We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Boss Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Day-Chen Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yoai Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mucha Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Kings Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
Star Diamond Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bin Cheng Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
Fu Hsiang Hotel(Yilan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Silks Place Yilan(Yilan City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
17
46
20
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
46
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketwalking distancetrain stationconvenient locationbuffet breakfastfront desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 93 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Perfect location, walk to the train station or the night market. Building is dated but decent. They also offer Japanese style rooms with raised wood floors and Japanese sleeping mats. We were traveling with our kids and they really enjoyed sleeping as a family by putting all the mats together in the form of a giant bed. Also doubled as an excellent wresting space in the morning when our kids were bored. Spacious bathrooms. The free continental breakfast was very generous with omelet station and many dishes including small salad buffet, juice, tea, milk...etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the NEWER West tower. (on your left-hand side if you are standing in front of the building's lobby). If they scratch their head and don't know what you're talking about just ask to see a room. From the exterior, you'll notice the building it's actually two separate buildings built at different times. It's more obvious from the interior. Rooms nearest the elevator are much newer than those farther east in the older section. Also ask for a room at the back of the building since the front faces a popular night market. The rooms AC fan hum will drown out most of the noise even if you have a street facing room. Also, ask to check out their Japanese style hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaiwanAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

While the hotel is old, the location and price is good. Rooms were probably not revamped since the hotel was open but they are kept clean. Shower, bath and TV all working fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saintone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed a night at this hotel on 20th Aug 2011. The hotel looked old but the room was clean and spacious for triple sharing.

When we arrived at the hotel at about 1pm, we knew that we could not check in until 3pm. We brought along our fast food and they have kindly allowed us to consume our lunch inside the recreational room located in the basement of the hotel. Before we left the hotel for the night market, we asked if we could deposit our passports in their safe box. At first, they did not accede to our request as this was against their policy. But, after explaining to them that we did not want to risk losing them in the night market, they kindly agreed to make arrangement for the safe keeping of our passports.

We would recommend this hotel as we have found the staff at the front desk friendly and helpful. The Yilan train station was about a ten minute walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phwongsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is just across street from the night market entrance, and is about 700 feet away from a supermarket. It's walkable from the train station. There is also an outdoor parking, which was convenient since I drove. The breakfast was not luxurious, but nice. The local specialty duck meat was very good. The hotel price is reasonable. It's nice 3.5 star hotel that I will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Panda-eat-Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the size of the room is ok but the bathroom is big with a bathtub and a shower room.

Locating in 3 minute walking distance (or less) from the trainstation saved us a lot of time (and money) going to towns near by. And it's right opposite to a McDonald's and a local night market that gives us almost every choice of food we look for.

Above all these, the service made our stay a perfection. 24hr free internet access and free bike rental plus friendly employees are all very helpful to travellers like us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gananish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews