We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Jean de Saone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montbellet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jean de Saone
Ranked #4 of 4 Montbellet B&B and Inns
Hergiswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited this place as a family. The location is wonderful along the river Saone. The rooms are nice with view to the river. We ate at the restaurant what was ok but not special. The owner Caroline is very nice. But once we had a misunderstanding about our staying and she seemed very annoyed about that. Not very client friendly. But we recommend a stay at this place.

Room Tip: The balcony must be shared with other guests. So don't take the rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rfr_public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
27
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Jean de Saone for 3 days this April. It could not have been more perfect. The tone was set by Caroline, the charming proprietaire, yet more like a gracious and warm hostess. The 17th century former customs toll house was decorated by Caroline herself with comfort and taste. Our view of the Saone from the balcony was breathtaking, especially for the morning sunrise. The setting was in an area of pure tranquility yet convenience to everything we wanted to see in the area. Breakfasts on the front deck, aperitif on the terrace, dinners in the lovely dining room. Delicious food, beautiful room, gorgeous setting, warm and friendly welcome. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Probably one of the loveliest stays I've ever enjoyed was at Jean de Saone...what a find! This old guard house right on the river's edge, converted into a guest house, is idyllic beyond description. Caroline is the most charming of hostesses, the rooms are well-appointed, the breakfasts and dinners yummy, and the tranquility on the river bank unsurpassable. We enjoyed walks and jogs along the cycle path that follows the river (with Caroline's little dog in tow), and relaxed in ths shade of the trees surrounding the house. This was home from home!
I want to go back! I shall go back....Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Incredibly beautiful place. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the view of the river in front is unforgettable. Very warm welcome - we were travelling with a small child and the owner did everything possible to make things easy for us. The breakfast on the terrace, under the trees, is a moment that will stay in my memory

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viaggiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed at Jean de Saone in the midst of a 4 month trip around the world. After the hustle and bustle of the previous European cities we had visited, this quiet, secluded B&B was a welcome chance to relax and recharge.

The B&B is located almost half way between Macon and Tournus (closer to Tournus), and is perfectly located for exploring southern (and some of northern) Burgundy. Macon was 30 minutes drive away, Beaune an hour and a quarter (when avoiding toll roads). To get to the house you take a small road several hundred metres off the main street, that takes you to the edge of the beautiful Saone river. The house feels isolated, even though it is only a 2 minute drive away from the nearest town!

The setting itself is a big french house (17th century we believe), which is seperated from the river only by a small road (and the necessary barrier to prevent people falling in!)

Caroline, our host, was immediately welcoming and helpful, giving us maps and ideas for day trips in the region. Any concern we may have had about language barriers from the B&B's website quickly disappeared. Caroline's English is excellent (although, modestly, she would never admit to this!) The room we stayed in (Chambre Gentiane) was perfect. The room was of an excellent size, well appointed with a large, comfortable bed (although if you like your beds very soft, you may be disappointed) and a wonderfully deep bath overlooking the river. Rooms were cleaned daily (when we remembered not to lock the house-keeper out!) with the lovely fluffy towels replaced.

Breakfast was croissants and bread, with coffee, tea and juice, a very typical French breakfast (although we were offered eggs). We ate dinner at the B&B on two nights of our stay. Both nights the food was exquisite, particularly on the second night when Caroline and her Chef served us Beef Bourgogne which she cooked especially for us after we were unable to find it anywhere else. Another highlight was the Chocolate Fondant, which made us regret all of the meals we had away from the B&B.

The B&B is a perfect place to relax, and explore both wine regions and castles. We recommend taking a walk along the lake and Ellipse the family dog will be more than happy to accompany you and provide you with much entertainment!

Before booking the B&B we did a lot of research, looking into many of the other offerings available - whilst we cannot say any other B&B would be better or worse than Jean de Saone (as we haven't stayed at them), we can say that if we were back in the region we would go straight back, which really to us is the best review we can give a place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-Gord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We loved the hospitality and the quaintness of Jean de Saone. Caroline was so helpful and very charming. We ate there every night and it was delicious. I am vegetarian and they made a lovely dish for me. You can take beautiful walks along the River and our room had a view to die for. We drove to all the wineries which were so close and the castles, what can I say about them. Divine. Thanks Caroline.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbellet
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Marande
Hotel Restaurant La Marande
#1 of 1 in Montbellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moulin de la Brevette
Moulin de la Brevette
#1 of 1 in Arbigny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Marfontaine
Chateau de Marfontaine
#2 of 4 in Montbellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moulin de Buffiere
Moulin de Buffiere
#1 of 1 in Montbellet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean de Saone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean de Saone

Property: Jean de Saone
Address: "jean de Saone" | Jean de Saône, 71260 Montbellet, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Montbellet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montbellet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 kms from Tournus exit A6 number 27 a guest house full of character bordering the river Saône, 3 guests rooms authentically renovated with a magnificent vue over the river very quiet with balcony, you will enjoy the burgundy specialities at evening meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing