We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
447
423
167
41
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
423
167
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingchinese palacechiang kai shekfree shuttleforeign dignitariesrich historyprestige loungetraditional chinese stylehistorical hotelvisiting dignitariessmall museumred carpetfrom afarmountain viewtraditional hotelshilin night marketmainland china
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Wow ! I'm staying in a Chinese palace. The lobby is very grand and same goes to their room. They have a big balcony too with great view (see pictures). Spacious room and bath room. And free shuttle bus to ferry hotel guest to train station. Overall, pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Tiffany Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
圓山大飯店, 業者 at Grand Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Valued Customer: Thank you for your continual support for the Grand Hotel. We look forward to see you again soon and hope that you will find enjoyment in our excellent, comprehensive service and the serene beauty of the Grand Hotel. Wishing you all the best. Yours Truly,
The Grand Hotel, PR Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

This is a special hotel and you feel you are in a palace in all aspects. We stayed in a Chi Lin room which was spacious and had beautiful panoramic views of the city, the river and the 101 Tower. Room is a little worn and generally the whole wing is but the experience of staying there is not to be missed. The Lobby was always lively and busy as it is a tourist attraction stop. We had two Buffet dinners at the lobby restaurant which were great in terms of food and ambience.

Room Tip: Chi Lin room was spacious and had great views. Higher floor.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
圓山大飯店, 公關經理 at Grand Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Valued Customer: Welcome! Thank you for your continual support for the Grand Hotel. We look forward to see you again soon and hope that you will find enjoyment in our excellent, comprehensive service and the serene beauty of the Grand Hotel. Wishing you all the best. Yours Truly,
The Grand Hotel, PR Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

I have been many times there, with a gap of twelve years since this stay. The hotel is still the best place to stay in Taipei (I have tried many other hotels in the past). You will experience a unique place which has style and charm. Rooms are renovated, large and comfortable. Pool facilities and area are perfect.Very good service, professional checking in, nothing negative to say!! I highly recommend!! I will be back, not waiting so long this time.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher levels (7-9 th )
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_Le1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
圓山大飯店, 公關經理 at Grand Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Valued Customer: Welcome! Thank you for your continual support for the Grand Hotel. We look forward to see you again soon and hope that you will find enjoyment in our excellent, comprehensive service and the serene beauty of the Grand Hotel. Wishing you all the best. Yours Truly,
The Grand Hotel, PR Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

All you expect from a 5-star hotel you can get it here, especially with Chinese luxury style. Although the location is bit away from the MRT station, they kindly provide free shuttle buses for guests. You won't get disappointed with it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hsiang-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
圓山大飯店, 公關經理 at Grand Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Valued Customer: Welcome! Thank you for your continual support for the Grand Hotel. We look forward to see you again soon and hope that you will find enjoyment in our excellent, comprehensive service and the serene beauty of the Grand Hotel. Wishing you all the best. Yours Truly,
The Grand Hotel, PR Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

On my first trip to Taiwan 30 years, I was in awe of this hotel looking so Chinese up on the base of the mountain as seen from the taxi ride from the airport to Taipei. I recently fulfilled my 30 year old dream by staying here. Before Taipei’s wonderful MRT subway system, the hotel could only be accessed by taxi. Now the MRT will get you very close.
I took the MRT from the Main train station and got off at Jiantan station. It was about a 15 minute walk to the Grand Hotel. This is not recommended if you have suitcases. The shortcut has you climbing many steps. The hotel also has a shuttle service to Yuanshan MRT station with shuttles leaving every 30 minutes.
Like most hotels there are different size rooms. The Grand Hotel also has an annex called the Chin-Lin annex. If you want a room in the main building don’t choose the annex. The remodeled rooms are more of a simplified elegant versus being ornate. Some original elements still exists such as the wood floors and the night stand between the two beds. There is a cash mini bar and the usual toiletry amenities.
Two breakfast locations are available. On the main floor is the Asian and Western buffet. On the 10 floor in the Prestige Lounge is what they call the Muslim breakfast. I found the Prestige Lounge to be not very crowed and with great views. If you don’t need your ham or bacon in the morning, the Prestige Lounge is a good choice. On the 10 floor is also a small fitness room. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.
Why you should stay at the Grand Hotel?
Maybe you don’t want all your Taiwan visit to be in the Grand Hotel, but try to stay there one night. You will be staying in an historically significant building. It was built when the Republic of China on Taiwan was realizing they would not be taking back mainland China and a high quality hotel was needed for visitors and diplomats beginning to do business with Taiwan. Its construction detail was rumored to have been overseen by Madam Chiang Kai Shek. The grand foyer is two stories with lots of reds symbolling good luck in the Chinese culture. Today there are many restaurants, a small museum with old hotel artifacts, and gift shops selling Taiwanese art and sweets. While not a new hotel, it has been remodeled to where it has modern hotel standards but still retains some of that early character from when Taiwan was emerging with its own identity.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
圓山大飯店, 公關經理 at Grand Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Valued Customer:Thank you for choosing to stay at The Grand Hotel!
We are very glad to know that you were satisfied with your room, our service and meals in Restaurant. Your approval is certainly the motive for us to improve our service quality.
Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to serving you again.
Wishing you all the best!
Yours Truly,
The Grand Hotel, PR Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews