We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing lodge”
Review of Baanpong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baanpong Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a small lodge. The staff are great and the best reception drink to date, mango iced drink by the pool.The food is excellent and you can enjoy a drink at their small bar before eating. They also do a good Thai massage in the room for 200 bht an hour. Well worth a visit . Paul and Andrea, Massat, France

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

A great place to relax and/or to explore the north-east area of Chiang Mai. The best food we had whilst our 2 months journey through Thailand! The bungalow was beautiful furnished, very well equipped, very clean and has a wonderful and cozy bed :o) The owner Heinrich was very helpful and always there if we needed him. The staff was very attentive and friendly. During our traveling in Asia we enjoyed our stay at the Baanpong Lodge the most. We can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRBB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a small boutique rural place to stay if you want a quiet place to stay away from the city rush with its clear love of the area the owners have created a great place to stay.

I must say the food there is excellent. I am a foodie who loves to find gems and the food there is best in the area. OK that may not say too much but it is worth the visit for sure if you checking out the local Wat Pa Tueng or out on a bike ride. Since first going when I am in Chiang Mai I enjoy stopping by for lunch in the pool side restaurant every chance I get. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina-Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best part of my stay was enjoying the top quality food on offer. I've eaten at several restaurants, cafes and pubs but none compared the that on offer at Baanpong Lodge.

As an added bonus, breakfast is available all day (not limited to the morning only) so you can truly relax and explore at your leisure. After a hard days work or exploring, I always looked forward to the cold beers and drinks on offer at the bar.

All rooms are of the same, high, standard (during my visits I lived in different rooms) with quality finishes, air-conditioning, satellite TV and friendly staff. There is also a large pool to cool down in.
The lodge is a perfect base if you plan to visit the areas in and around Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar in amenities and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I go to Baanpong Lodge often. Not once have I been disappointed. The service is excellent and the staff is very friendly, polite and helpful. The scenery is beautiful and relaxing. This place is perfect to get away from busy life and stress. The accommodation is brand new and in top shape. It includes everything you need plus luxury such as television, mini-fridge and a patio to enjoy the calming atmosphere. The owners always make sure you have a great stay and offer transportation ect. when needing to travel to the city or any place else.

Definitely a must-see place to experience when visiting Thailand.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoevdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice resort with 4 room and 6 more in the near future.
Delicious food and very friendly staff that speak perfect English.
Not to forget about the friendly owners, they really make this a place you want to come back to if only for the delicious food and cocktails.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Al rooms are the same and brand new, with flat screen tv , satelite and free wiffi. Water boiler in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The owners are really nice people that are always prepared to be of assistance as much as they can.. respecting guests privacy. Transport..laundry.. its all possible to have everything arranged without much worries. The swimming pool is nice to chill out with a cocktail. All in all, dependable.. correct.. and last of all.. the food and drinks are delicious! thanks and till next time !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribalinstinxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Kamphaeng
8.4 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
12.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Puka Boutique Resort
The Puka Boutique Resort
#3 of 4 in San Kamphaeng
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alpine Golf Resort - Chiangmai
Alpine Golf Resort - Chiangmai
#2 of 4 in San Kamphaeng
47 reviews
10 mi away
Doltara Boutique Resort
Doltara Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in San Kamphaeng
5 reviews
5.6 mi away
No photo provided
Viewdoi Art and Resort
#2 of 6 in San Kamphaeng
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baanpong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baanpong Lodge

Address: 97 Moo 8 | Ontai, San Kamphaeng 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Kamphaeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in San Kamphaeng
Price Range: $35 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baanpong Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are offering the accommodation with the luxury facilities. Locate on Eastside of Chiang Mai only 30minutes drive from Chiang Mai old city. We're set this lodge up with full services, ensure guests stay comfortable as possible with fully service mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baanpong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanpong Lodge San Kamphaeng, Thailand - Chiang Mai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing