We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Xuanzhuang Temple
from $1,070.00
More Info
from $624.00
More Info
from $1,169.00
More Info
from $565.00
More Info
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
71
94
44
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
94
44
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tang dynasty third floor main hall monk replica enshrined century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 211 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

This is a very interesting and beautiful Buddhist temple with a lovely view over the sun moon lake and a big mural at its entrance

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 2forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

After our boat ride, our guide drove my spouse and I to visit this temple, one of many scattered around the lake. Located on a hill near the southern end of the lake it was built in Tang Dynasty style, and houses a few religious "relics." On an upper floor is
a small golden pagoda protecting a shard of what some believe to be Monk Xuanzang's skull.

If one is not a devout believer, there is not much of interest here. However, the grounds are nice, and there is a good view of the sunken island in the lake.

Unfortunately, the serenity of the place was completely shattered by the hoards of yelling and screaming mainland Chinese tourists.

On the whole, I would NOT rate this a must-see.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

It has a nice museum attached and a coffee shop but otherwise, it doesn't have any impressive features. We stopped off the bus and then walked on and up to the pagoda.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Very quite unlike the other temples. The quite afforded me time to think and reallt enjoy the temple.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Honeypleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

This is a lovely temple with a real peaceful atmosphere and a story to tell of Xuan Zhuang who travelled far and wide spreading his message. There are even relics of him to see. It has a good view over the lake and the monks are lovely.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews