Ritz Carlton, JW Marriott, Sheraton etc.) and have dined in some world class restaurants so I know what good service is and David and Delia provide some of the best. In my opinion this is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel due to the limited number of guests (only 5 rooms) and the personal service provided by the owners. We plan to return and hope to see little two year old Nikka once again (she greets you with a cute “Hi Guests!”.

A side note – transportation within Padre Burgos is a kick – we had a three wheeled “limo” (aka tricycle – a three wheeled underpowered motorcycle with a home made side car so popular in Leyte) that took us back to my wife’s home. On the way we encountered a climb. Not too steep but too much for the low powered “limo” with three persons and bagage. The driver had us get out so he could get up the hill and we walked to the top as he patiently waited for us. I was laughing so hard I nearly fell over.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is the right place to go!!
Trust me,i have been here. this is where you can experience a life of a King and Queen..and a perfect place to spend your honeymoon..
For us this is the top of the top place in Visayas.. the views are so beautiful overlooking to the beach, nice swimming pool., the food Wow! so delicious..there is nothing you can ask for more.. Truly it felt like you are in the paradise, surely we'll be come back..

Great thanks to Dallia, David and little girl "hello guest"

Evangeline ( Yasmine ) Macasocol and Mouloud Bendjazia
Jeddah KSA

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mulud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte.
Still a secret place with almost three or four resorts with normal standard.

But there is one resort who is not satisfied with normal standard.

If you are looking for high, perfect standard that's the place you have to stay.
Padre Burgos Castle Resort!!!

Perfect organized - pick up from airport and all other tranfers

Perfect rooms - clean, furniture high quality, bathroom excelent

Perfect service - staff everytime friendly, well organised with professionel behavior.

Perfect location - The domicile is in good shape, all areas in top condition. Pool, beach, bar, dining area, floor, garden ...

Perfect food - that was not only eating - that was food experience, enjoying at high level. Thanks Maître de Cuisine Delia. And David has a well organised bar.

And now they have also, I think they are the only one in this area, post cards!
And we germans love to write postcards. Nice logo and nice pictures ;-)

All the best to David, Delia and there staff. Keep going on to be the resort with the best standard in Southern Leyte.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msbinhh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
148 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maasin
23 reviews
80.5 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
120 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range: $72 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing