We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive

A Chinese "opera" boiled down to 5 minutes of singing and 55 Minutes of acrobatics. That turned out... read more

Reviewed December 28, 2019
Olaf B
,
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
via mobile
Amazing

This was an amazing and authentic show. Honestly, we didn’t think it was going to be anything near... read more

Reviewed December 21, 2019
fadya874
via mobile
Read all 300 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zhongshan District
from $90.00
More Info
from $624.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
from $431.00
More Info
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
160
115
21
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
160
115
21
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 300 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2017

While in Taipei I wanted to know about Taipei culture so I decided to visit TaipeiEYE. I booked its ticket in advance but I found it that one need not book in advance as it available on the spot also. Its a one hour show. The quality was good but nothing great or extraordinary. I have seen much better performances from Chinese groups in Shanghai. Though performances and story telling was good with good costumes but I found something lacking in the overall impact of the show. I expected a better acrobatics though in parts it was good. However it worth visiting while in Taipei.

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank Arun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016

As a Westerner, there's no denying that this comes across as a bit bizarre. The singing, which is generally limited to the first 15 minutes or so, is more of a high pitched wailing (there are subtitles). After that, it became more of an acrobatic show, which was very impressive, even if I struggled to follow what was meant to be happening in the story at this point.

But, just because it's bizarre doesn't mean it's bad. I mean, if you come to the UK and watch morris dancing, I imagine you'll have similar feelings of bewilderment. And these guys are a LOT more talented than morris dancers.

The make-up and costumes are fantastically detailed, the dancing/acrobatics very good, and the whole thing only lasts an hour, which is about as much as you need. It's cheap, you can book online, and you can most definitely tick the "saw local culture" box and feel good about yourself afterwards.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Rob99Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

The family which operates this theater clearly cares about quality cultural entertainment, their community, and the country of Taiwan. The show, which changes periodically, is entertaining and fun. It is not simply Chinese opera. The experience is a multi-dimensional performance of poignant acting and story-telling, beautiful costumes and make-up, dynamic acrobatics, sword-fighting, and live music performed by an orchestra! Language is not necessarily a problem, as there are translations in Chinese, English, Japanese, and Korean languages displayed on screens at the sides of the stage. So, ask which side of the theater is better for the preferred language. The facility is modern and comfortable. A bonus is the pre-show show! Arrive early to see the actresses and actors skillfully apply their complex make-up. The theater is conveniently located in the center of Taipei. We are grateful that our friends brought us!

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank AlohaWaikoloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

TaipeiEYE is a delightful experience. It is inexpensive, entertaining, and a lot of fun! Make time to go and see this--regardless of which opera is being performed. Lasts about an hour...you won't regret it!

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank austintomtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016

When my wife suggested going to this show I was a little doubtful. Peking Opera is not my thing. However the performance was not Chinese opera at all. It was famous story known by most Chinese and was mainly acting and acrobatics. Singing was to the minimum. The performers were brilliant gymnasts and the fight scenes were so skilful. I though the whole set up from the reception to the performance made for a very pleasant evening ... and it only lasted one hour!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews