We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for diving and relaxing away from crowds”
Review of Peters Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peters Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for diving and relaxing away from crowds”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall very positive experienced.
Stayed in room 2 (shared room with two bunk beds and shared bathroom). Room and facilities are clean and well serviced. Staff is very friendly and available for guests requests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidecamisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Davide,

First, I would like to say thank you for giving us the chance to be a part of your holiday. Our goal really is to deliver best service to all as possible that we can. Showing appreciation is more than enough to make us happy. In behalf of the rest of the staff, I would say you are welcome and hope to see you guys next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a lovely room with a view of the ocean. The room was spotless and spacious. Our dives were great and beautiful and the food in the resort was great.

The staff were very helpful and we would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Paul,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at peters resort for four days, and had the best time!
The room, right on the beach, was decorated beautifully and was spotless, spacious and very very comfortable.
Everything we had to eat was tasty (I especially liked the pork cordon blue). The dives were awesome (especially napantau), I was really impressed with the good equipment and the way everything was organized.
If this is not enough, the staff was so friendly. They all just smiled and laughed all day long, probably because Dino is such a nice boss:)
I will miss this nice staff, and will never tell anyone what we did together;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Michahlomo,

Thank you so much for your review.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Peter’s Dive Resort is a great dive resort to stay; it is out of the way and a bit of a trip to get there, despite this long trip across the island – it is well worth the effort. Sogod Bay in Leyte is excellent diving; whaleshark season is from November to April but even if you go out of season, the diving is world class. I will definitely return to dive here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viatalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Viatalium,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Today we went out country driving along the P. Burgos when we happen to pass-by the Peters Dive Resort. It happened that they have a Restaurant Signage outside so we went in for dinner.

Nobody on the reception bothered to welcome us, but that didn't bother us though. I just went directly to the bar where several of their attendants were standing and ask for thier menu. Instead of a good greeting the guy there instead ask me with a bland tone: Are you going to eat? I was just startled by his remark and after a pause i just said: what do you think why I'm asking for a menu?

So we sat with my wife on a table and after a few minutes a girl took our orders. After 25 minutes of wait my wife ask her hows our order going. She just bluntly retorted with: "There were others ahead of you. We are not a fast food here." I was very aghast by her remarks. so i told her that we didn't expect this to be a fast food. With that she just left us.

At that we decided to leave the place because of their terrible reception skills. Apparently their staff were not trained for proper courtesy of guest. They seem to prefer to accommodate foreigners, and by that I mean non-Filipino guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CuriousTravelerCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello Mr. Curious Traveler,

We are really sorry for the things that you called “terrible courtesy” mentioned in your post. But let us explain something .

When you entered the restaurant you were complaining because no one bothered to welcome you in the reception, well during that time the one seating in the reception was our guest copying some files from his hard drive to our computer. He was a guest not an employee, so he really didn't bother to welcome you. During your arrival, the admin staff was busy with the paper works minding that our restaurant was nearly closing, that’s why they didn't notice your presence. So from the reception you said you went to the bar (with frustration for not entertaining you right away and we would like to beg an apology with this regard) were several of our attendants standing (one waiter and one waitress). Well they were not just standing because by that time we had some Filipinos, Americans and a group of Chinese; our waiter just finished taking order from another guest when you asked for the menu, and our waitress was clearing the tables.

After asking for the menu, the waiter handed it to you and asked “Would you like to eat sir?”( with his normal low pitch tone), and he instantly replied “ That is why I’m asking for the menu!” with that he went back to his table . The waiter really didn't expect the response he got with his sincere question. So he asked his colleague to take your order instead, the waitress went to your table and took your orders. You ordered our specialty while your wife ordered chopsuey. Our specialty normally comes with rice so the waitress asked if you wanted extra rice for the chopsuey, but you laughed, and said “What? Where can you find a chopsuey with rice?”. After taking your orders the waitress went to the kitchen to put it on the lined up without further explanation that your orders may take longer (again we are very sorry). While waiting you kept on watching your watch, twenty five minutes later as you mentioned, your wife asked the waitress “How’s our order going?” and she informed you “ We are not fast food here, and there were others ahead of you.” It was unprofessional answer but we already sorted it out again we’re sorry...

Our Staff are well trained for proper courtesy but not accustomed in receiving unpleasant to hear remarks from the customers.We promised to handle this kind of situation in the best possible way.

Cheers,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We didn't stay at Peters, but in hindsight, probably would have preferred to stay here. We dived with them every day- completed our advanced certificate here (Loni was great!) and had a few extra dives which were all awesome. Everyone is really friendly and helpful (it is the Philippines after all!!), the location is great - right on a pretty part of the beach and really private. The house reef is beautiful - a little damaged from Crown of Thorns, but still lots of life. The dive gear is new and in great condition.

The restaurant is great - a huge menu and everything we ate was delicious. They have a pool with sun chairs which were great to loll around in between dives. We took a look at their rooms, which looked really comfortable and clean - and some right on the sand.

Try to Jetty night dive - we were sceptical as it looks pretty dirty and with lots of fishermen fishing off there, but there's so much life down there - it was amazing! The best dive we did was the trip to Napantao - I've never seen so many fish!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydneysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Sydney,

We thank you so much for making us a part of your holiday. Do hope , we will continue to provide good service with all the best that we can. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks,
PDRxp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I spent 7 nights at Peter's Dive resort with my girlfriend and a large group friends. My girlfriend and I stayed in the "condo" which came equipped with an en suite bathroom, kitchenette, air con, small TV and a spacious balcony. The room was basic and drably decorated but clean and comfortable nonetheless. It was certainly not five star but for this part of the rural Philippines we were more than happy with its condition. Not all of the rooms have the same facilities and, in fact, I think our room was one of the best. Be sure to ask for air con if you need it!

The food there was surprisingly good too. We organized a buffet for every meal because of our large group size. Danny, the cook, generally didn't get too adventurous in his dishes and ensured that there was always enough variety and quantity for all of us. The fruit juices are all freshly squeezed and there were a few dinners were Danny spoiled us with a delicious dessert- though on "ordinary" nights the fruit platter was not bad either!

The diving was world class! My girlfriend and I decided to get our PADI Advanced Open Water certification while we were there and both found the instruction to be professional and fun. The rest of the dives were as varied as anyone with our level of experience (not that much) could have asked for. We had interesting night dives under a jetty, wall dives, drift dives, and not to mention our morning out snorkeling with whale sharks.

Overall, diving is diving and the Philippines already has a reputation of having some of the best that there is, so that much was not all that much of a surprise. What really struck us about the whole experience was the ABSOLUTELY TOP KNOTCH SERVICE and good nature of the staff all around. The level of attentiveness and genuine hospitality that we received, both on the boat as well as around the resort, was truly outstanding. I have been to plenty of five star resorts in other parts of the world where I would not be able to convey the same amount of appreciation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Schmata,
We really appreciated your commendation. It is very heart warming to know that you enjoyed your stay in here. Hope to see you guys some other time.

Cheers,

PDRxp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
81.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
108 reviews
82.7 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
169 reviews
79.7 mi away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.4 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
84 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
23 reviews
26.5 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peters Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peters Dive Resort

Property: Peters Dive Resort
Address: Barangay Lungsodaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peters Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Peters Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peters Dive Hotel Padre Burgos
Peters Dive Resort Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing