We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peters Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
$27
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Almont Beach Resort(Surigao City)
$47
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
49
19
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
19
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent divingdive resortwhale sharksworld classwaters edgea great place to staysogod bayboat crewfirst rateisn tmy girlfriendmarine lifelong triprooms are cleanmuck divingthree nightsdino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 76 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We spent 4 days diving with Peters and had an amazing time! The diving itself was spectacular; the sites were beautiful and the guides were excellent - especially at finding tiny little sea creatures that we would have passed right by if they weren't pointed out to us. We were incredibly lucky and saw 3 whalesharks, 2 of them while just diving! Seeing the whalesharks made the trip worth it, but what made it even better was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, it was a very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere.

The food was also great, and their selection quite large (I read an earlier review that the menu was small but it must have changed, they had prawns, squid and french fries among many other dishes on the menu). The beer was also cold and refreshing!

Our room was simple but nice, right on the beach with an amazing view at sunrise and sunset. We spent our anniversary here and it was definitely one to remember. We would love to go back sometime!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suzyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

A superficially friendly guy (whose name my mind has blanked out) and who couldn't care less about booking us for whale watching despite us calling and asking in advance (we were on a four day trip only). We went next door to another resort as we were not sure if they had space for us on their boat (they had a group of 18 for an 18 people boat capacity), despite us arriving well before this group. He then reproached us for going next door and not doing all our dives with them !! We did like 3 dives each with them though!
He also could not bother arranging a van for sharing with other tourists (to split the heavy 9000 pesos cost two way)...instead he booked two vans when he knew another couple shared our itinerary. I had asked him on the phone and on numerous occasions to try to arrange a common van if others were willing to share. He even shouted at us and lost his cool. we had the most expensive room and I never raised my voice, despite being treated unfairly.

Good to note Peter himself was not there. We are a couple of expats with a baby living in Manila. The guy later apologized but only because the cooking staff who were super friendly made him do it. Poor reception and organization makes for an expensive yet terrible holiday. Divemasters and other staff were great though ! Just don't go there if Peter's not there as you'll have the worst of treatment from reception, and we are diplomatic and seasoned travelers !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ExoticTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRxp, General Manager at Peters Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

It's really unfair if readers only read the one side of story. Please hear our side as well.

We would like to say thank you for choosing us to be a part of your holiday and would like to say sorry for what was happened. We understand that that you really wanted to see whale shark that is why you booked with us in advance. Well, everybody did. They want to see as well and had same limited time. And yeah we scheduled that trip during that time and it seemed you were not happy seeing our boat crowded as you viewed.Our boat had 19 passenger capacity not including boat crews. Actually the boat can hold more than that but since it was designed for diving we consider the tanks and scuba gear to be loaded that is why it came up to this passenger capacity. During that time, we only got few divers on board and the rest were snorkelers. So we were not worried about the load. They booked also for that trip and they want
to take their chance to see whale shark so we let them in. You decided not to go with us because of this situation and went to the next dive shop instead. We were okay with that even though you were getting our diver rates and discount and yet choosing another dive shop to dive and for the whale shark trip. We talked to other guests if they want to share a van for you guys but no one interested. Others said that they prefer to take public transfer and the other do not want to share because it will be crowded for them to share a van for 3 hours drive. They want to have a comfortable ride. Upon paying your bill you keep blaming the reception staff and you were not even stop talking and give us a chance to explain. With that, one of our staff lost his temper and raised his voice. We would like to say sorry for inappropriate reaction. It is not true that if the BOSS is not around guest can receive worst treatment from the reception. As we aimed to do, we always do our best as long as we can to extend our good service to our valued guests.

Cheers,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I spent ten idyllic days diving in Sogod Bay, staying at Peter's Dive Resort. The diving is top-notch, the equipment and organisation excellent, the owners and staff knowledgeable and helpful, the food delicious, the beer cold and the rooms comfortable. We couldn't possibly have asked for more. We were visiting from the UK and had only two weeks, so things could have been quite tight for time, but PDR advised us of ferry times from Cebu to Leyte and arranged a pick up at the port. I don't usually return to places I have visited (usually a disappointment 2nd time round) but for Peter's Dive Resort I might just make an exception. Wonderful in every way!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polyglotwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed at Peter's for New Year's week 2009. We're a family of four, all divers. We had a great time and recommend Peter's highly.

We paid only $65/night to stay in the family house. It's a beautiful, spacious, modern place -- a separate bedroom with king-size bed, and two pairs of single beds in a big area that also includes a living room (couches, coffee table, television) and a full kitchen that we didn't make much use of. The house would sleep six comfortably.

The resort is laid out in a relatively compact area along a pebbly beach. In addition to the house there seems to be a wide variety of accommodations, from free-standing cottages to rooms adjacent to the restaurant, dive operation, and swimming pool area. Other family guests reported enjoying what's called the condo. The web site advertised a pool table, darts, and internet, but all of those were gone in favor of an expanded restaurant area. There's a swimming pool, but otherwise at Peter's there's not much to do besides dive and relax with other guests, which suited us fine.

The dive operation was extremely well organized and run. Dive sites range from 1 minute away to about 45 minutes away. Usually there's a two-tank morning dive possibly to the further-away sites, a one-tank afternoon dive to a nearby site, and a night shore dive either at the town pier (a not-to-be-missed superb muck dive experience) or at the house reef. Boat dives were $24/each although we got a 10% bulk discount. The gear area is excellent and the procedures well-tuned. Our one slight complaint about the diving logistics was that the size of the groups per dive guide were highly variable. Sometimes we had two guides for just our family (despite other divers on the boat), other times 8 divers with one guide. The guides are somewhat flexible about divers separating from the group though, presumably after evaluating competence.

The diving was varied and generally excellent. The Napantao Wall across Sogod Bay has to be one of the most pristine anywhere, with excellent soft and hard corals and hordes of small fish. The closer-in sites were also very good with plenty of interesting creatures. We saw quite a few more fish in general than at Cabilao (the other place we dove in the Phiippines), and a number of turtles, but no significant pelagics except the real stars: the whale sharks.

Whale shark trips (ours was $72/each minus the 10% bulk discount) are run every few days, at least in the season (November-May?). The boat ride is about 1.5 hours and it can take any amount of time to find the sharks, if they're found at all. The trip is organized so that up to three dives are filled in when whale sharks aren't found or if the encounter is brief. We did one dive before the sharks were found, then had four magical experiences swimming with two of them. Only snorkeling is allowed but that didn't bother us. We planned to do the next scheduled whale shark trip a few days later but it was cancelled due to rough weather.

Peter himself was at the resort the first 2-3 days we were there, then he left for Cebu. The resort atmosphere might be a little more exciting when he's around shmoozing with guests, but the staff -- especially the dive staff -- were personable and helpful.

The restaurant menu is medium-sized but often major ingredients (shrimp, squid) were not available. On the other hand, we eventually discovered some items not on the menu that were available (mango shakes, french fries), so it's worth asking. The breakfasts were hearty and good. In general the food was fine but not especially memorable.

We didn't spend much time on land outside of the resort. Some other guests went into the town (less than a mile away) for variety or internet, but they didn't report anything too exciting. It's probably possible to arrange tours to nearby islands or some of the more interesting sites on Leyte.

Overall, Peter's offers a well-run dive experience with good accomodations, very good day-to-day diving, plus the possibility of whale sharks and the interesting pier night dive. It's hard to ask for a lot more. We've only been to one other dive resort in the Philippines (Polaris on Cabilao; see our separate review) so we can't compare extensively, but we are well-traveled divers and we certainly recommend Southern Leyte and Peter's.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
5  Thank widom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This place is the most beautiful, untouched beach I have ever seen! Peter's dive resort has beautiful accomadations. We stayed in the "House",where the stone, tile work , and bamboo ceilings are something from "Fantasy Island". Then there is the food and service!!! 5 star!!! This is the Resort of my dreams!!!

1  Thank katcat1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews