We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silks Place Taroko
Nearby Hotels
$76
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hong Ying B&B(Xiulin)(Great Value!)
$48
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Railway Handmade Homestay(Xiulin)(Great Value!)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveler rating
1,077
285
79
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
285
79
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantgorge viewwestern buffetretreat floorrooftop pooltaroko national parkhalf day tourset menubreakfast and dinnerginger teaamazing locationset dinnerhotel shuttlekids clubping pongluxury hoteltable tennis
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of 4,with 2 children age 8, 10, spend 3 days 2 nights at the Silks Place in June 2014. The online booking and communication with the reservation was fairly easy. The hotel offers different packages that includes lodging,dinning, sightseeing and transportation which we took advantage of and was quite happy with it. We had a rental car and drove to the hotel. The road is narrow but amazing view. The hotel is located inside the beautiful Taroko National park surrounded by the gorge that meandered around resort. There is a wonderful rooftop pool overlooking the gorge, with 3 or 4 jacuzzi next to it. There is a quiet and peacefulness to the swim when surrounded by the beautiful mountain. Even though the hotel is located in Tianxian, there is only a handful of shops in the very small town. The time we were there, it was not too busy with tourist so it was not crowded during the meal time and using the facilities. We booked a gorge-view room with balcony. The room was modern and simply decorated with comfortable beds, and a large bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower head right next to it all enclosed by a glass shower door. We enjoyed the balcony and the large floor length window. It was very nice to wake up and see the beautiful mountain and gorge. We also saw groups of monkeys coming over to the hotel property by crossing the river through a rope. There is a big indoor pool in the basement area that we enjoy swimming in it at night time. Next to it, there is also a smaller pool for kids that is filled with small yellow plastic ducks that my kids seems to be mesmerized by them. In the basement, there are ping pong table you can use, and kids play area which is more for younger children. The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet in the Wellesley restaurant is decent nothing special. It had enough selections to choose. I personally enjoyed the set dinner and light lunch at the Chinese restaurant that came with our package. We also participated in a half day tour offered by the hotel with very informative tour guide. There is also a nearby hiking trail within walking distant from the hotel, that is suitable for children with amazing sights and tunnels, waterfall, along the way. The hotel lend us flashlights to takes with us. The downside was you have to walk on the main road before reaching the trail. There is no pedestrian sidewalk on that road and I was not too comfortable to have my children walk right on it.

My trip was slightly dampened when the clerk in the shop appeared impatient when I asked to see certain merchandise. Otherwise, other personnels that we have encountered had been polite and helpful.

I would recommend to spurge on a gorge view room and spend at least 2 nights, if not 3 nights to really enjoy the resort and the natural beauty of the Taroko National park.

Room Tip: Gorge view room with balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Silks place is a resort style hotel situated in the beautiful Taroko Gorge. The hotel is well kept and staff are friendly. Although we were the only westerners in the hotel, all staff spoke good English. Meals are buffet style which went down well with the kids. The food was not spectacular but absolutely good enough. The real selling point for the hotel is the rooftop pool area which offers very nice views of the beautiful landscape surrounding the hotel.

There are good hiking opportunities in area, but if you want to do the more advanced trails you need to plan ahead since permits may be required.

Room Tip: Choose a gorge view room. There is sometimes entertainment in the courtyard and this can be a bit noisy if you have small children that go to bed early.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Silks Place is the perfect base for exploring the beautiful Taroko gorge. I am glad we staid for 2 nights so we can see the trails and make use of the various facilities in the hotel. After an initial mishap of booking which was rectified by the efficient concierge, Paula, we finally arrived at the hotel exhausted after dashing in from an early flight and train ride. Upon arrival we were whisked to the Retreat lounge and felt very relieved. I am glad we decided on booking a room on the retreat floor, as the separate lounge served set breakfast, all day drinks, cocktails with ample space for relaxing. Our room was very spacious, with huge bathroom and closet space, a nice day bed for watching tv, snacks replenished daily and a few sodas and beers included. The mattress might be a bit stiff for some, but perfect for me especially after a full day of walking.
There are a few trails nearby, Shakadong, Luishui and the pagoda, which seem to be less crowded in the morning. I would recommend visiting the trails till around 3-4pm then return to the hotel to relax. As the main attractions like Swallow's Grotto are filled with bus tours in the afternoon but once night falls, the gorge is very peaceful. I was a bit skeptical about the performance by indigenous singers at first, as it can be a bit cliche. But listening to folk songs underneath the stars, surrounded by mountains with the smell of barbeque wild boar sausages turned out to be charming. We also played a bit of ping pong in the games room and wished we had more time to use the rooftop and indoor pool.
We enjoyed the Chinese set dinner first night and thought the Western buffet can be improved, my main wasn't very hot when it arrived but the buffet spread had some interesting choices. It did seem very busy so the staff were a bit frantic in clearing dishes but overall service was good. I want to thank Joy for helping us pack part of the huge breakfast we couldn't finish in the Retreat lounge, she was very kind and the food was a lifesaver on our 6hr hike on the Zhiuli Trail.
I had a great stay at Silks Place, but we did see a bus full of company team building participants arrive and they made quite a lot of noise after dinner. With the image of being a haven in the mountains, I hope the hotel can find balance with the pressure of tour groups. Nevertheless, I would definitely go back and stay if I find my way to Taroko gorge again.

Room Tip: The retreat level is on the 3rd floor, even facing the courtyard is ok, with more sunlight and double space balcony. The retreat is more of a splurge but there might be better rates if you ask for off peak weekdays. It is well worth it, as lower floors seem to be noisier.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawflakee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Two years ago, we booked a gorge-view room and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening. This time, the hotel imposed a surcharge on the gorge-view room with the balcony.

Last time, we preferred the Wellesley western restaurant. This time we definitely preferred the Chinese one. Meals are offered in two seatings - at 5:30 and at 7:30. We asked if we could eat at 6:00. Yes, was the reply, as long as we vacate our table by 7:15. We had no problem finishing our meal in an hour.

The second night we returned to the hotel at 6:00 and tried to enter Wellesley at 6:15. Again, we were told that we had to leave at 7:15. We opted to take the 7:30 seating. When we asked if we could show up a few minutes before 7:30 (assuming there were tables available), we were told emphatically no. Yet when we arrived at 7:30, the restaurant was already almost full. The line to check in was long and the other patrons were pushy. Once in the buffet restaurant, the other patrons continued to push in front of us in line.

I realize that the hotel cannot control pushy patrons, but it could offer some flexibility in allowing us to enter the restaurant a few minutes early if it knows that there would also be a large tour group. Best advice: avoid the 7:30 seating with tour groups and opt for the earlier one.

We booked the hotel van to return to the train station. The hotel told us we needed to leave by 10:30 in order to make the train. Yet, the hotel van was 15 minutes late. Knowing that its van was late and that we had a deadline, the hotel should have contracted with one of the many taxis outside the hotel to avoid making us nervous.

On the positive side, the location of the hotel is perfect. The evening performances by aborigine singers are also delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the middle of the Taroko national park and ideal to explore the sights. We stayed on the retreat floor and had a large and well-designed room. The hotel also offers tours and had a pool/gym/lounge area so that you could easily spend a day without having activities organized in the national park. The breakfast is good but for dinner I’d recommend the Chinese restaurant where we had a delicious and extensive set menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MES_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, 公關經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. As you said, no matter you staied at the hotel or went out to explore the national park, you could find find your way to enjoy the nature beauty envirnoment. Please recommend us to your friend and happy to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews