We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive

A Chinese "opera" boiled down to 5 minutes of singing and 55 Minutes of acrobatics. That turned out... read more

Reviewed December 28, 2019
Olaf B
,
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
via mobile
Amazing

This was an amazing and authentic show. Honestly, we didn’t think it was going to be anything near... read more

Reviewed December 21, 2019
fadya874
via mobile
Read all 300 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zhongshan District
from $90.00
More Info
from $624.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
from $431.00
More Info
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
160
115
21
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
160
115
21
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 300 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Great way to spend an hour. So much show for such a low price. The combination of playful acting, excellent acrobats, ancient stories and traditional Chinese opera is good for all ages.

There are subtitles in 4 languages on large screens next to the stage for the small bits of talking, but the acting makes the story easy to follow. The theater is modern, clean and comfortable.

The performers are not only actors and singers, but also acrobats. There is also live traditional music accompanying the show.

The ticket office opens 30 minutes before the show, and while you are waiting for the show to start you can take photos in the outfits, watch the actors doing their makeup and listen to a traditional erhu being played.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank ahling33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

A very cool way to have a taste of local culture. The tickets are not expensive and I feel the production was worth what I paid. There's a bit of a "low-budget" production-feel, but it was still a cool show to watch if you've never seen Chinese opera before.

I watched "The Journey to The West:White Bone Spirit" which was a nice story. There are subtitles in English, Korean, Japanese, and Chinese. Very quick, only 1h and no intermission.

Washrooms are nice. Gift shop is small but some cute finds. The staff at the venue are very kind.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank tansyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

This is the BEST place to experience traditional Chinese culture in what is otherwise a very modern city and was my favorite experience in Taiwan.
I didn't expect this theater to be so upscale and organized.
We went and saw "Gold Coin Lion" and were able to buy tickets upon arrival. I had read if you get there early you can watch the make up session and pose for pictures with the performers. Well, "early" turned out to be 30 minutes before the show, so we had a bit of a wait.
The show is held on the third floor and there is a nice souvenir shop. You can watch the make up session, try on traditional costumes and pose for pictures with the actors both before and after the show.
There is a screen that shows English subtitles, but it's impossible to watch the performance and read the subtitles at the same time. But they give you a pamphlet with the summary of the show, so it's easy to figure out what it's about.
The theater is super organized, and once the show is over the staff will order you a taxi to your hotel. I wasn't expecting it to be so upscale and professional.
With tickets only 18 USD, I HIGHLY recommend attending a show if you're looking to experience traditional Chinese culture in Taipei.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank RealTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

We watched a Chinese opera at Taipeieye. We booked the tickets and paid for it online and was easy to pick up tickets at the box office. I hadn't read any reviews and never watched Chinese opera (though have watched a lot of European Opera) so was not sure what to expect. Considering how cheap the ticket was and it was not fully booked - I wasn't expecting much.

But I was wrong.... I'm not sure if what I saw was traditional Chinese opera but the performance was skillful, entertaining and captivating. It had my attention the entire time and I wasn't bored for one moment. There was a lot of acrobatics and well done fight scene as. The visual components and costumes were stunning as well. Really recommend it!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank 262tamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

wonderful demonstration on applying make-up prior to show. fascinating vocal and acrobatic performance!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Joanna_vigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews